Quote Originally Posted by Unreal Madrid View Post
    [ The conveyor belt keeps rolling on.
    With kids taken off other clubs being used as the rollers.[/QUOTE]

What can we do when these players come looking to Celtic to improve their skills and have a chance of winning local, provincial & national titles. Send them up to Dublin or have them lost to the GAA (no problem with the GAA). I would say that Westport would love to have these players come knocking on their door.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    Pilkie will not be to please to here that, the Cherry Picking.
    To be fair it shouldn't happen, when you consider the time and effort small clubs make!!
    I do understand your point, but this is how football works. Celtic have lost Ronan O'Boyle, Ciaran Kelly, Joey Maloney & Stevie Ryan to LOI clubs and had to suffer watching the excellent RO'B score two last Tuesday. I know smaller clubs put in the effort and then watch players move to bigger clubs but this is what it is all about. Celtic are now the next step in Mayo to the LOI and possible Irish Caps. Before these players had to go Dublin and still will, even from Celtic but at least we are offering our players and others a higher standard and have now started to compete with the GAA, who traditionally had the pick of all the best young players in their area. If you have a different solution please let me know.
    Last edited by Closing Time; 22/08/2007 at 1:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    I do understand your point, but this is how football works. Celtic have lost Ronan O'Boyle, Ciaran Kelly, Joey Maloney & Stevie Ryan to LOI clubs and had to suffer watching the excellent RO'B score two last Tuesday. I know smaller clubs put in the effort and then watch players move to bigger clubs but this is what it is all about. Celtic are now the next step in Mayo to the LOI and possible Irish Caps. Before these players had to go Dublin and still will, even from Celtic but at least we are offering our players and others a higher standard and have now started to compete with the GAA, who traditionally had the pick of all the best young players in their area. If you have a different solution please let me know.
    Very good post the CT, everyone wants to better themselves so at the moment the best way to be in the shop window is to be at Celtic, put yourselves in these young lads boots, if you had the chance of been seen by an EL club would you move to Celtic where EL U21 clubs are now playing against or would you wait at your club with little or no chance of been seen.

I am sure throughout the Country that this is happening and of course it is sh**e for the lads who trained and gave their time to these young lads head off to other clubs. But it is happening day in day out, it used to be UK clubs coming and takin the lads, now it is more "at home" this is a problem?

With kids taken off other clubs being used as the rollers.
    What can we do when these players come looking to Celtic to improve their skills and have a chance of winning local, provincial & national titles. Send them up to Dublin or have them lost to the GAA (no problem with the GAA). I would say that Westport would love to have these players come knocking on their door.[/QUOTE]

Have to agree CT. I Think celtic are victims of their own success in this regard. Its not their fault that people want to join them. This goes back to what ive stated previously here to all this "poaching" abuse. Players have their own minds, and if they approach any club to join, its hardly that clubs fault! Celtic have provided a shop window (and mayo league previously, though dont think they were as focused as a club team) for young local players, to play for, if THEY so wish. Any talented player will be noticed at any level, but at least now mayo league players dont have to go outside the county to play at a higher level. Im sure any other clubs in mayo would prefer their players to join celtic rather than leave the county? Anyone who thinks otherwise please correct me. The Days of joining dublin teams to get noticed are gone. Fair play to celtic for the brave decision. I hope other clubs like Westport or Ballina follow suit for the good of Mayo football

On an un-related topic, anyone reading the castlebar paper (ye know the one) may be slightly confused to see mossy lallys new column is called "kellys corner"!
    This idea of reducing an already small division further is daft. It would leave no room for error, and would result in the usual 6 (westport/celtic/ballina/erris/manulla/ballyheane) hammering 2 promoted teams from a poor premier division, and finding themselves safe every year. As it stands, half the premier division teams cant get promoted anyway, so a mid-table team in the premier could find themselves in an 8-team super league! I dont fancy their chances!
    If the small clubs dont have the top division in mayo to aim for, then whats the point? Yes, some teams get a hiding from the top teams, but how do they improve if they cant compete in it? Look at examples of crossmolina and snugboro- they might get relegated, but at least they have had a taste of it for the last few seasons, and then they will know what to aim for if they go down.
    Its all about improvement. Remember its only 2000 since ballina had to win the premier division to get to the super league. that they stayed there, and improved to todays level, is what all these weaker clubs should aspire to.
    Its not the fault of the top few clubs that some teams have nothing to play for at the end of the season, its up to the rest to get up to that level.

P.S - Leave it at 10 teams tom. and stop drinking with mossy!

Mossy lally hasn't got a clue what he is talking about, he's a clown.

Westport and Celtic to meet in A.I.B. Cup Final after beating Erris B and Ballyheane. Westport won 2-0 while Celtic won on penalties

Quote Originally Posted by Footy Mad View Post
    Westport won 2-0
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    If you are going to post something negative about someone please be a man and put your name after it, if not keep your small minded jibes to yourself. Tell me want have you achieved as a manager, nothing I would say after a silly post like that. Cope on you silly boy. Mossy's articles are excellent and he would be my choice as the new Mayo Team manager

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post
    On an un-related topic, anyone reading the castlebar paper (ye know the one) may be slightly confused to see mossy lallys new column is called "kellys corner"!
    This idea of reducing an already small division further is daft. It would leave no room for error, and would result in the usual 6 (westport/celtic/ballina/erris/manulla/ballyheane) hammering 2 promoted teams from a poor premier division, and finding themselves safe every year. As it stands, half the premier division teams cant get promoted anyway, so a mid-table team in the premier could find themselves in an 8-team super league! I dont fancy their chances!
    If the small clubs dont have the top division in mayo to aim for, then whats the point? Yes, some teams get a hiding from the top teams, but how do they improve if they cant compete in it? Look at examples of crossmolina and snugboro- they might get relegated, but at least they have had a taste of it for the last few seasons, and then they will know what to aim for if they go down.
    Its all about improvement. Remember its only 2000 since ballina had to win the premier division to get to the super league. that they stayed there, and improved to todays level, is what all these weaker clubs should aspire to.
    Its not the fault of the top few clubs that some teams have nothing to play for at the end of the season, its up to the rest to get up to that level.

Frogs would you be think though that something needs to be done about the gap between the top six and the rest. While your point about it being up to the other clubs to close the gap, a division where Crossmolina lose 8-0, Snugboro 14-0 and Claremorris 7-1 is doing no good to anyone.
    Something needs to be done to make the league more competitive for the whole year.
    Too many teams freewheel through the last few games of the season with nothing to play for. It doesn't have to be an eight team Super League but the format definitely has to be looked at

If you are going to post something negative about someone please be a man and put your name after it, if not keep your small minded jibes to yourself. Tell me want have you achieved as a manager, nothing I would say after a silly post like that. Cope on you silly boy. Mossy's articles are excellent and he would be my choice as the new Mayo Team manager
    would you go away would ya like a good lad!!

Frogs would you be think though that something needs to be done about the gap between the top six and the rest. While your point about it being up to the other clubs to close the gap, a division where Crossmolina lose 8-0, Snugboro 14-0 and Claremorris 7-1 is doing no good to anyone.
    Something needs to be done to make the league more competitive for the whole year.
    Too many teams freewheel through the last few games of the season with nothing to play for. It doesn't have to be an eight team Super League but the format definitely has to be looked at
    Have to agree that the format needs to be looked at not just in the Super Laegue but the League as a whole. Its crazy to think that this season it was possible for a team to finish 4th or 5th in The Premier Division and still get promoted to The Super League. Ex - If Celtic B, Westport B and Manulla B finished 1st, 2nd and 3rd the 4th and 5th placed teams would then have been promoted because the three B teams can't.
    Its difficult to know what should be done but there is a need for at least some changes.

First of all C.Kelly J.Maloney were players who you brought in from other clubs.
    Should your players go to league of Ireland you should be compensated for your devlopment of these other players
    It would and should be Ballinrobe and sligo who should benefit from the other two.
    Thats life.

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post

There an old saying!!
    If its not broken don't fix it.

Tom and mossy should continue there conversations over a few bevies, but dont confuse the rest of us with such drivel.
    Clubs should take full responsabiltys for there actions on the field ,there seem to be a hidden agenda last season which saw Snugboro beat Manulla to stay up,and relegate S/Foxford.
    That not to say S/f had there own problems with key players leaving the club.
    Which certainly did cause them to deflate.

We need a Ten team league what we need is the other teams to come up to the standard the other teams have set. failing to messure up will see them go back down.
    It the same in every league up and down the country.

Quote Originally Posted by Footy Mad View Post
    Have to agree that the format needs to be looked at not just in the Super Laegue but the League as a whole. Its crazy to think that this season it was possible for a team to finish 4th or 5th in The Premier Division and still get promoted to The Super League. Ex - If Celtic B, Westport B and Manulla B finished 1st, 2nd and 3rd the 4th and 5th placed teams would then have been promoted because the three B teams can't.
    Its difficult to know what should be done but there is a need for at least some changes.
    The facts are we all got to step up to the plate and be counted.When it comes to clubs B teams, they must take there place in the top division if they are promoted. The rule say's they the B team must set up a new club with its own officers. the purpose behind this is to collect more money for the Mayo League coffers.
    The answer to the problem is to allow the B Team to take its place, provided it has seperate panel.and forget about new club, if a player wishes to play for Celtic A from Celtic B he must transfer before 31st july.
    This will see the best teams playing in the top fight, and not promoting 3rd or 4th teams.

he facts are we all got to step up to the plate and be counted.When it comes to clubs B teams, they must take there place in the top division if they are promoted. The rule say's they the B team must set up a new club with its own officers. the purpose behind this is to collect more money for the Mayo League coffers.
    The answer to the problem is to allow the B Team to take its place, provided it has seperate panel.and forget about new club, if a player wishes to play for Celtic A from Celtic B he must transfer before 31st july.
    This will see the best teams playing in the top fight, and not promoting 3rd or 4th teams.

Maybe this is the best solution but it could lead to maybe 3 of the 10 Supeleague teams being B teams. But I suppose if they are seperate squads then it would be the best teams in the Superleague. The only problem I can see is that games between A and B teams could be fixed unless maybe they played each other in the first game and tenth game of the season.

The facts are we all got to step up to the plate and be counted.When it comes to clubs B teams, they must take there place in the top division if they are promoted. The rule say's they the B team must set up a new club with its own officers. the purpose behind this is to collect more money for the Mayo League coffers.
    Reno, what do you think would happen if on the last game of the season Celtic A were playing A Celtic B needing a win to pip Westport by a point to win the league

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    Take it easy JP. I mentioned mossy in jest, and im sure anyone reading would recognise that. I agree with what CT said about this. Get to know the man before casting these comments

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo View Post
    Fair point, but i think those hammerings would have happened at any stage in the season, not just the last few games (think the 14-0 was in may?not sure. correct me if its wrong).Goes back to a quality level point made earlier. These divisions have been at 10 teams all the previous years and no-one ever mentioned this the last 2 seasons. I remember the same journalist mentioned this in his column during the 2004 season, when conn rangers and ballyvary took serious beatings from the top teams. Fair point, but these teams got relegated, and both went into freefall. Not to sound harsh, but surely its up to these clubs to aspire to get back to that level? What can the mayo league do to help these teams? Sort out their defences?! And the other side of the coin- the ballina's/westports/celtics of this world can only beat whats put in their way. Its not their fault that these other clubs were in the top 10 positions in mayo, and the same beatings would happen if they found themselves in a top 8 or so.

Apoligies for using conn and the bombers as an example. Anyone have any suggestions to re-vamp the entire league? C'mon guys, lets start a huge debate and ill bet that TK will mention us on "Mossys Corner"!!

First of all C.Kelly J.Maloney were players who you brought in from other clubs.
    Should your players go to league of Ireland you should be compensated for your devlopment of these other players
    It would and should be Ballinrobe and sligo who should benefit from the other two.
    Thats life.
    How do you work out any compensation? Money X Age X Weight X appearances X Goals?

Page 19 of 115 FirstFirst ... 917181920212969 ... LastLast