Page 10 of 115 FirstFirst ... 891011122060110 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Association Football League

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Ya I dont think i ever heard one person actually saying that such and such is a "GOOD" ref. Do we always take the easy option and crticize.
    Fair point pixie!

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    True. Everyone thinks they know it all.If some smart arses are so, why are they not out reffing themselves.
    Who then do ye rate as the top 3 reffs in Mayo!!! any takers
    Careful here pixie, if we start "rating" refs, we'd better not include the worst 3!

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    I think Mayo YOUTHS would be glad to sit down with you some time to discuss some of the problems you have out lined.
    How ever just to look at it briefly
    Point 1.2.3. ARE out of the hands of the youth as they would be relying on Local Press to publish them As for 4.5 the only to games fix for the same venue was Claremorris which was sorted.
    as for refs turning up or not you will have to take that up with them,
    AS for 6 again this can be caused my a ref pulling out.
    As I said the youth look forward to meeting you, by the way they are volentary Group, who would welcome you on board to help with there heavy work load.
    Renovater

Firstly, I don't think The Mayo YOUTHS need to sit down with me to discuss their shortcomings, that is their function and also the reason why they allowed their nominations to such positions.As you say they are a voluntary group but I'm sure they had to be voted into office or is it a case of "I'll be Chairman and you be Secretary and I'll give "Joe Bloggs" a ring and he can be Treasurer. (No offence intended to the current officers but that was a joke!) But seriously, everything I stated was fact and not intended to have a "go" at anybody. If you read my full post you would have noticed that I also highlighted the positives!
    Going back to your response....
    Point 1 ....How can you say this is out of their hands. The Website is owned by themselves not the local media.
    Point 2..... If the local media can publish the fixtures why can they not also publish the results just as they do for the Junior League? They do this for the local underage GAA and I'm sure if they received the info they would do the same for the local underage soccer. On his point where can I get the results of matches played this season?
    Point 3..... See reponse to point 2.
    Point 4..... Can you elaborate on what you mean by "sorted". I have heard of two instances of this happening this season alone.
    Point 5.... This is one I honestly need help to understand. Can you tell me who allocates what ref officiates what game. Is it the Mayo league or the Mayo Refs association? And also, what info is given to the ref beforehand
    ( is it match details, times, teams playing, one or two games on the night etc).
    Point 6.... If a ref pulls out does he inform the Mayo league and whose responsibilty is it to find a replacement, (A)the Mayo League, (B)the Refs assoc or (C)the participating teams?

Finally, thanks for the offer to join the the committee but unfortunatly I have to decline at this time. My work and family commitments come first and any of my spare time is given to my local club. If you are on the commitee yourself may I say well done for your efforts so far. My points raised might not be what you like hear but as I said it is fact, and somthing that needs to be adressed to safegaurd the long term future of football in this county. Use the local media and as the saying goes "tell the people and keep telling them".
    Last edited by Ranger; 27/05/2007 at 10:37 PM. Reason: typo error

Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post

Renovater

Firstly, I don't think The Mayo YOUTHS need to sit down with me to discuss their shortcomings, that is their function and also the reason why they allowed their nominations to such positions.As you say they are a voluntary group but I'm sure they had to be voted into office or is it a case of "I'll be Chairman and you be Secretary and I'll give "Joe Bloggs" a ring and he can be Treasurer. (No offence intended to the current officers but that was a joke!) But seriously, everything I stated was fact and not intended to have a "go" at anybody. If you read my full post you would have noticed that I also highlighted the positives!
    Point 1 ....How can you say this is out of their hands. The Website is owned by themselves not the local media.
    Point 2..... If the local media can publish the fixtures why can they not also publish the results just as they do for the Junior League? They do this for the local underage GAA and I'm sure if they received the info they would do the same for the local underage soccer. On his point where can I get the results of matches played this season?
    Point 4..... Can you elaborate on what you mean by "sorted". I have heard of two instances of this happening this season alone.
    Point 5.... This is one I honestly need help to understand. Can you tell me who allocates what ref officiates what game. Is it the Mayo league or the Mayo Refs association? And also, what info is given to the ref beforehand
    ( is it match details, times, teams playing, one or two games on the night etc).
    Point 6.... If a ref pulls out does he inform the Mayo league and who's responsibilty is it to find a replacement, (A)the Mayo League, (B)the Refs assoc or (C)the participating teams?

Finally, thanks for the offer to join the the committee but unfortunatly I have to decline at this time. My work and family commitments come first and any of my spare time is given to my local club. If you on the commitee yourself may I say well done for your efforts so far. My points raised might not be what you like hear but as I said it is fact, and somthing that needs to be adressed to safegaurd the long term future of football in this county. Use the local media and as the saying goes "tell the people and keep telling them".
    I Always wondered why the underage tables are so hard to get hold of. It shouldnt be that hard to update them?

Crosmollina 1 - 5 Ballyheane

Thank god for Kilmurry football pitch.... after travelling all the way down to crosmollina on Sunday it was looking very hard to get motivated to play a soccer match, with dressing rooms with no seats or working showers and a football pitch you could play hide and seek in with the grass nearly the height of theron, we needed a mirical to get a result from the game...When Pat Foley came along and inspected the pitch his synoposis was ' its a bad sign when ya see the daisys out on the pitch ' the game got switched to Kilmurray pitch about 3-4 miles down the road an what a savage pitch.
    we went 1 down but came back to 1-1 at half time, ashley stevensons got a hatrick his last a cracker from edge of box chiped the keeper, rob coyne scored a dinger too with a volley from 25 yards and jamie finished off the scoring with a good finish 1 on 1, i seriously doubt the result would be the same had it been played at the meddow in crossmolina, they really should sort it out so be aware the rest of the Super league the standard is just not accepctable for a Super League team....

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    Thank god for Kilmurry football pitch.... after travelling all the way down to crosmollina on Sunday it was looking very hard to get motivated to play a soccer match, with dressing rooms with no seats or working showers and a football pitch you could play hide and seek in with the grass nearly the height of theron, we needed a mirical to get a result from the game...When Pat Foley came along and inspected the pitch his synoposis was ' its a bad sign when ya see the daisys out on the pitch ' the game got switched to Kilmurray pitch about 3-4 miles down the road an what a savage pitch.
    we went 1 down but came back to 1-1 at half time, ashley stevensons got a hatrick his last a cracker from edge of box chiped the keeper, rob coyne scored a dinger too with a volley from 25 yards and jamie finished off the scoring with a good finish 1 on 1, i seriously doubt the result would be the same had it been played at the meddow in crossmolina, they really should sort it out so be aware the rest of the Super league the standard is just not accepctable for a Super League team....

Ive been harping on about this problem for the last century. The pitches and facilities of some clubs is unexceptable and nothing short of a dicrace. If thats the respect Crossmolina Had for Ballyheane and the League in general then they dont deserve too be there

What did you think of Kilmurray's facilities?
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    What did you think of Kilmurray's facilities?
    i thought they were good, the pitch was in mint condition, can you shed some light on the club?? i rember playing against them underage soccer but are they a junior club, or do they sill have a underage structure??

Cool

i thought they were good, the pitch was in mint condition, can you shed some light on the club?? i rember playing against them underage soccer but are they a junior club, or do they sill have a underage structure??
    have been there a few times lately,good clubhouse,great pitch and a fantastic underage system,no junior teams so their not seen as a soccer club in mayo league,,to the best of my knowledge
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post
    Sorry, gunner, think you picked me up wrong. Never said it was an excuse to hit a ref! Just saying that he, in particular, winds people up. He has a "set" on some teams in mayo. Yes, we have good and bad refs in mayo, but theres making mistakes, and then theres deliberate bias.
    Never said it was easy to ref, and fair play to them, but impartiallity, or an attempt at it, is all anyone is asking for.
    i may have picked u up wrong!!!but lads naming names on this thread is not good enought,remember a lot of people reading this including" refs"
    "You don't notice the referee during the game unless he makes a bad call. "
    Drew Curtis

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post
    Sorry, gunner, think you picked me up wrong. Never said it was an excuse to hit a ref! Just saying that he, in particular, winds people up. He has a "set" on some teams in mayo. Yes, we have good and bad refs in mayo, but theres making mistakes, and then theres deliberate bias.
    Never said it was easy to ref, and fair play to them, but impartiallity, or an attempt at it, is all anyone is asking for.
    WELL SAID, fair is fair, well it should and refs should be fair they shouldn't even b reffin so if they hold a grudge against certain players or teams and i've seen it happening loads of times!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    WELL SAID, fair is fair, well it should and refs should be fair they shouldn't even b reffin so if they hold a grudge against certain players or teams and i've seen it happening loads of times!!
    referees at any level dont want to spend their nights filling out report sheets,so if you keep your mouth shut you'll find you get more 50/50 discissions
    The Referee (Law 5)

Each match is controlled by a referee who has full authority to enforce the Laws of the Game in connection with the match to which he has been appointed. The decisions of the referee regarding facts connected with play are final.

remember no ref no game;

51 Posts
    Derek Glynn seems to be finding his feet now at Galway Utd and congrats to him - scored 2 last night against Longford Town!

That is for sure, was told a few weeks back by the Claremorris lads that he was on his way back! Seems not now though!!! Fair play to him.

Fair play to Derek Mc Glynn alright, glad to hear he's doing well now. I was one of the people who doubted he might not have the ability to cut it at that level but his pace and finishing were always good. I suppose it takes a while to make the step up from Premier in Mayo to Eircom league. He must be working hard and all credit to him.

As for the debate regarding referee's, I think there is a fairly straight-forward formula for assessing their prospective merits. The ref's who explain their decisions and are approachable are generally respected, whilst the ones who consider themselves more important than the game are not. I think we can all come to terms with the fact that every match will have it's fair share of human-error mistakes on the part of the ref (in the same way it will have innumerable errors on the part of the players!), it's egotism, condescension and abuse of authority that galls players and management more than anything.

The best referee's, in my opinion, are those who talk to the players, explain their decisions and have a bit of craic with them. There is no excuse for shouting names at the ref', but I dont see the problem with 'No way!', or 'for God's sake!' or 'He wasn't offside!', it's just a natural reaction and is not directed at, nor offensive to, the man in black, unless he considers himself some form of deity. I once angrily asked a ref how he managed to miss a foul from ten yards and he responded 'Sure you missed a shot from six yards a few minutes ago!'. He said it in a friendly way and meant no offence. The two of us laughed, situation diffused. Contrarily, I have also seen people booked for asking why a free was given or for having their shirts out or their socks down. I saw an esteemed, famous, local top-class linesman tell a manager he couldn't smoke as he was in an official workplace, a few weeks ago!
    In a match last season, I saw a ref who had been taking a bit of barricking from the away fans give a free kick on the edge of the box to the home team after he judged the keeper to have gone outside his box whilst kicking the ball out. I was next to it, and after he landed from his kick-out, both feet were still well inside the box, as was the rest of his body. Criminal.

It's undoubtably a tough job, but certain factors can make it easier for the ref himself, as well as the players. The good ones are approachable, fit, fair, and make their decisions for the good of the game. Dangerous tackles should be carded, full stop. Too often they are let go, and the match descends into chaos. Persisting with lesser offences, like time-wasting, diving etc, should be dealt with too. But ultimately, as in any other form of authority, displaying diplomacy, tact and rationale, rather than conceit and narcissicism, will make their job easier, as well as getting it done more effectively.

There are plenty of good ref's in the Mayo League, but there are also a few 'stars' who think the rest of the world orbits around them...

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Derek Glynn seems to be finding his feet now at Galway Utd and congrats to him - scored 2 last night against Longford Town!
    C,Mon United

Thumbs up Glynn Strikes Again

Derek Has done it again!!! Id be the first to say i didnt think he would make it in the league but to get 4 goals in the last 2 games is unreal . Check out Mark McCaddens report in the Star today it says he is a "Castlebar Native" Claremorris diehards wont like that. anyway check out Eircom League weekly TV3 on Monday night for the Goals They are deffinatley worth seeing. Hopefully now we might bring a bit more Mayo interest to Terryland..... C'Mon United!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post

Renovation

Point 6.... If a ref pulls out does he inform the Mayo league and whose responsibility is it to find a replacement, (A)the Mayo League, (B)the Refs assoc or (C)the participating teams?

Finally, thanks for the offer to join the the committee but unfortunately I have to decline at this time. My work and family commitments come first and any of my spare time is given to my local club. If you are on the committee yourself may I say well done for your efforts so far. My points raised might not be what you like hear but as I said it is fact, and something that needs to be addressed to safeguard the long term future of football in this county. Use the local media and as the saying goes "tell the people and keep telling them".
    Rather than going into a long winded debate the members of the league are elected in the normal way, with others asked to take up positions which they refuse to do due to club commitments.
    Like I said you can meet the league to discuss the problems you seem to be having rather than airing them to Joe public.
    I would view any further comment to be taken as a negative on your part
    yours in sport
    Reno

Thank god for Kilmurry football pitch.... after travelling all the way down to crosmolina on Sunday it was looking very hard to get motivated to play a soccer match, with dressing rooms with no seats or working showers and a football pitch you could play hide and seek in with the grass nearly the height of Theron, we needed a miracle to get a result from the game...When Pat Foley came along and inspected the pitch his synopsis was ' its a bad sign when ya see the daisies out on the pitch ' the game got switched to Kilmurray pitch about 3-4 miles down the road an what a savage pitch.
    we went 1 down but came back to 1-1 at half time, Ashley stevensons got a hatrick his last a cracker from edge of box chipped the keeper, rob coyne scored a dinger too with a volley from 25 yards and Jamie finished off the scoring with a good finish 1 on 1, i seriously doubt the result would be the same had it been played at the meadow in crossmolina, they really should sort it out so be aware the rest of the Super league the standard is just not acceptable for a Super League team....
    I think the Mayo League should have inform your club if the ground at Crossmolina was closed. It appears the secretary of same club has a responabilty to inform Ballyheane if the pitch was unplayable.
    Seems to me bad sportsmanship

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    have been there a few times lately,good clubhouse,great pitch and a fantastic underage system,no junior teams so their not seen as a soccer club in mayo league,,to the best of my knowledge
    There Club Secretary is J.P. Loftus A well able man who was secretary of the year for 2006 at mayo schoolboys /girls youth football league.
    They would certainly be recognised as good football club in youth circles.
    As for there ground 2nd to none
    Well done to them

Page 10 of 115 FirstFirst ... 891011122060110 ... LastLast