Glenhest Rovers v Castlebar Celtic away
    Manulla v Erris Utd home

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Spot on. The work that the Schoolboys are doing in Mayo is great. It is up to clubs to use all that is on offer from this great group of people. The Mayo Youths should take a bow as they played their part in Celtic's FAI Youth Cup win
    They might be doing great work but it's leagues are a shambles. By this I mean
    1. Their website is rarely updated
    2. Local papers have fixtures but no results!
    3. No league tables!
    4. Instances of two games fixed for the same time at the same venue!
    5. No referee at one match and two at another!
    6. Clubs ringing around before kick off to try and get a referee!

Despite all this there is good work going on behind the scenes,
    Celtic winning all round in the underage
    Erris winning the Youth Cup a few years ago
    The performances at the Kennedy Cup
    The emerging talent programme at Milebush
    The performance of clubs like Knock / Kiltimagh Ballinrobe and Bangor Hibs in their respective grades in the FAI cups

However they need to get the front of house in order or all this good work will diminish in time.

Ballina Town v Westport Utd draw
    Claremorris v Snugboro Utd draw
    Crossmolina v Ballyheane Home
    Manulla v Erris Utd home

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    When you say Mayo League you mean Mayo Schoolboys this is were the talent comes from.We have this mith in Mayo,THAT they the Mayo League produce these players or at lease like to steel the lime light. saw plenty of that last Sunday.At Milebush, when credit should go to the people who are responsible for there sucess.
    Yes reno, well corrected- meant Mayo schoolboys.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    It is not up to the mayo league to ensure that talented players get good coaching. It is up to the club. You cant expect the Mayo League to coach every so called good palyer in the county. What are clubs doing to improve the coaching standard. The mayo League have good coaching structures in place, it is up to the clubs to use them.
    Totally agree. Its up to each club to "raise the bar".

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Mr P foley is on Radio 1 now talking about attacks on refs and assaults. Seems that it is an issue throughout country
    What a guy to have on the radio talking about attacks on refs, when his bias against most teams in mayo encourages such attacks!

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post
    What a guy to have on the radio talking about attacks on refs, when his bias against most teams in mayo encourages such attacks!

Scurlouse statement there Mandarin, he is the bestestest ref in the World

Ballina Town v Westport Utd draw
    Claremorris v Snugboro Utd home
    Crossmolina v Ballyheane away
    Manulla v Erris Utd away

Cool

Ballina Town v Westport Utd HOME
    Claremorris v Snugboro Utd HOME
    Crossmolina v Ballyheane DRAW
    Glenhest Rovers v Castlebar Celtic AWAY
    Manulla v Erris Utd DRAW
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Cool

when his bias against most teams in mayo encourages such attacks!
    BIAS OR NOT its not an excuse to strike a ref....
    we have good refs and bad ones ,but if we have none we dint have a game, its something to remember.
    take up the whistle and see how easy it is............................
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

WELL SAID!!! no ref should be bias towards any club, at times foley takes the biscuit and the worst thing about it is that they always get away with it, even when they r 100% wrong. sayin that he's not the only ref there's a few of them n it!!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Ballina Town v Westport Utd Draw
    Claremorris v Snugboro Utd Home
    Crossmolina v Ballyheane Away
    Glenhest Rovers v Castlebar Celtic Away
    Manulla v Erris Utd Draw
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post
    They might be doing great work but it's leagues are a shambles. By this I mean
    1. Their website is rarely updated
    2. Local papers have fixtures but no results!
    3. No league tables!
    4. Instances of two games fixed for the same time at the same venue!
    5. No referee at one match and two at another!
    6. Clubs ringing around before kick off to try and get a referee!

However they need to get the front of house in order or all this good work will diminish in time.
    I think Mayo YOUTHS would be glad to sit down with you some time to discuss some of the problems you have out lined.
    How ever just to look at it briefly
    Point 1.2.3. ARE out of the hands of the youth as they would be relying on Local Press to publish them As for 4.5 the only to games fix for the same venue was Claremorris which was sorted.
    as for refs turning up or not you will have to take that up with them,
    AS for 6 again this can be caused my a ref pulling out.
    As I said the youth look forward to meeting you, by the way they are volentary Group, who would welcome you on board to help with there heavy work load.

Yes reno, well corrected- meant Mayo schoolboys.
    Fair play to ya!!
    just didn't want any other group or groups stealing the lime light

Referees.

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    we have good refs and bad ones ,but if we have none we dint have a game, its something to remember.
    Ya I dont think i ever heard one person actually saying that such and such is a "GOOD" ref. Do we always take the easy option and crticize.

Referees.

Ya I dont think i ever heard one person actually saying that such and such is a "GOOD" ref. Do we always take the easy option and crticize. We had 2 games at the weekend and one reffed by Marty Halligan and the other by Harry Loftus . While i wouldnt agree with every single thing they say i still think they had good fair games as refs. Plus you can have a bit of Craic with Halligan which is good for the game too!!!

I think clubs should consider the next time they abuse a ref. how they would feel standing in the middle of football pitch, every other person looking on.
    would you like it.
    Take your point he may have a bias oppinion, but two wrongs dont make it right!!

Top 3 reffs

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    I think clubs should consider the next time they abuse a ref. how they would feel standing in the middle of football pitch, every other person looking on.
    would you like it.
    Take your point he may have a bias oppinion, but two wrongs dont make it right!!
    True. Everyone thinks they know it all.If some smart arses are so, why are they not out reffing themselves.
    Who then do ye rate as the top 3 reffs in Mayo!!! any takers

I agree with the point about people not saying that refs are good.

The 2 top refs in the Mayo league in my opinion would be McCay and Damien Egan.
    Both are very strict but you know "where the line is" so to speak and that if u step over it what will happen, with other refs and I don't think it is fair to name them here, from week to week their behaviour and decisions change.

Sorry, gunner, think you picked me up wrong. Never said it was an excuse to hit a ref! Just saying that he, in particular, winds people up. He has a "set" on some teams in mayo. Yes, we have good and bad refs in mayo, but theres making mistakes, and then theres deliberate bias.
    Never said it was easy to ref, and fair play to them, but impartiallity, or an attempt at it, is all anyone is asking for.

Page 9 of 115 FirstFirst ... 78910111959109 ... LastLast