Page 5 of 115 FirstFirst ... 345671555105 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Association Football League

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    There are 17 laws of the game!! The 15th Law of the Game is the throw in!!
    My mistake thunder its the 18th law the unwritten rule and it apply' to referees
    as well

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post
    Not just picking on you Ron, - just one of a few posts lately that contradict themselves
    By this reckoning, no club should have a B team, in any division.We should start the farcical reserve league again! Westport B, Manulla B, and Celtic B should all be taken from this division and 7 teams should remain to fight it out? These teams are not just B teams- they are Premier division teams. Same as Ballyheane B are a Division 1 team. And so on...Not every team looks for promotion, they look to achieve what they can, i.e. the premier division title, and just because those 3 cant get promoted doesnt diminish their importance to this division in relation to any other clubs first team. Think this was shown a couple of years ago when Celtic won it. Ask any player on any B team in mayo if they want to play at their highest level! think these 3 teams are victims of their own success.

Then Juan Pablo wonders why a game should be called off because a team has a player on the Oscar traynor team? of course it should. Why should a team be penalised for having a player representing his (and your) league?
    If the shoe was on the other foot?? Correct me if im wrong JP. We're all football men here

As for this fixture meddling issue- Is that why the Mayo league have dates set aside for just such an occurrence? Outstanding fixtures dates were originally meant to help out with their Oscar traynor preparation and matches. Then they wonder why no-one goes to see their games?!!!! Anyone any thoughts?

As i said- not picking on anyone
    Have to agree with you regards to B/C team most players who play on these teams have no interests in playing at higher level only to play at the level they are at.
    What should happen is to have a mid week reserve league for all B team players so they are available for there club team at the week end only rule that need to apply is that no A team player can play.
    Regards to Oscar Team should be off if players are involved and it would be great to see them turn up and support there fellow player not like the last game when 27 turn up.
    Just incase you ask was I there answer is no,as I was away

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    Have to agree with you regards to B/C team most players who play on these teams have no interests in playing at higher level only to play at the level they are at.
    What should happen is to have a mid week reserve league for all B team players so they are available for there club team at the week end only rule that need to apply is that no A team player can play.
    Regards to Oscar Team should be off if players are involved and it would be great to see them turn up and support there fellow player not like the last game when 27 turn up.
    Just incase you ask was I there answer is no,as I was away
    sure if you had a midweek 'b' team league a lot of lads who come home at the weekend from college and the likes would never get a chance of football.and you'd more than likely have a fair few first teamers getting greedy and playing in the b league during the week as well as playing again in the first team game at the weekend.all the player has to do is sign 'b' and can play whenever they like for whoever they like!westport seem to be well guilty of bending this 'b' team player rule in the extreme.last year david horkan was signed 'b' yet was the best player for the 'a' team and got man of the match in the aib cup final as well as getting the same accolade for the 'b' team in the final of the touhy cup!!and it looks like the same scenario is already happening this year in the case of david hoban who plays for both teams,i think the mayo league need to sort out this issue and players should be regraded as they were a few years ago when they've played a certain amount of games.

As long as you have 16 players signed 'A' at the start of the year you can sign anyone you want 'B'. I agree maybe it would be better if they changed it

fixtures

anyone any up dates on league fixtures after the next 2weeks?

Talking the pixie predictions league

18 Gunner
    17 Gazza
    17 The Dude
    17 Swinford
    16 Leftwing
    16 Cloggs
    15 Pixiehead
    15 Fahyforever
    15 Lassy
    15 Juan Pablo
    14 Thunderblaster
    13 Irishyop

Thats the league. Gunner you Jammy B**tard Im sorry but i didnt Include the new lads on it cause it was taking all night but if ye just send me a PM of yer score (one point per Game) ill include ye i promise

51 Posts
    All Castlebar Celtic junior soccer games are off this weekend due to tey involvement in the FAI Youths Cup and good luck to them in that cup.

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    All Castlebar Celtic junior soccer games are off this weekend due to tey involvement in the FAI Youths Cup and good luck to them in that cup.
    I think they are alright

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    yes best of luck to the cactlebar youths team and all managment team!!

So does this mean that the below games are off??

Sunday, 20 May 2007 14:30 PREM
    Ballinrobe Town - Achill Rovers :
    Bangor Hibs. - Swinford :
    Fahy Rovers - Ballyglass :
    Straide & Foxford Utd. - Castlebar Celtic B : OFF
    Westport Utd. B - Manulla B

Saturday, 19 May 2007 19:30 sUPER LEAGUE
    Claremorris - Glenhest Rovers :
    Erris Utd. - Castlebar Celtic : OFF
    Manulla - Crossmolina :
    Snugboro Utd. - Ballina Town :
    Westport Utd - Ballyheane

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    So does this mean that the below games are off??

Sunday, 20 May 2007 14:30 PREM
    Ballinrobe Town - Achill Rovers :
    Bangor Hibs. - Swinford :
    Fahy Rovers - Ballyglass :
    Straide & Foxford Utd. - Castlebar Celtic B : OFF
    Westport Utd. B - Manulla B

Saturday, 19 May 2007 19:30 sUPER LEAGUE
    Claremorris - Glenhest Rovers :
    Erris Utd. - Castlebar Celtic : OFF
    Manulla - Crossmolina :
    Snugboro Utd. - Ballina Town :
    Westport Utd - Ballyheane
    Yes, I have heard that there are games next Thursday week, it maybe them!

Fair play, cheers

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    yes best of luck to the cactlebar youths team and all managment team!!
    yeah best of luck to the celtic lads!hopefully they manage to do it.lets see the whole county getting behind them regardless of what club you play for

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    As long as you have 16 players signed 'A' at the start of the year you can sign anyone you want 'B'. I agree maybe it would be better if they changed it
    yeah thats the problem i reckon.sorry about my bit of a rant about 'a' and 'b' team players before but its just a bit annoying as you can sign any joe soap for the 'a' team so long as you have the 16 and think that rule may be being exploited

best of luck to celtic the weekend, they certainly have the talent to win. the CT gave them a fair bit of coverage, cant remember erris getting 10% of that a few years back??

Quote Originally Posted by couchpotato View Post
    best of luck to celtic the weekend, they certainly have the talent to win. the CT gave them a fair bit of coverage, cant remember erris getting 10% of that a few years back??
    the ct is a castlebar paper so its no major surprise that they're giving celtic a good bit of coverage.not that i'm complaining in the slightest as any soccer coverage in the local papers is great.i doubt whether they gave erris anywhere neat the same coverage when the played a few years ago although correct me if i'm wrong as i couldn't say for sure.

Claremorris v Glenhest Rovers claremorris
    Erris Utd. v Castlebar Celtic draw
    Manulla v Crossmolina manulla
    Snugboro Utd. v Ballina Town ballina town
    Westport Utd v Ballyheane westport

Clarmorris v Glenhest (Away)
    Erris Utd v Celtic (Away)
    Manulla v Crossmolina (Home)
    Snugboro v Ballina Town (Away)
    Westport v Ballyheane (Home)

I hope westport give ballyheane a good beating , might keep a few of the heane lads back down ta size

51 Posts
    Claremorris v Glenhest Rovers claremorris
    Erris Utd. v Castlebar Celtic Draw when it is play!
    Manulla v Crossmolina manulla
    Snugboro Utd. v Ballina Town ballina town
    Westport Utd v Ballyheane westport

Claremorris v Glenhest Rovers - Claremorris
    Erris Utd. v Castlebar Celtic - Castlebar Celtic
    Manulla v Crossmolina - Manualla
    Snugboro Utd. v Ballina Town - Town
    Westport Utd v Ballyheane - Wport United