Page 44 of 115 FirstFirst ... 3442434445465494 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Association Football League

I vote YES to a reserve league. But im not in Favour of a ten team super league.

A reserve league would resolve a lot of messing and question marks over who is going up and who is going down!
    It should happen because it makes so much sense!!!

Reserve Proposal

Mayo Reserve league 2010
    Westport
    Iorrais
    Celtic
    Manulla
    Ballyheane
    Snugboro
    Claremorris

(These are currently the highest ranking B teams)

The 8th place would be made up by either S+F or Swinford. If their respective league positions remain the same there would be a play off.
    Meanwhile Crossmolina, K+K utd, Bangor and Ballina town(??) would form a bigger divison 2. The Reserve league would have no promotion but if a B side finishes top of the first division they would be promoted to the reserve league and a reserve league team demoted to the first. That way no B sides could effect the Premier divison. NON B sides could then get promoted and relegated from the respective leagues. If a B team finishes in the top 2 the 3rd place would not go up. However with that B team now promoted you have a better chance next year with that team gone . Not like the current situation
    Confused?
    To avoid B teams at the bottom getting complacent a club could be thrown out the following season if games werent played in required "Fashion"

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Mayo Reserve league 2010
    Westport
    Iorrais
    Celtic
    Manulla
    Ballyheane
    Snugboro
    Claremorris

The 8th place would be made up by either S+F or Swinford. If their respective league positions remain the same there would be a play off.
    Meanwhile Crossmolina, K+K utd, Bangor and Ballina town(??) would form a bigger divison 2. The Reserve league would have no promotion but if a B side finishes top of the first division they would be promoted to the reserve league and a reserve league team demoted to the first. That way no B sides could effect the Premier divison. NON B sides could then get promoted and relegated from the respective leagues. If a B team finishes in the top 2 the 3rd place would not go up. However with that B team now promoted you have a better chance next year with that team gone . Not like the current situation
    Confused?
    To avoid B teams at the bottom getting complacent a club could be thrown out the following season if games werent played in required "Fashion"

At least its a proposal. Still dont like the idea of any reserve teams in main stream league competition as it can lead to A players playing B. But i like your structure and the idea of promotion/relegation to keep it more interesting. Would it not be better 2 divisions of 6 each and play each other 3 times and still have promotion/relegation between them?? Also it would not be fair on division 2 teams that a relegated b side get automatic entry into division 1.

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Mayo Reserve league 2010
    Westport
    Iorrais
    Celtic
    Manulla
    Ballyheane
    Snugboro
    Claremorris

Confused?
    Reserve league is a simple concept made very complicated by above. Simple idea is Reserve A and B league, 12 teams = 2 groups of six teams. Open draw or by draw by north/south mayo at begining of season. Top 2 of both divisions play in reserve semi-final and final at the end to give them something to play for. Also Reserve League Cup competition like Westaro cup.

To sort out current divisions then, squash upwards removing the B teams. Could be division 2 = 8 teams, division 1 = 10 teams, premier = 10 teams and Super = 10 teams.

Simple idea could be put across to clubs easily in a ten minute presentation or 1 page letter. What do people think?

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Reserve league is a simple concept made very complicated by above. Simple idea is Reserve A and B league, 12 teams = 2 groups of six teams. Open draw or by draw by north/south mayo at begining of season. Top 2 of both divisions play in reserve semi-final and final at the end to give them something to play for. Also Reserve League Cup competition like Westaro cup.

To sort out current divisions then, squash upwards removing the B teams. Could be division 2 = 8 teams, division 1 = 10 teams, premier = 10 teams and Super = 10 teams.

Simple idea could be put across to clubs easily in a ten minute presentation or 1 page letter. What do people think?
    As i was saying except that i think that there is a massive gulf at the moment in the SL and maybe it should be reduced to 8 teams?? But i think that 90% of the people would be in favour of a reserve league and maybe its time a club by club pole was conducted and therefore the ML could get to hear what players on the ground feel.

It is the only way forward and any other suggestions are only papering over the cracks and avoiding the only true solution to a pathetic problem. Glad to hear so much support on here for a reserve league

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    have to say that the above statement is a complete paradox in my opinion.you say that the b teams are hampering all the other teams from getting promoted.if these teams are indeed good enough to be playing in the top flight how are they supposed to be able to cope against the likes of westports first team if they can't even beat the second string outfit?!and then try and survive in an 8 team super league?
    Well said. thats the bottom line

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    As i was saying except that i think that there is a massive gulf at the moment in the SL and maybe it should be reduced to 8 teams?? But i think that 90% of the people would be in favour of a reserve league and maybe its time a club by club pole was conducted and therefore the ML could get to hear what players on the ground feel.

It is the only way forward and any other suggestions are only papering over the cracks and avoiding the only true solution to a pathetic problem. Glad to hear so much support on here for a reserve league
    reserve league would be a joke. Used to be one and it was a shambles. no restiction on players and if one team about to win it, their first team played all reserve games, and reserves played first team games. ask any ML official at the time.
    What happens in every other western league? As far as i know galway dont have a reserve league. B teams play at whatever level they are at, and its up to every club to beat another clubs second team to get to the top. If you cant do that, you dont deserve to be in the top division.
    Very easy for a club to say that B teams are holding up the "progress" of other clubs first team - This is simply a reality that that club is not good enough to compete at the top table and ends All other arguments, no matter how you dress it up.

Quote Originally Posted by hardcore View Post
    reserve league would be a joke. Used to be one and it was a shambles. no restiction on players and if one team about to win it, their first team played all reserve games, and reserves played first team games. ask any ML official at the time.
    What happens in every other western league? As far as i know galway dont have a reserve league. B teams play at whatever level they are at, and its up to every club to beat another clubs second team to get to the top. If you cant do that, you dont deserve to be in the top division.
    Very easy for a club to say that B teams are holding up the "progress" of other clubs first team - This is simply a reality that that club is not good enough to compete at the top table and ends All other arguments, no matter how you dress it up.
    Spot on. If A teams cannot beat a clubs B team who's fault is it. Westport have three competitive teams from a small pick. The reason for their susccess is a good youth set up and hard work. Its up to other clubs to stop giving out and step up to the mark. Its all about putting in the hard work at youth level. If you get rid of the B teams you are only papering over the cracks.

[QUOTE=murphs jewels;1244506]As i was saying except that i think that there is a massive gulf at the moment in the SL and maybe it should be reduced to 8 teams?? But i think that 90% of the people would be in favour of a reserve league and maybe its time a club by club pole was conducted and therefore the ML could get to hear what players on the ground feel.

Can someone please explain how reducing the super League to eight teams is going to either improve it or address the 'massive gulf'? I genuinely cannot understand the rationale, for want of a better word, behind this idea. I presume the 'massive gulf' you are referring to is within the Super league itself? Reducing the size of the league is unlikely to change this at all. What it will do, however, is increase the gulf between the Super league and the other divisions, making it even more difficult for teams to break into, and harder to stay in. It also dicks around with the sizes of the other divisions. I personally find the proposal incomprehensible, regardless to how it might affect Fahy.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Spot on. If A teams cannot beat a clubs B team who's fault is it. Westport have three competitive teams from a small pick. The reason for their susccess is a good youth set up and hard work. Its up to other clubs to stop giving out and step up to the mark. Its all about putting in the hard work at youth level. If you get rid of the B teams you are only papering over the cracks.
    I dont think thats a fair comment. There are a good few clubs who have people working tirelessley on a voluntary basis coaching youngsters. The bigger clubs will attract the better players who want to win trophys. Kids want to play for clubs who win trophys. Coaches at the smaller clubs have to make do with the resourses they have.

Quote Originally Posted by hardcore View Post
    well what, in your opinion, is the point in a reserve team suceeding in the premier division and having no where to go??? So what if A players play in the reserve league every reserve team can do the same thing and they are only effecting themselves

Do you think that the situation we have is acceptable because if you do you are in the very small minority. And dont even bother suggesting promoting B sides because that will never ever be accepted. Reserve league is the only way forward and this was the opinion of the majority of clubs at the ML think tank organised in the Welcome Inn last year.

Going on your format Fahy Rovers nor Kilmore should be in the SL either.

Any word on the Oscar Traynor squad lads? Apart from the manager that is. How many players are called to the initial trials and when is it reduced? What would your first eleven/sixteen be? Do you think Mayo have any chance? Can anybody be bothered? I was reading the Limerick thread on it and they say some players cant be bothered with it, but they still have loads of pages devoted to it! Are teams still encouraged to send a few of their best players to the trials? Any nominations for candidates outside the Super League?

Lot's of questions I know, but thought I'd gauge people's opinions on it as a talking point.

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    well what, in your opinion, is the point in a reserve team suceeding in the premier division and having no where to go??? So what if A players play in the reserve league every reserve team can do the same thing and they are only effecting themselves

Do you think that the situation we have is acceptable because if you do you are in the very small minority. And dont even bother suggesting promoting B sides because that will never ever be accepted. Reserve league is the only way forward and this was the opinion of the majority of clubs at the ML think tank organised in the Welcome Inn last year.

Going on your format Fahy Rovers nor Kilmore should be in the SL either.
    to be honest i personally don't have a problem with the b teams playing in whatever division they deserve to be playing in.if the team is good enough then why not have them playing in the premier division?afterall are the b teams not there to bring on players and get them to play in the first team?westport b are a prime example,presumably the young lads are chomping at the bit to get into the first team and would surely be far more prepared to make the step up to the super league if they've been playing in the premier than they would playing in a reserve league against arguably inferior players to the premier division?and i don't mean that as a slight on any player/club currently plying their trade in the lower league.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Any word on the Oscar Traynor squad lads? Apart from the manager that is. How many players are called to the initial trials and when is it reduced? What would your first eleven/sixteen be? Do you think Mayo have any chance? Can anybody be bothered? I was reading the Limerick thread on it and they say some players cant be bothered with it, but they still have loads of pages devoted to it! Are teams still encouraged to send a few of their best players to the trials? Any nominations for candidates outside the Super League?

Lot's of questions I know, but thought I'd gauge people's opinions on it as a talking point.
    Muldoon...Moy Villa

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post

Oscar Traynor Likely 16:
    Peyton, O'Boyle
    O'Connor, Lawless, Reilly, Geraty, Keane
    Price, Nallan, Scahill, O'Gorman, Gavin
    O'Malley, Duffy, Lavelle

if they all are fit that's strongest

Quote Originally Posted by sprah1 View Post
    Muldoon...Moy Villa
    Overweight, and no discipline. Youve got to be kidding

more than 16

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Oscar Traynor Likely 16:
    Peyton, O'Boyle
    O'Connor, Lawless, Reilly, Geraty, Keane
    Price, Nallan, Scahill, O'Gorman, Gavin
    O'Malley, Duffy, Lavelle

if they all are fit that's strongest
    there will be more than 16 in the panel. what about mark mcgreal from snugboro, he's def good enough i don't know many of the players now in the super league but there will definitely be a few more names included. celtic a are playing them next tuesday night in a friendly, have any of the players been contacted yet?
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Can the celtic A lads play with the oscar traynor team after there season is over?

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    there will be more than 16 in the panel. what about mark mcgreal from snugboro, he's def good enough i don't know many of the players now in the super league but there will definitely be a few more names included. celtic a are playing them next tuesday night in a friendly, have any of the players been contacted yet?
    Maybe McGreal, gerry mcloughlin, horkan, peter burke, tommy walsh, hoban, barratt, cameron.

Only said 16 casue thats what the question was...

are ye allowed play?

Page 44 of 115 FirstFirst ... 3442434445465494 ... LastLast