Page 76 of 115 FirstFirst ... 2666747576777886 ... LastLast
Results 1,501 to 1,520 of 2286

Thread: Mayo Association Football League

There's a real smell about it all. They should have renamed it something other than Premier A & B, not that that would make a blind bit of difference to the demoted teams. Feel sorry for the likes of Martin McDonald at Ballyglass. A really good football fella. Took on the club when it was on it's ass, got them promoted and was within 90 mins of bringing them back to the Super League, only to lose and go to the Premier -(minus) League. It's a bit galling that "somebody" had informed the opposition of the ramifications of winning/losing/drawing.

I wonder were the bingo balls brought out to decide who went into what division??

When this whole stupid idea of 8 team divisions came out, a friend told me that he thought it was a ploy by the Mayo League to improve their reputation by having the Super League teams advance further in the Connaught and F.A.I Cups. I found the theory a bit conspiratorial.

Now however, I'm convinced that he was right all along. I think it's fairly obvious to anyone involved in the day-to-day of a Mayo club that the Mayo League Committee is far more interested in enhancing it's own status than that of the league as a whole. The unique and ludicrous rules involving fencing, gap between sideline and fence, fines for anything whatsoever, press-box, scoreboards and a whole host of other meaningless nonsense makes that fairly clear. They want members of the F.A.I to come to Mayo and say 'look at the marvellous proactive work they have been doing here in Mayo', rather than listen to the problems at grassroots.

In terms of the league re-structure, I can only come to the conclusion that the same mentality is in play. Reducing the number of teams in the league will NOT make any of them more competitive, is unlikely to even reduce the season due to other cup competitions, and will still result in meaningless matches at the end of the year, as there is in every league in the world. What it WILL do, however, is create a situation where the same top teams will dominate for years, with the teams who got relegated one year more than likely going back up the next in see-saw fashion. And these teams will predominantly come from the bigger towns.

Next year's Super League line-up includes;

Castlebar, Ballina, Westport, Ballinrobe, Swinford and Claremorris, the six largest towns in the county to my reckoning. Alongside them are Erris, with its vast hinterland and Manulla, Irish Junior club of the year recently, well-established and well run. Small or rural clubs who got a shot at the Super League in the recent past (Glenhest, Kilmore, Bangor, Fahy etc) will have a much-diminished chance of recreating that feat. And teams who have never been there will find it even more difficult to break through, considering the teams who will be relegated.

I think the League committee is hoping that the top players from smaller teams will join their larger counterparts to get a chance at Super League football, thusly improving the big team, weakening the smaller team, and strengthening the ubiquity and dominance of the large towns in the Super League. Whilst continuing to make the best teams better and the Mayo League look good as those reinforced teams improve their performances in the external cups. Which is what they really care about.

I'm open to argument on these points of course, but I just can't see any other valid reason for the non-communicative, insular, closed-shop attitude of the county's governing body.

My previous post was deleted because of bad language, the jist of it was that this appears to be a big mess, but ye do have great facilities in comparison to us(Sligo). Mayo reduce their top division to 8 less than 14 months after Sligo/Leitrim expand theirs to 12?? which league is taking the right path???
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

longshanks how is the sligo 12 team divisions going? has it been a success?
    im just looking for a comparison to the new mayo league set up and another counties

Early days yet Jim. A couple of clubs folded a few years back and we had 4 divisions ( 3 x 10 and the bottom with 5 teams). The bottom league was a farce with teams playing each other 4 times.

Super and Premier Leagues have 12 teams, Division 1 10 teams. It means you have to win your league over 22 games instead of 18 which makes it a tougher league in that sense, also if you have a bad start, like us this year all hope(if any) isnt gone, we have 15 games to try and get safety as opposed to 11.

I feel the Premier League will benefit more by the expansion than the Super League. The Premier is very very competitive whereas there is almost 3 mini leagues in the Super League(title contenders/mid-tables/relegation candidates).

On the plus side it means we have a minimum of 12 teams in round 3 of the Conn Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by jim_bob View Post
    longshanks how is the sligo 12 team divisions going? has it been a success?
    im just looking for a comparison to the new mayo league set up and another counties
    I inquired with the thread Division 1A in th Limerick league about A&B in a division like the new Premier in Mayo, thye say that Division 1A is a higher division than Division 1B. The top 2 in the division 1A go into the premier and bottom 2 in Division 1A are relegated to Division 1B and visa-versa down to the rest of the divisions. This i think is the main question people would ask about the Premier 1 and 2 is it 1 division or 2 divisions, to win the Premier Cup wil u have to win 3 games or 4 games?

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    When this whole stupid idea of 8 team divisions came out, a friend told me that he thought it was a ploy by the Mayo League to improve their reputation by having the Super League teams advance further in the Connaught and F.A.I Cups. I found the theory a bit conspiratorial.

Now however, I'm convinced that he was right all along. I think it's fairly obvious to anyone involved in the day-to-day of a Mayo club that the Mayo League Committee is far more interested in enhancing it's own status than that of the league as a whole. The unique and ludicrous rules involving fencing, gap between sideline and fence, fines for anything whatsoever, press-box, scoreboards and a whole host of other meaningless nonsense makes that fairly clear. They want members of the F.A.I to come to Mayo and say 'look at the marvellous proactive work they have been doing here in Mayo', rather than listen to the problems at grassroots.

In terms of the league re-structure, I can only come to the conclusion that the same mentality is in play. Reducing the number of teams in the league will NOT make any of them more competitive, is unlikely to even reduce the season due to other cup competitions, and will still result in meaningless matches at the end of the year, as there is in every league in the world. What it WILL do, however, is create a situation where the same top teams will dominate for years, with the teams who got relegated one year more than likely going back up the next in see-saw fashion. And these teams will predominantly come from the bigger towns.

Next year's Super League line-up includes;

Castlebar, Ballina, Westport, Ballinrobe, Swinford and Claremorris, the six largest towns in the county to my reckoning. Alongside them are Erris, with its vast hinterland and Manulla, Irish Junior club of the year recently, well-established and well run. Small or rural clubs who got a shot at the Super League in the recent past (Glenhest, Kilmore, Bangor, Fahy etc) will have a much-diminished chance of recreating that feat. And teams who have never been there will find it even more difficult to break through, considering the teams who will be relegated.

I think the League committee is hoping that the top players from smaller teams will join their larger counterparts to get a chance at Super League football, thusly improving the big team, weakening the smaller team, and strengthening the ubiquity and dominance of the large towns in the Super League. Whilst continuing to make the best teams better and the Mayo League look good as those reinforced teams improve their performances in the external cups. Which is what they really care about.

I'm open to argument on these points of course, but I just can't see any other valid reason for the non-communicative, insular, closed-shop attitude of the county's governing body.
    you will deafen those who take charge of your junior game.But I am afraid it will fall on deaf ears

Quote Originally Posted by rava View Post
    If thats the case Killala and Conn rangers have just been punished for being promoted
    Whats this about??? Killala and Conn Rangers were playin in div 1 last year. Now there both in the Premier. A is the second teir and B is the third. Simple! Killala and Conn Rangers went from the third teir of Mayo football to the second = both teams happy.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maximus View Post
    Whats this about??? Killala and Conn Rangers were playin in div 1 last year. Now there both in the Premier. A is the second teir and B is the third. Simple! Killala and Conn Rangers went from the third teir of Mayo football to the second = both teams happy.
    He meant in the case that Premier A and Premier B were the same teir, i.e the second. In that case they would've found themselves in the tougher half.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    He meant in the case that Premier A and Premier B were the same teir, i.e the second. In that case they would've found themselves in the tougher half.
    That is the problem have the ML said is Premier A and B one division or 2 if its 2 that would be okay but if its 1 division, Maximus i dont tkink we would be too happy, and in the e-mail sent out clubs or what is on Mid West radio web site its not stated if its 1 or 2.

Joke

Its a complete joke and would make you wanna give it up and play gaelic instead...

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    Early days yet Jim. A couple of clubs folded a few years back and we had 4 divisions ( 3 x 10 and the bottom with 5 teams). The bottom league was a farce with teams playing each other 4 times.

Super and Premier Leagues have 12 teams, Division 1 10 teams. It means you have to win your league over 22 games instead of 18 which makes it a tougher league in that sense, also if you have a bad start, like us this year all hope(if any) isnt gone, we have 15 games to try and get safety as opposed to 11.

I feel the Premier League will benefit more by the expansion than the Super League. The Premier is very very competitive whereas there is almost 3 mini leagues in the Super League(title contenders/mid-tables/relegation candidates).

On the plus side it means we have a minimum of 12 teams in round 3 of the Conn Cup.
    that must take a long time to complete, what with all the games that are called off with weather conditions. How long does it run for and how many weeks would you average for cancellations ?

Pixie,

last season we played our first league game on the 16th Aug and our last on the 9th May, the previous season with a 10 team division our 1st game was 24th Aug and the last was 13th May. Much of a muchness really. they squeeze in a few mid week games end April/May.

Last season we played on the 18th Oct and didnt play again till 24th Jan, there were a couple of games called off(waterlogged pitches) in Sept too.

I dont know how ye manage the summer football, Mayo is a big GAA county. Do ye have many dual players? and do the ML and GAA work together re fixturing etc??

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    Pixie,

last season we played our first league game on the 16th Aug and our last on the 9th May, the previous season with a 10 team division our 1st game was 24th Aug and the last was 13th May. Much of a muchness really. they squeeze in a few mid week games end April/May.

Last season we played on the 18th Oct and didnt play again till 24th Jan, there were a couple of games called off(waterlogged pitches) in Sept too.

I dont know how ye manage the summer football, Mayo is a big GAA county. Do ye have many dual players? and do the ML and GAA work together re fixturing etc??
    Thanks
    there are a few dual players but not an awful lot.By junior level most people will have picked the sport they prefer and thats that. In the more rural places it can be a bit of a problem but its rare in the towns. That is a massive break Longshanks. Was that all because of weather. Last year we had the floods and then the freezing so was that it? Summer football is the only way forward. It has worked at national level , in mayo and now in donegal afaik. I dont think western counties have much choice. If lads want to choose GAA then let them off. You have to look at the bigger picture and the long run. Plus our winters are getting worse every year so ye might have no choice eventually !No they dont work together. Mayo is a big GAA county but we are fortunate that it is also a big soccer county as well. 36 clubs and 32 have all proper facilities as required. Its makes for good reading the commitment to soccer down here
    Last edited by pixiehead; 07/10/2010 at 11:50 AM.

For most Junior clubs in Sligo, particularly the rural ones the GAA is a big competitor and if push came to shove I'd say about 90% of the dual players would pick GAA. I'm only speaking from my experience but the majority of players treat the Junior soccer season as a bit of craic and handy to keep your fitness levels ticking over during the GAA off season.

For example last season we were involved in the title run-in in the Premier League, it was a struggle to keep lads in the night before games etc. In the end the season came down to the last match and it was us and our rivals level on points at the top, playing each other. It was explained to the lads that it was the equivualent of the Intermediate Championship Final and that we had 2 weeks to prepare and look after ourselves. We eventually tripped over the line and it was well celebrated. Now we are in the Super League and we cant keep the lads in, cant get them training for what is the same as Senior GAA. Now our GAA club that all the lads play for is an Intermediate club and would be long shots to win the Championship, but they'll go off the drink for weeks and train 3 nights a week for the build up and if they ever did make it to Senior they'd really put the effort in. I suppose its the mind set. (sorry if this is a bit rantish but we'd another poor turn out at training last night!!)

I suppose of the 30 odd clubs in Sligo/Leitrim only 1 or 2 arent effected by dual players

Thats interesting longshanks then. I guess theres a huge contrast in the counties so. As a matter of interest how do most clubs train up there during the winter. Is there facilities for night time training when the ordinary facilities are not the best??

Quote Originally Posted by Round Tower View Post
    That is the problem have the ML said is Premier A and B one division or 2 if its 2 that would be okay but if its 1 division, Maximus i dont tkink we would be too happy, and in the e-mail sent out clubs or what is on Mid West radio web site its not stated if its 1 or 2.
    Of course there seperate divisions. If there equal, your tellin me if Moy Villa win Premier B they go into the super league and skip one division after scrapin 4th spot in div. one this year. Thats too outlandish - therefore i believe they are seperate.

Quote Originally Posted by Maximus View Post
    Of course there seperate divisions. If there equal, your tellin me if Moy Villa win Premier B they go into the super league and skip one division after scrapin 4th spot in div. one this year. Thats too outlandish - therefore i believe they are seperate.
    The point is you shouldnt have to quess and two stronger teams are going to be relegated than were promoted which shouldnt happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Round Tower View Post
    I don't believe there is any doubt that they are Prem A and Prem B not the same as 2a or 2b that div, was split a number of years ago. this case is differant as teams from S.L. PLUS Prem make up the division.

Confirmed

Premier A and B ARE seperate leagues.
    It would appear that the Mayo league think that by renaming the leagues clubs would'nt know they were totally shafted. Biggest loosers in my oppinion are the league champions and runners up that were not promoted, Charlestown, Westport C, Ballyhaunis Town, Ballina Utd. This is a disgrace in my opinion and a total waste of 12 months. Will the Mayo league refund these clubs and players all it cost to play this pathitic excuse of a season??
    The other loosers in my opinion are the clubs relegated 2 divisions: Manulla B, Castlebar Celtic B or Knock/Kiltimagh, Ballyheane B and Swinford B. Clubs once in the 3rd tier of Mayo Football now find themselves in the 5th tier, how is this acceptable and will clubs let themselves be over run by these controll freaks who will play with clubs and players destiny with the swipe of a pen?
    I also have some sympathy for Bangor or Clew Bay, Ballyglass, Achill Rovers and Urlar. These clubs have fought so hard to get to there individual levels in their respective leagues and now find themselves having to do all the hard work agin to get back up there again after finishing in mid table. Clew Bay will be devestated if they loose Sunday after completing several impressive consecutive seasons to reach the Premier Division and hold their own there this season with imprssive results. Will clubs now stand up for themselves and either get rid of the rotten apples in the ML barrel or refuse to play these play-off games and make a stand for themselves. Some how I dont think any club in Mayo has either the will or the interest to fight these unapproachable/untouchables who profess to run our league.

Page 76 of 115 FirstFirst ... 2666747576777886 ... LastLast