Glenhest Rovers - Ballyheane Away
    Manulla - Snugboro Utd. Home
    Westport Utd - Claremorris Home
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Well done the Town A team today. Nice away win over Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by Fireball View Post
    Well done the Town A team today. Nice away win over Celtic.
    Have to say it was impressive

I think a hats off to Knock/Kiltimagh for this.

"K&K Utd Show Sportmanship Of The Highest Order
    18/06/2007
    The K&K Utd Captain and Manager showed sportmanship of the highest order when they intervened when Celtic C player Declan Levelle was sent off in the wrong. Both individuals went to the ref after the game and confimed that Declan should not have been sent off. The ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove took this information on board and has written to the Mayo League requesting the red card to be down graded. The Mangement of the C team would like to thank K&K Utd for their sportmanship and the ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove for writting to the Mayo League. Well done to all involved "

From http://www.castlebarceltic.com/

51 Posts
    Good to see - congrats on that - well done K+K Utd

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Good to see - congrats on that - well done K+K Utd
    Good to see sport being the winner
    well done to all concerned

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post

18/06/2007
    The K&K Utd Captain and Manager showed sportmanship of the highest order when they intervened when Celtic C player Declan Levelle was sent off in the wrong. Both individuals went to the ref after the game and confimed that Declan should not have been sent off. The ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove took this information on board and has written to the Mayo League requesting the red card to be down graded. The Mangement of the C team would like to thank K&K Utd for their sportmanship and the ref Mr. Tony Cosgrove for writting to the Mayo League. Well done to all involved "

What actually happened i wonder ????
    Does the ref feel like a plonker now

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    What actually happened i wonder ????
    Does the ref feel like a plonker now
    The Ref was excellent. The incident happened behind his back and what he saw was two players rolling on the ground one trying to defend himself from the other. His call was both players should be sent off, but once he heard the true story he wrote to the Mayo League. Think before you call someone a plonker. Don't always try a take a negative out of something positive. Well done to K&K Utd.

18/06/2007

This does the heart good! After all the negatives lately on these threads about mayo refs (good AND bad gunner!), fantastic to see such a refreshing approach by mr T. Cosgrove. If "Closing Time" can confirm that the refs back was turned, then he can only go on what he has seen. But then for him to take the time to listen to views of both sides, and use common sense, and help to clear the lad, shows a human side that some wouldnt ( and havent) shown.(Think "Fahy forever" mentioned that lately).
    Mr Tony Cosgrove, I salute you!
    As for the Knock/Kiltimagh Captain and Manager- You are a credit to your club and your league! Can someone please Name these men?
    Its about time there was some positive posts on these threads. i think we should post any simular examples of good reffeering on the general mayo thread. In fact, lets start a positive refs survey! Great to see such sportsmanship and sensible reffeering

And the act of fair play should be recognised at the Mayo AFL Dinner Dance in November.

18/06/2007

It's a pity we can't all be as fair and honest as this. Many of us have the win at all costs mentality but incidents like the one above can only serve to improve and further the game at all levels. Well done to all involved!
    Also good luck to the Celtic U-21 team on Sat. Lets hope they have a good run in the competition. It can only help to improve the standard and profile of the game in the county.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    The Ref was excellent. The incident happened behind his back and what he saw was two players rolling on the ground one trying to defend himself from the other. His call was both players should be sent off, but once he heard the true story he wrote to the Mayo League. Think before you call someone a plonker. Don't always try a take a negative out of something positive. Well done to K&K Utd.
    OOOPPS. Taken Back!! Fair play to all involved

Celtic 21

Ya Great to see eircom league in the town. Hopefully we will see a senior side one day. However i dont think they will get a big a support for the games. Through no fault of celtic but the game V shamrock rovers showed that we are still stuck in a GAA dominated Town/ County. I was angry with the support shown for the game and the effort celtic put in that day so i think they are a long way off. But fair play to all involved and hopefully we will see the tribesmen whip them in celtic one day

They are playing Galway United U21 as far as I am aware!

Are any of ye non Celtic heads going up for a look on Sat evening?

I see Ronan O'Boyle is gone to Galway United, at this rate it maybe worth a trip up to Terryland soon

646 Posts
    Best of Luck to Ronan, best player I've played against in Mayo so far.

They are playing Galway United U21 as far as I am aware!
    Monaghan United

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Monaghan United

TB - I was responding to the quote of "hopefully we will see the tribesmen whip them in celtic one day ", in saying the Celtic U21 will be playing Galway United U21 side in League. Mr O'Boyle will be back playing against his old team mates

And there is Eoin McCormack from Ballina with Galway United U.21s. GUFC U.21's played the FAS boys in Milebush last night. Don't know the score of that one. Will be an emotional homecoming for Boyler.

Fantastic goal from Derek Glynn tonight. The way he's going at the moment he might go further than the Tribesmen!!

Saturday, 23 June 2007
    Ballyheane - Ballina Town away
    Claremorris - Glenhest Rovers draw
    Westport Utd - Manulla home
    Snugboro Utd. - Erris Utd. away