Results 2,121 to 2,140 of 2286

Thread: Mayo Association Football League

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    anybody in Mayo know anything about the John Sherlock Memorial Cup, an over 35 competition apparently, I think sligo/Leitrim are entering a team
    John Sherlock Memorial Cup
    Sat 9th June @ 7pm in McSharry Park

Sligo/Leitrim v Mayo

How are ye fixed lads???
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

Bit disappointed with the squad, a lot of players missing that you would expect to be on it. Maybe they just would not commit to it. Strong midfield and up front though.

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    John Sherlock Memorial Cup
    Sat 9th June @ 7pm in McSharry Park

Sligo/Leitrim v Mayo

How are ye fixed lads???

finished 2-0 to Sligo/Leitrim. Sligo started well and looked more composed on the ball and dominated for long spells, but half way through first half Mayo broke and hit the post and the striker at full stretch just couldnt convert the rebound. A minute later a glancing header from a corner also hit the post. Sligo got back on top from then on but didnt really create anything. a few minutes into the second half Sligo went 1-0 up and then 5 mins later went 2-0 from the penalty spot. Mayo were really pushing to get back into the game but Sligo held out.

enjoyable game
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

Lads, can any of ye give me directions to Westport United's ground?

assuming you are coming from castlebar side???
    drive into westport town straight tru first traffic lights,turn right before bridge,turn right at next lights go past maxol petrol station drive round next corner then take first right turn as you start to take the hill

What is the Mayo Youths comitte doing they fixed Girls U14's league games for last Thurs night when Ireland was playing Spain,the Junior league has stopped for the championship

Wow Ballyhaunis absolutely leather Urlaur in the Tonra cup final. Second cup final in as many weeks with a miss match. Was there sendings off r anything as both team's are pretty close in the league

Thing are gone very quiet here!
    Is Mayo soccer on a downward slope?
    From what I hear, a lot of people are disillusioned with soccer in the county at present
    * Lack of competiveness in leagues
    * Inconsistency of Referees
    * Increase in Fines issued to clubs
    * Clubs struggling to survive financially.

Is this all down to the current economic climate and or is it an indication of the state of soccer in the country?

Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post
    Thing are gone very quiet here!
    Is Mayo soccer on a downward slope?
    From what I hear, a lot of people are disillusioned with soccer in the county at present
    * Lack of competiveness in leagues
    * Inconsistency of Referees
    * Increase in Fines issued to clubs
    * Clubs struggling to survive financially.

Is this all down to the current economic climate and or is it an indication of the state of soccer in the country?
    Things are quite on the Mayo forums except for Premier B,i dont know is it because it has been very competative all season.
    * Other than the Super league most division are very competative that can go either way.
    * Rferees are conistent except the wrong way, other than McGrath, McCay,English most of the Ref's are very poor.
    * I dont know about clubs fines,it has always been a problem.
    * Financhal problems of clubs would say is a problem for everyone and different clubs for all sporting orgaisations,especialy clubs in the Erris region where referees has a long distance to travel.Biggest problem for all clubs are numers due to emigration,lads working away.A couple of weeks ago there was a prominant club could not field a team,dont know how they have a B team,U18 team and a u17 team.Possible greater coperation with the GAA on fixtures as they are facing the same problems numbers wise.

The last weekend of ML fixtures,should the Castlebar B V Ballinrobe game have not been played before the weekend because if Ballinrobe loose they could still be relegated. Other than that,the Super League and League 1 are only divisions that has no decisions to be decided regarding Champions,Promotion and Relegation. The divisions and the questions are as follows
    Premier A
    Champions and Promotions
    - Conn Rangers 28,Ballyheane 27 and Snugbora 26
    Relegation - Bangor Hibs 13,Clew Bay 13 and Ballinrobe Town 14

Premier B
    Champions - Moy Villa 25 and Charlestown Athletic 22
    Promotion - Charlestown Athletic 22 and Ballyglass 19
    Relegation - Mulranney 15,Killala 15,Kilmore 16 and Westport B 18

League 2
    Promotion
    - Hollister 27,Moy Villa B 24 and Conn Rangers B 24
    Last edited by Round Tower; 04/10/2012 at 4:42 PM.

Club Football Workshop
    The Mayo Football League wishes to invite all Clubs to a “Club Football Workshop” on Thursday next 18th October 2012 in the Welcome Inn Hotel, Castlebar at 8.30pm.
    Clubs are invited to send along the following representatives to the “Workshop”:
    Club Official/Delegate (1)
    Team Manager/Coach (1)
    Team Captain/Players Rep (1)
    It is the intention of the L.M.C. to commence this “Workshop” at 8.30pm sharp and finish at 10pm.
    The main items for discussion are
    (1)—Summer/Winter Football
    (2)—8/10 team divisions

What do ye think about this, these workshops are a good idea, gives clubs a chance to have their say. The Mayo League must be thinking about the change back to Winter soccer. Hard to know if this would be a good idea but something needs to change as clubs seems to be struggling to field teams all around the county this season.

I honestly dont know how switching back to a winter league is even up for discussion. 3/4 of the pitchs in the county are already unplayale and we are only in October. I was against the switch to 8 team divisions from the start but how can the league just turn around and mess all these teams around again just 2 seasons later.

Agree most pitches are not in a good way at the moment but it just makes you wonder how other leagues are still playing Winter soccer and only Mayo and I think Kildare playing Summer soccer.
    With the 8 team divisions, I think they are a good idea for the Lower League but think the SuperLeague needs to have at least 10 teams in it. I think it was on trial for three seasons and just maybe the League want to see if the clubs think they are working. Could do without restructuring the League again for sure, think they would want to leave it for next season and at least clubs will know at the start of the season if things were going to change.

We had a night postponed for the Masters league on the astro turf last year from a waterlogged pitch !!!!!!. Most leagues struggle to play their games during the winter months with a glut of games played in the last month of the season. A season that sometimes goes from August to May or June.

howya lads any news from the "workshop" last night?

2,446 Posts
    Mayo League have drawn Finn Harps at home in the League cup. Tie to be played on or before 11th March.

Mayo league announce a new appointment. Who elects these people to these positions? ? Is the organisation a democracy or a dictatorship. Was there a vote held to promote Tom Jennings to the Mayo league CE Supervisor position?

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Back n the game View Post
    Mayo league announce a new appointment. Who elects these people to these positions? ? Is the organisation a democracy or a dictatorship. Was there a vote held to promote Tom Jennings to the Mayo league CE Supervisor position?
    He has left the Mayo League committee to take up this position ..... you should read an article before you write!!!! He now has nothing to do with the running of the Mayo League soccer in Mayo so you should be happy now!

I think you're missing my point. I've no problem with Tom, my question was how was he appointed to the position? Was he elected or just interviewed for it? ... its you who needs to practice their reading ability, if you did you would understand the point I was making.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Back n the game View Post
    I think you're missing my point. I've no problem with Tom, my question was how was he appointed to the position? Was he elected or just interviewed for it? ... its you who needs to practice their reading ability, if you did you would understand the point I was making.
    I understand your point now - fair enough

Congrats to Manulla Under 16's for making the last 16 of the FAI Cup after a great win in Limerick today and also to their Under 17's for making the quarter finals of the FAI Cup last weekend.