Page 51 of 115 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101 ... LastLast
Results 1,001 to 1,020 of 2286

Thread: Mayo Association Football League

best of luck to Mick, he did a very good with a very young squad and they played some good football under him.

Karma!

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    Heard s.gavin could become player manager!!
    Oh right and i heard hes getting a Car and Lots of Dosh and free dinners and pints and brand new pajamas and slippers..... cos thats what i heard so it must be true!!! LOL now how do ye like the 'rumours'

Quote Originally Posted by purplemonkeydis View Post
    `when are the teams of the year announced?
    I just hope they make a better job of it them last years picks.

Quote Originally Posted by yellowmonkey View Post
    Oh right and i heard hes getting a Car and Lots of Dosh and free dinners and pints and brand new pajamas and slippers..... cos thats what i heard so it must be true!!! LOL now how do ye like the 'rumours'
    Ah nothing like rumours!!!! something needs to get this thread going!!

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    Ah nothing like rumours!!!! something needs to get this thread going!!
    I know, im just having a go at the celtic posters who herd lots of rumours about our club last year!!

Quote Originally Posted by rava View Post
    I just hope they make a better job of it them last years picks.
    Think youre missing an 'R' there rava
    Last edited by yellowmonkey; 13/01/2010 at 12:13 PM.

Think youre missing an 'R' there rava

I was tempted.

think youre missing an 'r' there rava :d
    :d:d:d:d:d

Castlebar Town

I heard they met last nite? Anyone have any details ... I wonder if they will be revived for the 2010 season? If so where does that leave Fahy for a ground?

Would be great to see them back but where are they going to get players from and more importantly who is going to manage them.

Anyone have an idea when the Super League will start this year????

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Anyone have an idea when the Super League will start this year????
    Has anyone any idea when the super league will finish from last year

Hey lads, last year I organised a 5 a side football competition in aid of a charity which went to Haiti to build houses for families in disadvantaged areas. It was just a local effort in Westport but we raised over 1,200 euros. After the events of late in Haiti I'm hoping to do the same thing sometime in the next few months, but on a bigger scale and hopefully with a lot more teams involved, in an effort to raise a considerable sum for aid to help the cause.

I will get in touch with the Mayo teams individually when I am further into organising it, but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions to help me along? I was thinking along the lines of two separate cups, one for Mayo League teams or any junior league sides from around, and another for unsigned players. A entrance fee per team (100 euros?), a cash prize for the winners (500?) to be played in an astroturf (westport? Ballyheane? Milebush?) over a weekend. There's already an existing trophy, sponsored by Geratys pub Westport.

Any sign of interest would be appreciated, or an offer to sponsor/referee/contribute a playing area for free. If someone here has done something similiar in the past I would really appreciate their advice too. Also, if you have an idea to improve the structure or when might be the best time to run it (pre-season, when everyone is back training?) I would be delighted to listen to suggestions.

Cheers.

sounds like a great idea, i would say you will get a few teams from each club if you can advertise it sufficently

Hey lads, last year I organised a 5 a side football competition in aid of a charity which went to Haiti to build houses for families in disadvantaged areas. It was just a local effort in Westport but we raised over 1,200 euros. After the events of late in Haiti I'm hoping to do the same thing sometime in the next few months, but on a bigger scale and hopefully with a lot more teams involved, in an effort to raise a considerable sum for aid to help the cause.

I will get in touch with the Mayo teams individually when I am further into organising it, but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions to help me along? I was thinking along the lines of two separate cups, one for Mayo League teams or any junior league sides from around, and another for unsigned players. A entrance fee per team (100 euros?), a cash prize for the winners (500?) to be played in an astroturf (westport? Ballyheane? Milebush?) over a weekend. There's already an existing trophy, sponsored by Geratys pub Westport.

Any sign of interest would be appreciated, or an offer to sponsor/referee/contribute a playing area for free. If someone here has done something similiar in the past I would really appreciate their advice too. Also, if you have an idea to improve the structure or when might be the best time to run it (pre-season, when everyone is back training?) I would be delighted to listen to suggestions.

Cheers.
    I think if you got 5 main people to help you out from 5 Super league clubs and maybe a few from other league clubs it would be better publicized. Ill Rep for the Boro if you need anything PM me!

Really appreciate that, will be in touch. Cheers,

Mayo 3 Galway 4. Only caught the second half. Seemed even enough, good goal to win it for Galway. What was the linesman at? He seemed to call for offside (it wasn't) only for Mc Grath to overrule him. Might be wrong though. From what I saw Galway were unfairly treated by the linesmen as it was, so fair play to the ref. What's the story now? Are Mayo out or still in it??

51 Posts
    Mayo 3 Galway 4. Only caught the second half. Seemed even enough, good goal to win it for Galway. What was the linesman at? He seemed to call for offside (it wasn't) only for Mc Grath to overrule him. Might be wrong though. From what I saw Galway were unfairly treated by the linesmen as it was, so fair play to the ref. What's the story now? Are Mayo out or still in it??
    out ..... season over

Cheers.
    Well done Fahy. Sorry to be negative but if not ran under the league banner (refs etc.) beware of organising footie matchs without having insurance cover. I ran one many years ago and a guy got hurt. I was sweating for a while but he eventually withdrew his action. I find that the bigger you go on these things the more successful they are. I will help all I can from my desk. Consider foot, facebook, Goal, etc as ways of spreading the word. Consider commercial sponsorship to give you a head start with a tie in with MWR. Consider a celebrity if you can get one free! Give sponsors plenty of photo ops and make sure you have good - no great! - signage.

I think the teams of the year are out, has anybody got them.

Page 51 of 115 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101 ... LastLast