Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Does anyone on here actually go to the away matches.

You always have sick days JT

I realised this weekend, jaeggerbombs are not that nice, when you are sober.

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Man that is the worst excuse ever, Wives, Babies, losing yoru job, lack of funds, but a fecking dog. Roy Keane did not even use that as an excuse.
    The real reason Roy left Saipan was to see Triggs.

The rest was just a cover story. No grandmas died so it was not so bad.

544 Posts
    usually do 2 or 3 a campaign but only Bari this time. Will go to the play-off if we get there and SA if we qualify. money just too tight these days

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    You always have sick days JT

I realised this weekend, jaeggerbombs are not that nice, when you are sober.
    Nope there not good . I got a major turn off them from Cyprus , it was like 2 times the yagamister than red bull yuk !!
    As for my sick days Mr O Shea, i have only had 2 in a year in here !!
    Employee of the year
    Ah should be able to take them at own expense

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Are you sure you know who you're talking about Claret
    Now I did say the sun plays tricks Aido , my problem was alcohol and underground resturants , I still have the bruises

Made it to Montenegro and Bari this time (I ran into you on both occassions Neil!). Had a great time on both trips - just reminded now of Stephen Reid's performance in Podgorica and how much we have missed him since.

Was in Cyprus in 2005 - vowed to never go there again!!!

I think myself and the auldfella will go anywhere except Moscow if we get the playoff spot.

199 Posts
    I haven't been to an away game since Tel-Aviv in 2005...
    Will try and make the playoff trip, if not then its the Euro 2012 campaign..
    South Africa (if we make it) will just be way too expensive... The Dole doesnt pay that well

I kinda guessed that there was a few that did go to the games that were on the site but its been pretty quiet in relation to talkinga bout the trips etc. There is only so much you can take of talking of how Andy Reid should be in the squad etc. I know its the craic and the memories that I will always remember from the trips rather than the tactics etc although the results and the craic and tactics are part of the same thing.
    In Trap we trust

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by newrynyuk View Post
    I've always said football is an excuse to travel, not the other way round
    Yeah this is the way I look at it too. I won't spend hundreds going somewhere I don't want to go just to support the team. I went to Mainz because it was so convenient (ie. Kerry-Frankfurt Hahn). There's no way in the world I would have made it to Tblisi that time. Went to Bari (Rome) becuase it was an attractive trip, in fact, I was really hoping to get the Italians before the draw was made. I would have liked to have made Sofia but the timing wasn't great and Montenegro and Cyprus were a bit too much trouble as well this time round. Missed the Cyprus home match too, midweek trips to Dublin are a bit more trouble than their worth if I'm honest, although I did go to the Georgia one.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Has been quiet after the games. Made all but Sofia this time.
    Will definitely go to the playoff away if on Saturday, if it midweek don't think work will allow the time off.
    Playoffs are ballbreakers anyway with the nerves

Thats it the wedding is off, you never told me you had a pair of balls.
    In Trap we trust

Gone to one or two this campaign

Here's hoping for Estonia or Czech for the playoffs
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

I take it you didn't look then Neil .

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    I take it you didn't look then Neil .
    Surely the old 'Begbie Check' took place?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

I kinda guessed that there was a few that did go to the games that were on the site but its been pretty quiet in relation to talkinga bout the trips etc. There is only so much you can take of talking of how Andy Reid should be in the squad etc. I know its the craic and the memories that I will always remember from the trips rather than the tactics etc although the results and the craic and tactics are part of the same thing.
    Thats an interesting point you have touched on there. I reckon a lot of people just go on trips for the sake of going away on a buzz up etc. The match is of second importance, in fact I have found htat there are two types:

Those that go for hte **** up and the craic, sing-songs in the pub etc
    Those that use the away trip as an excuse for a holiday to go to somewhere they may not have been before(with or without the significant other) and do sightseeing etc.

Ive still really to meet a person that just solely goes for the game and cheering on the Boys In Green solely*.

*Ive never met gspain

I have Paul and he is better craic than you.
    In Trap we trust

Is this a seikh, hindu or muslim wedding or something....

I have Paul and he is better craic than you.
    No one, is better craic than me

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Is this a seikh, hindu or muslim wedding or something....
    No a ginger one.
    In Trap we trust

You're not ginger though Neil?!