Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Sheringham calls Townsend a "fake Irishman"!

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    He doesn't travel on that Irish passport though.
    Do you work in passport control or something?

65 Posts
    Townsend was a fantastic player for Ireland, I dont think he was keeping any Irish Born player out of the side. I often listen to his morning show on talksport and he always refers to England as "us & "we", I dont have a problem with that in the slightest. He certainly rode the plastic paddy wave during the 90's along with a host of others but he always gave 100% when he lined out for Ireland.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Yeah, Townsend played for Ireland. I've never heard him express, or imply any sort of affinity with Ireland either. Personally I wouldn't consider him Irish, and I doubt he considers himself Irish either.
    I have. Definately.... Off the top of my head he reminded Gabby Logan after the 2 all away draw with Holland and she cited it was a bad weekend for them all after the England result, and he reminded her it was a good weekend for him...

Could do with him now...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

82 Posts
    I remember once there was a minutes silence when he went back to Stamford Bridge with Villa for a televised Match... Nearly sure it was Sat afternoon on Network 2... Impecably observed until someone very audibly shouts

"TOWNSEND YOU W@***R"....

Hilarious... It was probbly Ronnie Whelan now that I see some posts here!!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

130 Posts
    Townsend openly admits that when he was on holidays during Euro 88 in some remote part of Spain he cycled to the nearest bar to cheer on England against us and was gutted when we beat them. Doesn't change the fact that once selected he represented the country with pride, was 100% committed and handled himself as captian with class dignity (apart from the blonde highlights in 94). He's a dreadful pundit but is less of a plastic paddy then Lawrenson for me.

And Teddy Sheringham has always been a tosser of the highest order.

49 Posts
    lads townsend is english. he played for us but hes english. obvisouly id prefer if we had 100 per cent irish players all the time but thats not the case. i dont look at them the same as the irish players tho. even tho mcgeady i really like given all the stick hes taken he never reacted and always wanted to play for us. personally if i was manager i wouldnt go looking for any of these players with irish connections.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Yeah he is def English..........but not such a big deal really.........he did the business on the pitch................its just a pity he is an awful pundit and a bit of an airhead

Sheringham and Townsend are actually the best of buddies lads. Both can always be spotted at the Walthamstow dog track with a few other former players like Terry Fenwick, Terry Hurlock etc......

I'm sure there was nothing in Sheringhams remark and twas nothing more than a wind-up.

Someone mentioned that Sheri was a bit of a tosser and I'd agree with that. Another of you mentioned that Townsend may be English but he did the business on the park for us and I'd also agree with that.
    RamblersWeb

Cricket: The most boring farcical game to ever grace the planet.

so Dodge doesn't work in passport control, is that the point of this thread?!

I doubt he is seen with him at walthamstow dogs to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Townsend openly admits that when he was on holidays during Euro 88 in some remote part of Spain he cycled to the nearest bar to cheer on England against us and was gutted when we beat them. Doesn't change the fact that once selected he represented the country with pride, was 100% committed and handled himself as captian with class dignity (apart from the blonde highlights in 94). He's a dreadful pundit but is less of a plastic paddy then Lawrenson for me.

And Teddy Sheringham has always been a tosser of the highest order.
    Lawrenson always says we when talking about Ireland.....to understate his contribution to Irish soccer is amazing...he declared for us when we used to qualify for nothing....townsend declared when we had had success with Jack
    Bring back the plank

I doubt he is seen with him at walthamstow dogs to be honest
    And why would you say that?
    RamblersWeb

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by luka View Post
    isnt it closed down? Top stop it was too, rough and edgy!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    lads townsend is english. he played for us but hes english. obvisouly id prefer if we had 100 per cent irish players all the time but thats not the case. i dont look at them the same as the irish players tho. even tho mcgeady i really like given all the stick hes taken he never reacted and always wanted to play for us. personally if i was manager i wouldnt go looking for any of these players with irish connections.
    Das ist gut. You must have Aryan blut zu play for Irlandski. Sieg heil. Only 100% blut vill qualify. Ve don't vant mischlings (i.e. contaminated blut) despite the fact that millions of Irelanskis had to emigrate to feed their families. Only 100%. Hohren Sie mir. No contaminated blut!! Nein nein nein. Niemals. Never, never. A blut test for all who vant to play for uns. Dat's vat I say.

Sieg heil.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    isnt it closed down? Top stop it was too, rough and edgy!
    Ah!! Thanks Bennecelt. I wasn't aware of that. Twould have been easier if yer man had stated that in the first place. Anyway, 'when it was open' those two were always be seen there, at least in my day they were anyway.
    RamblersWeb

Nothing rough and edgy about it benno, its a bit of east london but if you want to see rough and edgy head to The Red Lion down at bermondsey on Millwall match day and you will get edgy, if thats what you want. Add to that yer not drinking and fellas with bulldog tatooed into the sides of their heads and you in an irish accent, and all of a sudden it becomes rough and ready as oppossed to edgy.....

Yes the dogs have been closed for ages now, so i doubt they would be down there together.

Quote Originally Posted by luka View Post

No such event,it closed down over a year ago.Anyway i loved Townsend as a player and never heard him refer to England as ''us'' unlike lawrenson. Townsend even said last night that he hoped that 'we' ireland made it through the play-offs.

245 Posts
    Sons and grandsons of immigrants will have mixed loyalties.

Townsend was born and raised in England, and is an Englishman, but it is clear that he also loves Ireland, and wants us to do well. By law he is an Irishman, and has represented us well.

Is it beyond comprehension that one can be both English AND Irish?

1,916 Posts
    Some Irish take a Teddy Sheringham wind up, seriously

My sense of national self esteem has taken another battering

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Nothing rough and edgy about it benno, its a bit of east london but if you want to see rough and edgy head to The Red Lion down at bermondsey on Millwall match day and you will get edgy, if thats what you want. Add to that yer not drinking and fellas with bulldog tatooed into the sides of their heads and you in an irish accent, and all of a sudden it becomes rough and ready as oppossed to edgy.....
    ah it was when i was there........
    by the way.........i dont live too far from Bermondsey but jesus i have more sense to drink there on match days - but my brother used to a lot and never had any probs............you might be surprised that a good few of them have Irish relations!!!!

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Is it beyond comprehension that one can be both English AND Irish?
    The definitive line on the matter from a man who has a few...
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast