Thread: Did anyone hear ....... ?

144 Posts

Did anyone hear ....... ?

the rumour that Dolan and his best pal Wallace are allegedly buying the club and keeping Lennox as chairman.

Obviously I don't know if there is any truth in this or not but I felt I had to share it with all of you.

Where did you hear that rumour?

The Mill ?????

could be good if it was in conjunction WITH lennox. hes been good for the club so far & willing to invest.

Didnt he try going down this path at St Pats?

Bad idea. He is the manager, he shouldnt be trying to do everything. Lennox seems to be doing a bang up job at the mo, so if it int broke...........
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

No has to be a seperation of duties, bad Idea Dolan would spend if he could Lennox keeps him on budget. Lennox has brought the club forward leaps and bounds and I don't think he would sell.
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

If someone offers Lennox enough money, then why wouldn't he sell? Everyone has a price.

Agree with Gary that it's not a good idea. Can't have a manager gaining that much power. The chairman has to have the power to say no. Otherwise we'll be broke in a few years. Champions League, then bust, just like Leeds Utd.

Originally posted by Gary
    Didnt he try going down this path at St Pats? Bad idea.
    Exactly Gary.
    Dolan enjoyed great success with St.Pat's but in the end the fans, players and the club in general turned against him. To be fair, they had good reason, despite our usual (and at this stage boring) cries of jealousy.
    Registration fiascos, the long ball game and his column were a source of great amusement to Cork Fans before we applauded his arrival.
    IMO the main reason for the fall off in relations in Inchicore is because the St.Pat's board indulged his whims too easily. Every single year the comings and goings of Pats squad was excessive as he bought and sold as though playing monopoly.
    My one concern on Dolan's appointment at city was that the experience the Pat's fans suffered would be repeated in Cork. The saving grace, as I've always said on topics about Dolan's past, is that Brian Lennox is a very strong personality, with a love for the club and a good business brain.
    If Lennox, the only controlling influence over Dolan (let's face it, the remaining members of our board have shown their shortcomings on numerous occasions) was to sell up to Wallace, a good mate of Dolan, it would be disastrous for city.
    Don't get me wrong, Pat is and has been fantastic for City thus far, but he needs a strong chairman to draw the line for him. Was Pat to start sticking his finger in all aspects of City's business in the way he ended his career at Richmond Park, it would be to City's detriment.
    Let Wallace invest by all means, but Lennox must retain the Chairmans Seat (and responsibility).

To be fair xtreme, Id imagine there are alot more club chairmen worldwide who know less than f all about football, so that argument wouldnt really stand up.

Fact is (i hope) that Lennox aint selling up. If Dolan and wallace did manage to buy the club, Id imagine we would be ruined. Imagine all that hair at a press conference!
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

wasnt he the same guy who wanted to buy pats when dolan was there,obviously knew there was money problems there, but then didnt cause dolan left.he sponsered the shorts last year didnt he.wouldnt be surprised to see it happening in the future-it could be good,someone with money investing a lot in the club!!! city could be the chelsea of the EL

Originally posted by jimmity
    city could be the chelsea of the EL
    we already were since last season, won nothing and coming in third in the league without troubling the top two.

although i'd sign Duff if we could

Lads just for the record for those who don't know who wallace is.....he is a huge football fan...he travels to all Irelands away games and is always up for the crack and mingles with the fans from start of a trip to finish.(he is often seeing with the women in lingerie t shirt). You would often see him in dublin getting stuck in when a job is been done not afraid to get his hands dirty

His building firms logo is a football with "work hard play hard " on it

He is a genuine guy and if he came on board woth lennox it would be positive as he is a fan and knows what fans want

I'd be more worried about Dolan having to much power and say than either lennox or wallace
    Bring back the plank

Originally posted by tiktok
    IMO the main reason for the fall off in relations in Inchicore is because the St.Pat's board indulged his whims too easily.
    absolutely spot on there. I wouldn't mind Wallace coming on board and investing money, say as a director, but I think Lennox is the man to lead the club and I don't want Dolan having too much of a say.

A team's manager should concern himself with what goes on on the pitch. Pat already has his hand in too much off the pitch. Brian is doing a great job and it would not be a good thing if he sold it to the two guys.

has anyone though that it could be a good thing if wallace bought city.invest more money in the club.everyone seems to be saying it would be a bad thing!!!!
    i wonder did chelsea fans say the same thing!!! and look at them now

can I just applaud Cork fans for a sensible thread on Pat Dolan?

Tiktok, fair play!

dodge would you have welcomed wallace's bid last year?

There was no Wallace bid.

I've talked to him and he's a sound bloke. Still goes regularly to Pats games.

Another reason why Dolan was outed at Pats was hta he wanted Wallace to come on board in the football sense and the new chairman said no.

His reasoning being that being involved in schoolboy football in Weford does not mean you can cut it in a professional league.