Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Bohs 0-0 Rovers - Replay Tuesday

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    maybe it was just me but i thought kendrick was shocking, he was turned inside out far too many times. even fenlon could see he was the weak link as he put brennan on him in the second half. he gave camano so much extra work as was caught out far too often. camanos performance was an improvement and made some good challenges but i thought he was still dodgy and without peers he wouldnt be half the player. great to see brush put in a great display but from crosses still looks nervous. with peers and boco you have the making of an excellent back four. if we could hold onto them next year and get a signing or two next year could be great. all in all great support and great battling performance i think we have the beating of them on tuesday but we need to keep deegan shackled if to do so
    Harsh on Kendrick and extremely harsh on Camano. He looked wrecked after 20 minutes but got his second wind and hardly put a foot wrong throughout the game and looked assured and solid in my opinion. I know one swallow doesn't make a summer but he impressed me last night and should improve as he gets fitter. Doyle gave Kendrick great cover and is a quality signing. Ventre set the tone for us when he wouldn't give an inch to Ndo in the first few minutes and himself and O Grady stood their ground well. In all a great team performance and roll on tuesday night. I'd say the last thing Bohs wanted was another away tie to us.

cook changed us to 5 at the back for the last 10/15 mins and it worked well enough aswell

Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    Great night for Sligo Rovers Football Club.

Amazing support from the terraces, especially when you consider we are at the bottom of the table.
    The FaI should maybe take a second out to have a think about this,
    they bust their ass trying to promote the league in Dublin, Cork etc with the mentality we need this and that team in the league, b0ll0x.
    We had approx 300 fans travel 200 miles on a friday, many of whom took half days from work at their own expense to follow their club (game on tv also). if they want the league to grow they should look to the traditional heartlands of football such as Dundalk and Sligo and try and help clubs like this rather than waste their resources on the so called big clubs.

Rant over

At the end of the game as the players were walking off and as Peers was being interviewed, Boco came back on his own to salute the fans, I think a lot of people missed it as they were loking towards the interview. Nice touch by the man. One thing i'll say about Boco aside from his footballing ability,
    the guy is a Gentleman
    300 fans! Wow, Sligo really is the heartland of football

Cookie went mental on the sidelines and starting shaking the 4th official while shouting at the ref/players, no idea why .
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    300 fans! Wow, Sligo really is the heartland of football
    Idiot .

Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    Great night for Sligo Rovers Football Club.

Amazing support from the terraces, especially when you consider we are at the bottom of the table.
    The FaI should maybe take a second out to have a think about this,
    they bust their ass trying to promote the league in Dublin, Cork etc with the mentality we need this and that team in the league, b0ll0x.
    We had approx 300 fans travel 200 miles on a friday, many of whom took half days from work at their own expense to follow their club (game on tv also). if they want the league to grow they should look to the traditional heartlands of football such as Dundalk and Sligo and try and help clubs like this rather than waste their resources on the so called big clubs.

Rant over

At the end of the game as the players were walking off and as Peers was being interviewed, Boco came back on his own to salute the fans, I think a lot of people missed it as they were loking towards the interview. Nice touch by the man. One thing i'll say about Boco aside from his footballing ability,
    the guy is a Gentleman
    I couldn't agree more, a good few times the lads wer elouder than the Bohs support,and thats only 300 supporters being louder than them The FAI should also look at the attendances at our games, even in our position in the table, we still manage to attract some of the biggest crowds on matchnight. Our replay on teusday, and i'm very confident, that we'll see a great example of how this town come sout in force to cheer on the lads and for those who arent regulars but wached on TG4, the way they playe dmight encourage some people to come out. The lads who travelled up should be proud of themselves, ye've been great all season may it be songs,banners or fundraisers, ye are one of the prime reasons this club is being kept alive, and its amazing how an away crowd who travelled 3 and half hours out sang the bohs crowd and gave a fine rendition of stand up for the Bit O' Red . Roll on teusday! Alan Keane returning just makes it all the more exciting.
    Coleman for Ireland

On the telly Rovers were far louder than Bohs.

Question

Lads, any idea where I could get to see the game online today? Don't think its on the tg4 website.

it used to go up on ther website before. not sure if they still do, maybe later on

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Lads, any idea where I could get to see the game online today? Don't think its on the tg4 website.
    On their website, under TV beo, then Sport beo. I watched a bit of it this morning.

@ carrick fan i was behind kendrick too for second half and myself and friend were discussing with alan cawley how poor kendrick was playing and he had the same view. not saying we are right and your wrong but its just our view. i defended kendrick here before just thought he had a bad game and also with fenlon switching brennan to right shows just how good boco is at defending as brennan got no change out of him.

Kendrick has been blowing hot and cold since arriving as he has had great games which is why like you, me and everyone here has defended him for. But other nights hes been a passenger, anyone know how long he had been away from playing football before joining us ?

I'd like to mention the sudden turn around in Camano and Cash. Now i'm not saying they did everything absolutly brilliantly last night, but Camano showed hes not a flop, he just needs to perform like that every game and we know hw has it in him, personally I myself was a bit harsh on him but I say let him get to full fitness as he does have it in him to succeed here. Cash in recent weeks has surprised me, he lost the ball once or twice last night but tends to redeem himself with great tackles shortly after. He also has been delivering dangerous crosses since his turnaround in form a few weeks and that is the Brian Cash we only got a few games out of in 2006! I hope Brian dosen't slump back into his old form but hopefully he realises now that he has to take on defenders as Coleman really did that for him while he was here. Peers is god .
    Coleman for Ireland

well done lads on a cracking performance.. It was an awful pity that ye were in the stand behind the goals but I had no problem hearing ye on the telly! best of luck in the replay!

Smile

just after watching the whole game again on sports beo. we competed well in the first half and rode our luck at times in the 2nd half. however i have to say that every player gave their all and being able to watch it in a more relaxed mode i was very impressrd with the performance of camano. he may be a bit slow on a ball played over the top but he got some very good headers & interceptions in. even the commentators said that peers brush & camano were excellent. paul cooks interview was very interesting afterwards as he said that bohs will be very hard beat but if the sligo public get behid the team we may cause them a few problems. i was very imppressed with bohs , they move the ball very well and are extremely fit. we can do it on tuesday but we will need all the team to play heroically and of course have a bit of luck. lads get the word out we need a big crowd at this game on tuesday night . i think some people might feel that now we have the game here the work is done. this is very dangerous the crowd need to back the team from the start not sit and wait for things to happen. its likely that we will have the prawn sandwich brigade at the game on tuesday night (_the ones that give out but never encourage the team) i think all yee forza lads will have to get things going from the start.

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    just after watching the whole game again on sports beo. we competed well in the first half and rode our luck at times in the 2nd half. however i have to say that every player gave their all and being able to watch it in a more relaxed mode i was very impressrd with the performance of camano. he may be a bit slow on a ball played over the top but he got some very good headers & interceptions in. even the commentators said that peers brush & camano were excellent. paul cooks interview was very interesting afterwards as he said that bohs will be very hard beat but if the sligo public get behid the team we may cause them a few problems. i was very imppressed with bohs , they move the ball very well and are extremely fit. we can do it on tuesday but we will need all the team to play heroically and of course have a bit of luck. lads get the word out we need a big crowd at this game on tuesday night . i think some people might feel that now we have the game here the work is done. this is very dangerous the crowd need to back the team from the start not sit and wait for things to happen. its likely that we will have the prawn sandwich brigade at the game on tuesday night (_the ones that give out but never encourage the team) i think all yee forza lads will have to get things going from the start.
    Cocks out for the bit o'red so.

21 Posts
    Kenderick just doesnt have the pace and for the first 10-15 minutes of the second half he was getting a right roasting due to Rovers being pushed further up the field. Big pitch at Dalymount definetely didnt suit him.

fair play..thats football..its all about opinions..in general i've been happy enough with Kendrick since he came..not ALWAYS but most of the time..better than Holmes imo anyway..Hopefully we'll see Butler back playing there again shortly..

well done lads on a cracking performance.. It was an awful pity that ye were in the stand behind the goals but I had no problem hearing ye on the telly! best of luck in the replay!

Cheers Martinho and the same to ye..went to the Flansiro 2nite aswell and enjoyed the match..ye held yer own and Lynch could have nicked it at the end..was good to see 3 ex Rovers on the pitch

Smile

what was the crowd in longford?

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    what was the crowd in longford?

not great..was at it with a mate whos a regular there and he said it was no more than a regular league game..a couple of hundred.

81 Posts
    A lot more than a normal league game! Everyone seemed happy! Over 1,000 anyway.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast