apparantly the commentators on setanta were giving duffy an awful time of it! bit harsh to be going so hard on a 16 year old.
he also set up Ryans goal and created a couple of good chances for himself. He does lack pace but he has a good head on his shoulders and is a big presence up front. Even if he was only used from the bench, i think he has the quality to cause most defences headaches. Morrison nearly scored a peach too when he tried to chip the keeper from a long way out. He has great vision and I would love to see him tried out in a central midfield role.
apparantly the commentators on setanta were giving duffy an awful time of it! bit harsh to be going so hard on a 16 year old.
I watched the first 10 minutes of the game in Mooneys yesterday and the guy who comentates on Setanta is an absolute simpletin.
Duffy got booked in the first minute and yer man goes off on one, he kind of set the tone.
i thought Duffy started shakky but he settled quite well after that.
Very good performance for a 21 year old never mind a 16 year old, he should be proud of himself.
At the All Ireland yesterday. Sclingermann made one great save. He won the semi final for Mayo with 5 great saves. Deligted to learn he's our A keeper. That guys a seriously good shot stopper.
Heard Setanta pay a figure of about 4 or 5K to the home team when they show a live match. Anybody know?
Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!
Eh no, Kevin Long, Dan Murray and Cillian Lordan have started almost all our games of late.
Greg getting injured and Doolins ridiculous decision to put Gamble right back killed us along with the eqully ridiculous decisions of starting O Donnell and Siligailis all the time.
Poor performance, poor game but a draw was fair enough. Long trip to watch that though
At least we have a good squad now compared to earlier in the season and this should help us in the run in to the season. Financial situation seems not to have disimproved but we need to get out to the matches and keep the fund raisers happy as they have done a top class job. Some exciting games ahead and especially the one coming up at the end of the week.
lordan played though so you cant say ye were missing him....
I see Cliftonville who Sligo play in the Setanta Cup had a good 4 nil win over Linfield tonight. Seem to be a young skillful enough team.
i watched the second half. linfield were terrible. ground looks poor and the pitch is very poor aswell. looks very heavy. they look to be an okay side, 2 or 3 decent players. dogged enough team by the looks of things
Couldnt make game so watched it on tv and have to say yer man was one of the worst commentators I have ever heard. His treatment of Duffy was nothing short of a disgrace, also made numerous mistakes, getting players mixed up etc. I must apologise to TV3 as I always said they were the worst ever but setanta made a great effort to take their crown.