the truth is last nights results is only a good one if we get something out of fri game.hope we push on from here and not a false dawn like the pats game
. well dont to the lads last night keep it up
Get the feeling Bohs wont make the same mistake again in the cup, not that it matters now.
Have to get a result in Drogheda, I know people were disappointed about Galway winning but at least now we have a little gap from Bray and Friday's game is massive.
Last edited by Rory H; 02/09/2009 at 10:20 AM.
the truth is last nights results is only a good one if we get something out of fri game.hope we push on from here and not a false dawn like the pats game
. well dont to the lads last night keep it up
I would have though most people know that any form of abuse of fans, officials and/or players in any form at LOI grounds is absolutely condemed by the FAI and stated in the ground regulations for attendances at matches posted in match programmes.
I would have thought accusing someone of being a Nazi falls into that category.
Will the offenders offer to pay the ban if Rovers are fined??!!
People should just drop the McGuiness thing and move on, its like the Sean Conor obsession - Get over it.
McGuiness got his punishment who cares what happens to him after that.
As a Rovers fan what I am more concerned about is some fans behaviour such as Taunting an elderly man in his 80's at the recent Bray away game and signing the McGuiness song at the Bohs away league game (we lost 2-0) where there was a Boys U-12 team guest of Bohs on the other side of the gangway to Rovers fans as well as the coin throwing incident at the League Cup Semi Final all leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.
Some people need to grow up and cop on.
'taunting' an old man in bray? go way and get a sense of humour.
Could anybody make out what the Bohs were chanting at Cookie last night, I couldn't make it out myself!
"Overwhelmed"
Extratime saying attendance was only 1004! it was surely around 1500-1800 region ?
Coleman for Ireland
bohs fans were singing something along the lines of 'paul cook throws the game'
the mcguinness thing seemed to unsettle him, although maybe it was just coincidence he played poorly. awful error for the penalty and a couple of other things too. he was only good in the air, anything on the ground he was dodgy
Do you really think players and officials haven't been "abused" for years and will continue to be for years to come? It's a banner, get over it. It was done to unsettle the fella and to show him how we felt about it, and it succeded. It was tongue in cheek.
Some people need to grow up and cop on?? Nah thanks. Its a bit of craic, not the end of the world.
Last edited by MMVIII; 02/09/2009 at 5:24 PM.
Was Fenlon complaining to the officials at the start about the banner?? He seem annoyed about something...as usual!!
Personally I taught it was brilliant, pure genius from forza. Well done to all invloved with it.
Don't think theres much hope of us escaping a fine for it tho, the FAI could do with the income.
I was looking at him before the game and he looked very uncomfortable, good chance it got to him as it was his mistake that lead to the penalty.
Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 02/09/2009 at 5:23 PM.
To be honest, I don't think we will. Drogs group, the Famous 45, had another one of these "offensive banners" against Dundalk. "The positive side of diarrohea". And an image of a Drogs fan ****ting on a Dundalk crest, and they weren't fined.
There was nothing wrong with that banner, nor with this one.
There are an awful lot of things classified under racist these days, without taking purely race into it. As you said, lets move on.
I looked at it and thought it was good, but when you read behind the lines, why use the word Nazi???
Made no sense....
Aren't people very forgiving about the whole Nazi comments. Don't seem so many to have been as forgiving about the comments from McGuinness. I think the 'song' is a joke as well. If people are all on for forgetting everyone and moving on maybe they should start looking at themselves first