Page 6 of 105 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast

Thread: The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Ah ok i understand. I take it your board gambled on keeping everything as it was, sometime back, instead of ringing the changes then when it was apparent they were needed.

It seems most clubs have gamblers at the helm but the problem is they actually are gambling with peoples livlihoods, all the while taking the fans and in certain cases the local (business) community for granted.
    Exactly HB.

We had a public meeting a few months ago where it was announcing that we were selling 500 season tickets for next season early. Questions from the floor about financial situation/revenue were not answered/dismissed.

Meanwhile we continuing merrily with overnight stays, pre match meals, ballsing up merchandise opportunities etc. But sure those of us who predicted this "‘sit back and say ‘I told you so’ with a certain amount of glee" apparently(the chairman's words, not mine)
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    But sure those of us who predicted this "‘sit back and say ‘I told you so’ with a certain amount of glee" apparently(the chairman's words, not mine)
    As is always the case. I remember at Shels there were a few who asked the akward questions and they were usually shouted down (i wish i could say i was one but sadly, i did tend to believe a lot of what Ollie said). I know it was much the same with Bohs, though it was possibly more a case of been out voted than shouted down with them.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

2,771 Posts
    As is always the case. I remember at Shels there were a few who asked the akward questions and they were usually shouted down (i wish i could say i was one but sadly, i did tend to believe a lot of what Ollie said). I know it was much the same with Bohs, though it was possibly more a case of been out voted than shouted down with them.
    out-shouting and then out-voting, in that order.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Oh thank God. Now, time to turn our collective attention to Dundalk fans - who's first to leave
    Have Galway even got enough fans to mount a boycott?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

48 Posts
    The Derry story is more or less what ORA and KevMaribor have always said.

The problem has been that our board have tried to keep up with certain other clubs and with the recession and the demise of our two main sponsors "not coming across with the agreed sponsorship" and now the Setanta home game with Linfield that probably would give us a £50k+ gate re-arranged until next season..........(March) ...........then you can see why we have the problems.

I'm seriously fecked off..unlike most Derry fans that at the first sign of the shít hitting the fan we have players fecking abandoning ship afet Derry never ever messing them about.

FFS ......................We are paying there Morgage's and the big fancy cars they are driving ....but with the first sign of trouble they might feck off to the SPL .

Good luck (NOT) and enjoy your time getting whipped in a two team league.

Signed a real L.O.I. fan.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    I'm seriously fecked off..unlike most Derry fans that at the first sign of the shít hitting the fan we have players fecking abandoning ship afet Derry never ever messing them about.

FFS ......................We are paying there Morgage's and the big fancy cars they are driving ....but with the first sign of trouble they might feck off to the SPL .

Good luck (NOT) and enjoy your time getting whipped in a two team league.

Signed a real L.O.I. fan
    I don't even know where to start. If I went into work today to be told I'd be getting 25% of my wages this month, I'd be out the door before they'd finished the sentence. Why should players martyr themselves and their families to be "real LOI fans?" You seem to have got confused between the Premiership and the LOI section.

Last post on this, cos the info is there for you -

and

The last is interesting, as you sniff at an amount you say today is not to be sniffed at.
    Just back from a weekend away.

As I suspected Stu, you were taking an uber-liberal interpretatioon of what I said. Or if I was being unkind, I'd say you were talking out of your aras.

E30K is a relatively small sum of money by Irish footballing standards - it was then and it is now. Not to be sniffed at - no sum is - but still relatively small. And those quotes say absolutely zero about you either predicting that City would end up in trouble or me "poo pooing" that notion.

Anyways - good to see the team battling for a late winner in Bray despite being out of pocket. Talk from the club is that this is a temporary short-fall - which seems to suggest that there is money on the horizon (UEFA 3rd round cash ? Setanta money ?) - but I'm not convinced myself. Big changes are needed to reign-in the club's expenditure, and hopefully that is happening now rather than when it's terminal.

P.S. Anyone want to buy a friendly against Scottish club Glasgow Celtic ?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    P.S. Anyone want to buy a friendly against Scottish club Glasgow Celtic ?
    After NAMA finish valuing all the toxic loans they can have a stab at valuing a toxic friendly...... Or possibly two toxic friendlies if McGinn's deal had a similar clause.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    After NAMA finish valuing all the toxic loans they can have a stab at valuing a toxic friendly...... Or possibly two toxic friendlies if McGinn's deal had a similar clause.
    True

As a complete aside - I read an article in the (London) Financial Times yesterday which said that the Irish government provides prize money for horse and greyhound racing ! Is this true ?!?

186 Posts
    Exactly HB.

We had a public meeting a few months ago where it was announcing that we were selling 500 season tickets for next season early. Questions from the floor about financial situation/revenue were not answered/dismissed.
    Hate these ideas, clubs just selling their future.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    After NAMA finish valuing all the toxic loans they can have a stab at valuing a toxic friendly......
    That'd be youse sorted for the foreseeable so....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    As a complete aside - I read an article in the (London) Financial Times yesterday which said that the Irish government provides prize money for horse and greyhound racing ! Is this true ?!?
    I'm gobsmacked this was news to anyone. They provide about half the prize money for the nags irrc.

Edit: Google throws up this article, by some bloke called Johnny Ward...

The state provides roughly half of the prize-money in Irish racing and this has fostered resentment among other sports' aficionados, but Bolger was eager to stress that much of this goes back into the economy.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/hors...s-1698967.html
    Last edited by Macy; 01/09/2009 at 1:21 PM.

812 Posts
    True

http://stigonline.com/misc/si_funding.htm
    You can't spell failure without FAI

427 Posts
    Ah ok i understand. I take it your board gambled on keeping everything as it was, sometime back, instead of ringing the changes then when it was apparent they were needed.

It seems most clubs have gamblers at the helm but the problem is they actually are gambling with peoples livlihoods, all the while taking the fans and in certain cases the local (business) community for granted.
    Sounds like most boards alright. With so many players out of contract and just about every club needing to cut back on costs there will NEVER be a better time to bring down wage costs.
    the fact remains it is not down to the FAI, Licencing or anyone other than the clubs themselves to get their house in order. one last chance 9or one last role of the dice)

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I don't even know where to start. If I went into work today to be told I'd be getting 25% of my wages this month, I'd be out the door before they'd finished the sentence. Why should players martyr themselves and their families to be "real LOI fans?" You seem to have got confused between the Premiership and the LOI section.
    But if you were told you had to accept a large cut in wages or your job was gone ? I think players that wish to may leave in the case of clubs are renaging on contracts, the problem is leave to where ?

1,553 Posts
    It may be true that because so many players are out of contract that there is a great opportunity to reduce wages, but the same was true this year and the clubs still fecked themselves up.

89 Posts
    Anyways - good to see the team battling for a late winner in Bray despite being out of pocket. Talk from the club is that this is a temporary short-fall - which seems to suggest that there is money on the horizon (UEFA 3rd round cash ? Setanta money ?) - but I'm not convinced myself. Big changes are needed to reign-in the club's expenditure, and hopefully that is happening now rather than when it's terminal.
    Steve,

Your faith in the board is touching, albeit misplaced. I'm back as persona non grata for having the temerity to not treading the party line.

Steve,

Your faith in the board is touching, albeit misplaced. I'm back as persona non grata for having the temerity to not treading the party line.
    Kev - what faith in the board ??

I couldn't have been clearer when I said that "I'm not convinced".

If you're referring to the hope that cuts are being made - yes, I do hope they're being made. That's not to say that I have blind faith that the Board is doing them.
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 02/09/2009 at 9:30 AM.

1,553 Posts
    To add to their woes, I believe DCFC have a date in court on 23rd September over the money owed to Dungannon Swifts.

89 Posts
    Aye Mr A, initial hearing is that date.

89 Posts
    If you're referring to the hope that cuts are being made - yes, I do hope they're being made. That's not to say that I have blind faith that the Board is doing them.
    Steve,

As you well know, someone gave us a scarily accurate prediction of the financial meltdown at DCFC in August(I'll be asking him for the lotto number some weeks) whilst the board were telling everyone that we were grand and there was nothing to worry about.

Until we get an honest, open meeting where they will take and answer questions then we are no further forward. And the board are rapidly losing the hearts and minds of the support.

Page 6 of 105 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast