Thread: Tomorrow Night's Game

20 Posts

Tomorrow Night's Game

Will ye bring many to the game tomorrow night. I'm really looking forward to the game. What is ye're injury/suspension situation ?

33 Posts
    They'll be a few at it alright. What is considered the Main Stand at Waterford now and where do some of the away fans go.

Robbie Creevy, broken leg, is long term injury.
    Chris Mulhall may miss this game I havn't seen an up-to-date list.
    I understand Ronan Finn will return from suspension.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    They'll be a few at it alright. What is considered the Main Stand at Waterford now and where do some of the away fans go.

Robbie Creevy, broken leg, is long term injury.
    Chris Mulhall may miss this game I havn't seen an up-to-date list.
    I understand Ronan Finn will return from suspension.
    Creevy has a torn quad unless he's done something else to himself in the meantime. Harding is still out and Shortall and Reilly are doubts. Finn and Mulhall are back, there was nothing about extra games for Mulhall in this week's suspension list.

20 Posts
    Cheers schumi

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Sadly the concept of a main stand is somewhat moot at the moment, as you will see if you're coming down.
    Away fans still tend to congregate in block A of the old stand, which is the block at the extreme right side as you look out from it.
    Not sure if you were down before, but the old stand is the one nearest the main (original) gate, and the one on the right if you're going in by the new turnstiles opposite PC World.
    Last edited by stann; 21/08/2009 at 5:30 PM.
    more bass

33 Posts
    UCD: Brennan, Mattews (Leahy), Boyle, Evan McMillan, Nangle, Bolger, Ward (David McMillan), Finn, Mulhall, Kilduff, McMahon.

Terrific performance. Created chances right throughout the game. Our forward running from Ronan Finn, Keith Ward, Peter McMahon, Ciaran Kilduff and Chris Mulhall was very good and the strikes on target by Finn and Mulhall were excellent. Like, UCD were both shooting and hitting the target.
    Yet Waterford had a glourious chance around the two minute mark, Grant cut inside on the edge of the box sent a looping cross over to two forwards on the back post, Cummins was one of them, ball is scooped up behind Brennan and either hits the post or Brennan reaches back to prevent a goal and then the ball is cleared.
    Finn was hitting shots from long range that had Devine stretching one-handed to turn the ball round the post. With that drifting, drizzling rain stuff there was alot of surface water and some of the players found it hard to keep their footing.
    Mulhall chased back to win the ball on the touchline went past at least one Waterford player and hit a shot that had devine again turning the ball around the post.
    At the other end Evan McMillan was keeping Cummins quiet by getting afoot to the ball before the striker.
    Best 45 minutes I seen us play since the last time we played like that.
    Second half and we still had long periods of possesion but Waterford were winning some set pieces. Greg Bolger went in from behind on a Waterford player and got a straight red, Chris Mulhall was the most indignant about it and got booked. There was certainly no malice, but rules are rules.

'Rusty' took off Ward and put on Evan's brother David McMillan and while UCD conceded territory they still threathened through Finn and McMahon breaking forward. United had a few chances one hitting the top of the netting and their corners were starting to cause UCD problems again, after the Semi-Final. With one cross that hit the post and was scrambled clear. This caused a delay as the netting was repaired around the goal.
    Before UCD's goal there was another chance for College when a ball was fired across the box and Kilduff and McMahon just missed it. For the goal McMahon passed to McMillan and inside the six-yard box he skipped passed one challenge. feinted to sell Devine and put the ball the other side of him.
    "No more than we desired" was one comment from UCD fan(s).

Waterford came back at us, Russell put Michael Leahy on for Matthews. In the opinion of another fan "'cos Leahy's a better header of the ball". Lots of scrambled efforts from Waterford with Brennan being brave and catching under severe pressure and stretching to half-punch clear. Yes leahy did some housekeeping with his head. Waterford could have scored , they are at home. But through the game UCD were the better team.

I got a chance to spend time in both stands and the RSC is looking great. Neat, tidy and both stands don't have any clutter with unneccessary signage or railings. Special mention to the Waterford fans, after the game, who were very appreciative andf complimentary of the UCD side and considered the team the best side Waterford has played this year.

Of the teams that get promoted this year I hope it's Waterford and Sporting Fingal and of course U....... damnnit!
    Last edited by HarpoJoyce; 23/08/2009 at 12:04 PM. Reason: spellings and making with Grammar
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

I didn't see a yellow card issued to Mulhall after the sending-off. Are you sure about that? From my records Finn got booked earlier in the game, but no other yellow issued.
    'And Crouch must score'

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    I didn't see a yellow card issued to Mulhall after the sending-off. Are you sure about that? From my records Finn got booked earlier in the game, but no other yellow issued.
    Yes, it was a good minute after the red was shown (before the free kick was taken). Chris didn't leave the ref. alone and the ref eventually whistled to call Mulhall to him and had to ask twice before Chris was in front of him to receive the card. All this took place on the 'New' Stand side.

And I didn't know Finn got booked. Start counting to four from now so.
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Best performance from any side i've seen this season in the first division this season. We had a bad night, UCD's tactics were spot on and deserved the win. Well done.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

115 Posts
    UCD's tactics were excellent alright, WJK and Biggles hardly got a look in all night, and Finn was so dominant in midfield that Bolger was hardly missed.
    We were poor, though we did have a few sporadic chances, and Brennan made some excellent saves, from Kiely in the 2nd minute, from Carey at his near post in the second half, and from Murray right at the end I think. And we hit the upright from the corner of course.
    But even a point would have been robbery. Best performance by an away side I've seen in a long time at the RSC.
    All the College lads played well on the night, and ye have some great players, but Finn is a real footballer, an absolute joy to watch when he's in that kind of form.

Finn was booked alright Harpo, early second half before the red card. And to be honest he was lucky 'cos he should have been booked in the first half, his lunge at Kearney was worse than Bolger's, IMO. But it would have been a shame if he had walked. And tempting as it is, we'll not use it as an excuse!
    Oh, and by the way, you're being very generous to Stephen Grant in your description of the first chance! It was definitely a shot, not a cross, that Kiely (for it was he) reacted to, so poorly struck that it would have went for a throw I think. Kiely swung a leg at it as he was on the ground, and we were pretty sure Brennan got a hand to it, very good save.
    Last edited by stann; 23/08/2009 at 11:24 PM.
    more bass

33 Posts
    If I remember correctly, Finn's challenge in the first half. He ran through a Waterford player that was stretching in winning the ball. Finn is going to single-handily blow our Fair Play chances.

I hadn't thought about that of Stephen Grant before. At the time, I was behind Grant in the 'Old' Stand and the fact his effort dropped on the toes of two unmarked forwards, for me 'Cross'.

I think Waterford's fire power will keep them challenging to the end. And they'll benefit from the Cup Final and FAI Cup matches they'll play. Their belief will be that much better than UCD or Shelbourne's at least.
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

So Bolger and Mulhall should miss matches over the coming weeks? Anyone else due a suspension?
    Last edited by DeNiro; 24/08/2009 at 3:40 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake
    'And Crouch must score'

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    So Bolger and Mulhall should miss matches over the coming weeks? Anyone else due a suspension?
    Mulhall's sending off was odd. Having looked at the video a good few times, I still don't know what he did. I don't think red cards necessarily mean extra games suspended so he might just get the game he's already served. Hopefully anyway.

3,488 Posts
    Yay!

Is this the most red cards we've ever had in one season? Bit worrying really. But surprised at the win, even before I knew we had a player sent off.

Any ideas on how we can make home games feel like away games? Can I suggest a relatively low UCD turnout accompanied by an opposition turnout which thinks it's more numerous than it is? Oh, wait...