Thread: our squad???

our squad???

im worried. where are we going to get players of sweeneys character to fill the gaps.
    Healy, Fyffe,
    O´Mahony, Kerley, Finucane, Purcell, Molam.
    Sugrue, Hughes, Heffernan,
    McCarthy =11 now thats sad.
    and thats if they sign with us again oh and no under 21s
    Maybe McCauley and Shine but i dunno
    oh greatings from a sunny Madrid
    Last edited by gael353; 06/02/2004 at 6:37 PM.

Re: our squad???

Originally posted by gael353
    im worried. where are we going to get players of sweeneys character to fill the gaps.
    Healy, Fyffe,
    O´Mahony, Kerley, Finucane, Purcell, Molam.
    Sugrue, Hughes, Heffernan,
    McCarthy =11 now thats sad.
    and thats if they sign with us again oh and no under 21s
    Maybe McCauley and Shine but i dunno
    oh greatings from a sunny Madrid
    It's now looking like...

Healy, Fyffe
    O'Mahony, Kerly, Finucane, Molan
    Sugrue, J.Whyte, Hughes (who apparently hasn't signed yet either)
    McCarthy

That's 10 fairly definate players and probably 11 because I remember somebody saying that John Shine will probably get another chance.

Thumbs down

I am sorry lads but with a team like that we may as well give up now!!!

This is now getting beyond a joke, heard today the Colm is gone...

look is there anyone in this club interested in going up a division ???...For all officials lurking & reading this GET THE F***ing FINGER OUT and SIGN SOME PLAYERS or else we may as well give up. We are sick of putting up with this stuff every year. There is no ambition at all at this club and to quote Lims Fan...we are so small time it's unbelievable

The only people with ambition are the Supporters once again

Re: Re: our squad???

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    It's now looking like...

Healy, Fyffe
    O'Mahony, Kerly, Finucane, Molan
    Sugrue, J.Whyte, Hughes (who apparently hasn't signed yet either)
    McCarthy

That's 10 fairly definate players and probably 11 because I remember somebody saying that John Shine will probably get another chance.
    I apologise. I forgot Rossie (Cosgrave for anybody who arrived late last season). That's 11 players. 12 if Shine comes back and a whopping 13 if Paddy Purcell is staying.

Maybe we should invest money in sh itloads of cotton wool as well, so that we can wrap the players up in it to avoid injury. No wonder we keep winning the fair play league - the lads are probably told not to tackle anyone for fear of getting injured.

You have to laugh - otherwise you'd cry.

Will the last player out please turn off the lights.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Michael O'Sullivan was on Live95 on saturday morning, saying how things are beginning to settle down at the club and about looking to the future. Obviously a load of rubbish if all of the above is true. He also said the reason he returned as chairman was because lots of '"soccer people" in the city approached him to return. Who are these phantom "soccer people" and where are they when Limerick are playing at home in the Pike?

You are so smalltime lads!!!

Have faith! Our Commercial manager has big plans!

Seriously though, this is where he will make (or more likely break..) the club. It is his job to get money for Mike Kerley to pay for players. Does anyone know how much he is giving Kerley t work with?

I am not surprised with this development - it was clear to everone that wew were going to end up in this situation because these clowns want to get the thirty grand they claim to have put into the club and have been to busy looking after themselves.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Rumours of our new Yellow haired striker going to Cobh now!!. Ah sure we wont bother scoring any goals too complicated all this kicking off stuff

4 Players signed only ...maybe we can enter into this 5 a side competion SLK is talking about !!

JohnD

-------------------------------------
    4 green bottles hanging on the wall....
    3 green bottles....

i think this is a plan

I think this is what the present day bosses want to happen, all our quality players leave thus reduce the budget! So we'll be like 2001 league cup winning year (we also finished second last in the league* though)when some of our players were on 35 euro a week. Expext us to start with a load of unproven 17/18 year olds and finish last this year as Killkenny snap up our players.

*= the importent thing

Agreed...but if you look back to that particular season, at least we has no money, but a squad just about big enough to ensure we competed in every game.Our usual xi consisted of: Jimmy Fyffe; Eoin Poill, Paddy, Finny, and Frankie Browne;Twitch John Whyte, Brendy Hughes and Brian Donnellan; Ciaran Foley and Barry Ryan. Throw in Conor Molan,Anton Mannering, Oran Weldrick, Mike Heath, JP Stokes, Anthony Ryan, Joe Normoyle et al and at least we were able to show up. Reason: Noel O'Connor insisted on entering a team in the U21 League. Granted the 21's lost all bar 4 or 5 games that season but it gave us a backbone for selection purposes.

Heard from a reliable source that Heffernan is gone!!

this is a shambles . all these stories cant be through. Kerley wouldnt leave all his players leave like this. He hasnt spoken to the press yet i reckon he is lyin low and is gonna sign a few players from the junior football scene. he has noother choice. the fairview and janesboro players are out of reach with their fai runs. its a pity jason O connor {ex peterborough striker} and brian buckley would have been solid signings. can we loan in a few players . cork citys colin patrick o brien and denis behan would score regulary in division 1 if we could get em

Does this mean no one has offered for maho yet? have we signed anyone? Has kerley signed a new contract? Shoulk kerley not be scouting for lower league players in england for players to get on loan? maybe even ask big sam at bolton? I hear Jay Jay may be available!!

get real you idiot.

Apparently Derek McCarthy hasn't been approached by Cobh yet? Not formally anyway. And Paddy Purcell hasn't left yet either?

Thanks heavens for [SIZE=1]small[/SIZE] mercies!

obviously i was jokin bout JJ but have we signed anyone?

pat purcell played for us in 2 friendlys over the weekened but don is still negotiating with him apparently

http://www.sligorovers.com/news/news...tpats_bohs.htm

Purcell had a good game on Friday night, even if the Birdman looked uninterested. Can't remember Heffo during the game.
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.