Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Bray 2-2 Rovers

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    You do realise that you have to be inside the box to get a penalty?
    I would have said that he was eight yards out, ball came to him, Boco was wrong side and hauled him down.
    Sure we'll see it again on mns. Looked fair enough to me. Camano should have gotten his head to it in the first place.

Camano would make a good football version of an air guitarist.

Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey View Post
    Dissapointment on our side that we didn't get the three points aswell.Gifted you the 2nd goal and if Paul Byrne was fit I think we would have won it.
    Always liked Cretaro and thought he was a class act, but last night he constantly tried to get players booked, is this a part of his game or did he just do it last night? Trying to get players booked for nothing tackles isnt on and imo Sligo, and Cretaro in particular, seemed intent on that all night.
    Fair play to the lads who came down, made a lot of noise
    Was not at thew game but was reading the extratime match tracker and on their reports it said he took some horror tackles and a few times in mentioned the Bray players deserved their booking for tackles on him !!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Was not at thew game but was reading the extratime match tracker and on their reports it said he took some horror tackles and a few times in mentioned the Bray players deserved their booking for tackles on him !!
    From where I was it didn't look like that at all. It wasn't a dirty game by any means and he did seem to make a meal of a lot of tackles. Wasn't looking to have a go at Cretaro was more asking does he have a habit of this kind of thing or was it a once off occurance?
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey View Post
    From where I was it didn't look like that at all. It wasn't a dirty game by any means and he did seem to make a meal of a lot of tackles. Wasn't looking to have a go at Cretaro was more asking does he have a habit of this kind of thing or was it a once off occurance?
    Raf is an honest player tbh.
    He gets alot of abuse on the pitch because of his size, skill and pace and thus will get a free where its deserved.
    But I would never call him a cheat or purposely going out of his way to get players booked, just does what he has to with his stature.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    Raf is an honest player tbh.
    He gets alot of abuse on the pitch because of his size, skill and pace and thus will get a free where its deserved.
    But I would never call him a cheat or purposely going out of his way to get players booked, just does what he has to with his stature.
    Fair enough, thanks for clearing that up. Didn't think on previous occasions that I've seen him that he was that kind of player, which is why I gave him the benefit of the doubt and asked rather than coming on to abuse him
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

There was the incident where the Bray player went in shoulder first into his chest which led to the sending off. I know he rolled around a bit but it was definitely a yellow card and must have been painful. He's as honest as most Cretaro and he takes serious stick off defenders most games.
    He didn't look too impressed with our defending for the goals. Gave a few of them an earful and they deserved it.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Because you're a "true LoI fan"?

He's quite obviously saving up early for Oxygen next year.
    Coleman for Ireland

He'll never live that one down.

oops should have been 10 yards, not 19, obviously. :P

for the sending off, he absolutly pole axed peers and then raff made a dope out of him, knockin the ball by him and he just shouldered him in the chest. definate 2 yellows, first one could have been straight red

if ya cant beat the teams in and around ya when in a relegation it spells trouble. imo brush needs to be dropped he is gone way below par. his aerial ability is gone shocking and shop stopping not much better. he should not have been bet at his near post. how can defencers have confidence when brush wont come for a cross so its left to defenders every time and we are conceeding from it. only positive for me was all teams around us all got bet so we a point up really. oh its hard following the rovers but its an addiction and we be there every week regardless lol. morrison was shocking too and camano. thank god for raf and boco

Give me Morrison over someone like Sean Doherty any day of the week. For all his faults he has the ability to change a game with a bit of skill.

im morrison fan but he was woeful friday nite and should have been subbed but injury to peers restricted cook. worst part is how low our confidence looked at the back. brush looks like a startled deer and flaps like a humming bird when does come out. even kendrick looks hesident to cross the halfway line

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    im morrison fan but he was woeful friday nite and should have been subbed but injury to peers restricted cook. worst part is how low our confidence looked at the back. brush looks like a startled deer and flaps like a humming bird when does come out. even kendrick looks hesident to cross the halfway line
    Good summary I would go further and sack Morrison for breach of contract as the guy is seriously overweight for a "professional" and is obviously not looking after himself in Derry, we are in the middle of a dogfight and don't need passengers who strut around the pitch unwilling to track back because they can't run pointless playing him on the wing either if he is not mobile.

Camano wasn't at the races bad attitude when he was subbed needs to cop on was lucky to get away with a few blatent obstructions, badly need Peers back to shore up the defence there was a nice calm feeling for the 20 mins or so he was on the pitch we also miss him badly upfront as he seems to be only one able to attack the ball at setpieces , we had about 10 corners and frees in the second half and never looked like scoring from any of them also .

Still dissapointed that we blew the 3 points after 2 moments of magic from Raf but think we should have enough to stay up especially if we get Peers back.

What a dissapointment that was. All the talk pre-match was that we absolutely had to win and now we haven't everyone's trying to make excuses when the fact was that we just weren't good enough to win.
    That said we're not dead yet and we CAN turn it around.

Bring on the Bohs...

151 Posts
    One thing for sure, sink or swim, we need to part company with this manager at the end of the season.

dont think there is any manger currently in the league i would take tho so we would have to look abroad for a new manager. maybe bring back king seanie................... he would do as a tea lady !!!

think we need to give cookie a break tbh. up until the st pats game we had little or no squad, only 11 players plus ciaran kelly and maybe another sub. you cant do much about that, when you have so many injuries and suspensions. we have 33 points left to play for, and im confident we'll have enough in us to get away from the drop zone. we went around 10 games unbeaten at the end of last season and got to europe, albeit after cork and drogs were deducted points, but still a great achievment from cook and his squad last year. we'd be in a league cup final only for officials who robbed us in dalymount. we're in the 1/4 final of the cup aswell, and we have plenty of time left to get the wins we need to escape the drop. in a ten team league we were always going to be in or around the bottom 3 or 4 with out budget at the start of the season anyway. we wernt realistically going to be in the top 4.

give cooky a chance, he'll get us out of this situation

No matter what way we look at this “sink or swim” we are all in this together. Not one of us wants to go down or find ourselves in the dreaded play-off positions. But, unfortunately there has to be a but, on last Friday night’s performance the questions are there to be asked and the confidence factor in whither this squad are capable of pulling us out of this quagmire. Sadly on last Friday’s performance I’m of the opinion that we are not! From here on in all games have to be treated the same and that’s as if our lives depended on it and the point has to be driven home that yes our lives do depend on it. We have players presently that are not mentally up for it. These players need to be singled out, spoken to and if things don’t or won’t change then the approach has to be adopted that there’s no point playing them. If players are not loyal to the crest there’s no point in being loyal to the players. Last Friday night a blind man could have seen that we were at least one man short out there and as long as Cookie’s hole faces downwards that player will always be first on the team sheet. As long as this ‘loyalty’ persists we’re going nowhere other than down.

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!!
    Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me with a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).
    He kept saying after the trouble with Shams and the wall collapsing he wasn't letting in any drunkards!! I went mad as i had done nothing wrong only to travel down to the match all the way from sligo and have a couple of beers. He insisted I walk away, i refused rightfully, and he called the guards who demanded i walk away as well, i refused and was subsequently put in a cell for the night.
    I'm so annoyed right now its unreal. Can you imagine traveling down for that match, doing nothing wrong, and being put in a f*cking cell for the night??? I'm ringing that club tomorrow looking for answers as to who this John Fitzpatrick(event contoller) thinks he is.

As for the game..... well i cant actually comment on it as i was in bloody jail for the night!!!!

NOW RORYH/ROVERSFAN THATS WHY I DONT GO TO AWAY GAMES.
    Was buying my ticket when you were in lets say discussions with the Garda, never on a winner when it comes to that score so best just to walk away points of principals don't work with those lads.

What was the story with the brown paper bag you had ?

I have to back you up and say you did seem alot more sober than the lads in the stand as the singing was a bit more off key (some may say slurred but not me!!) than usual for the first 15 or 20 minutes, then the Westlife vocals came back!!!

If it is any comfort (I appreciate it wont be) when I was buying some grub from the Brazilian lads at the chipper at halftime the event controller was getting an earful from a young stewards mum for a comment he made to the young one for apparently "not doing your job probably", the young one was on the main gate beside the shipper/turnstiles and in floods of tears....

then the singing to the two decent stewards in front of the Rovers fans, baldy lad with a voice like a character from Killinaskully and a young one, "he's gonna score he's gonna score, the stewards gonna score.....then the young one roars "thats my bleedin DA!"........Jaysus it was like an episode of Eastenders last Friday!!
    Last edited by Guts&Glory; 23/08/2009 at 11:17 PM.

the mr.blue bib came along and threatened to throw one of the lads out for shouting at someone. idiot....i presume this was the same fella who refused you entry, looked like a bit of a balx to be fair

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast