Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Bray 2-2 Rovers

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post

Lads don't forget we have Bray, Drogs and Galway all have to come to the showgrounds
    Yeah. Fortress.

Peers seemed to go off from the after effects of the second challenge when he got a boot in the head.

He was sitting down on the picth holding is head as we took a corner,then ref blew up when Bray keeper caught the corner as Peers was still prone on the ground holding is head.

Why oh why do we continue to pass the ball inside the 18 yard box when a player has a chance of a shot on goal? why do we take short corners and then not now what to do next/feck it up? Why can no one on the team win the second ball??????? Oh and WTF was Owen Morrison at in his continous attempts to turn down blind alleys and give the ball away - then not bother chasing back.
    Last edited by gustavo; 22/08/2009 at 8:10 AM.

word is peers went off with a head injury, thank god its not a reoccurence of last one

peersy just had concusion after a late challenge on him, not the thigh muscle again thankfully. he done well when he came on. hoping he gets through another week's training and play against bohs

bad result imo, bray were brutal. had nothing about them at all. number 5 was muck for them, worst defender ive seen ina long time. raff took his goals well. blinky quietest ive seen him, but wouldnt say anything bad about him, he tries his best. doyle done well i thought, gave his everything on the left, morrison was poor imo. great footballer at the heart of alot of our goals but just didnt have the best of nights.
    need a result against bohs, 11 games left, still time to get out of this. galway will be dragged into the mix soon imo. pats will probably be strong enough to geta few results and pull away too. think its a 3 horse race for the 2 play offs between us, drogs and galway.

we stopped at a shop on the outskirts of dublin after the game. the galway united team were in there aswell, a young rovers fan tried to have a bit of banter with barry ryan (galway keeper), then ryan walked over to him, pulled him by the arm and squared upto him, pushing him away with his head. then walked back to the counter. on his way out he said he was lucky he didnt break his jaw. great to see such professionalism from an experienced LOI player. scumbag
    Last edited by CF1989; 22/08/2009 at 1:04 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Bus delayed due to stop at guards station.
    Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!!
    Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me with a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).
    He kept saying after the trouble with Shams and the wall collapsing he wasn't letting in any drunkards!! I went mad as i had done nothing wrong only to travel down to the match all the way from sligo and have a couple of beers. He insisted i walk away, i refused rightfully, and he called the guards who demanded i walk away as well, i refused and was subsequently put in a cell for the night.
    I'm so annoyed right now its unreal. Can you imagine traveling down for that match, doing nothing wrong, and being put in a f*cking cell for the night??? I'm ringing that club tomorrow looking for answers as to who this John Fitzpatrick(event contoller) thinks he is.

As for the game..... well i cant actually comment on it as i was in bloody jail for the night!!!!

NOW RORYH/ROVERSFAN THATS WHY I DONT GO TO AWAY GAMES.
    Last edited by The Midget Gem; 22/08/2009 at 1:55 AM.
    Up the Rowvers!

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    peersy just had concusion after a late challenge on him, not the thigh muscle again thankfully. he done well when he came on. hoping he gets through another week's training and play against bohs

bad result imo, bray were brutal. had nothing about them at all. number 5 was muck for them, worst defender ive seen ina long time. raff took his goals well. blinky quietest ive seen him, but wouldnt say anything bad about him, he tries his best. doyle done well i thought, gave his everything on the left, morrison was poor imo. great footballer at the heart of alot of our goals but just didnt have the best of nights.
    need a result against bohs, 11 games left, still time to get out of this. galway will be dragged into the mix soon imo. pats will probably be strong enough to geta few results and pull away too. think its a 3 horse race for the 2 play offs between us, drogs and galway.

we stopped at a shop on the outskirts of dublin after the game. the galway united team were in there aswell, a young rovers fan tried to have a bit of banter with barry ryan (galway keeper), then ryan walked over to him, pulled him by the arm and squared upto him, pushing him away with his head. then walked back to the counter. on his way out he said he was lucky he didnt break his jaw. great to see such professionalism from an experienced LOI player. scumbag
    Poor barry...i do believe aggression is one of the side effects of the stuff he dabbles in!

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!
    Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).
    He kept saying after the trouble with Shams and the wall collapsing he wasn't letting in any drunkards!! I went mad as i had done nothing wrong only to travel down to the match all the way from sligo and have a couple of beers. He insisted i walk away, i refused rightfully, and he called the guards who demanded i walk away as well, i refused and was subsequently put in a cell for the night.
    I'm so annoyed right now its unreal. Can you imagine traveling down for that match, doing nothing wrong, and being put in a f*cking cell for the night??? I'm ringing that club tomorrow looking for answers as to who this John Fitzpatrick(event contoller) thinks he is.

As for the game..... well i cant actually comment on it as i was in bloody jail for the night!!!!

or jail for 3/4 of an hour more like

Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me with a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).

Didn't realise they had computer access in prison cells?

Of all matches to ****ing miss.

On the performance side, cant say a lot as I wasn't there . Terribly disapointed still. Kept telling myself, "no we wont go down", "we'll pick it up", "were better than the likes of Bray, Drogheda, Galway". We may have bigger budgets, better players, but we certainly don't have a better team as of late.

Is there any truth in the rumour that cookie's buying a dog for every member of the squad?
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

What exactly was the penalty for?

At least the Bray stewards were up for a bit of craic, though.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    What exactly was the penalty for?
    bray player had the ball about 19 yards out, bit to the left of the goal. either boco or keane were behind him and just put both hands on his shoulders and either pulled him or he just went down. cant put your hands up like that

I was walking by at that time and i'll be honest, you looked and were kid of acting drunk so i think the club had every right to refuse you entry. But i can understand your annoyance, pain in the hole !

Unhappy

Didn't think it was a peno to be honest. Clumsy tackle by Boco who in my opinion had a stinker. Disappointed how we gave the lead up so easily after having it on two occasions. We stepped off our men far too much, seemed to be waiting for the break of the ball rather than going to win it. No passion or gusto in that performance. A game there for the taking, but for some reason we don’t seem to have the killer punch required. Disappointing performances throughout the team. Too many players just not up for the 100% requirement. There seems to be a worrying lack of knowledge in the precarious position the club finds itself. Very hard to see where the win is going to come from over the next few games. Huge improvement required in the application stakes if we are to fight our way out of this conundrum, don’t see it on last night’s performance.

bray player had the ball about 19 yards out, bit to the left of the goal. either boco or keane were behind him and just put both hands on his shoulders and either pulled him or he just went down. cant put your hands up like that
    It was Keane, defo peno alright.

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    I was walking by at that time and i'll be honest, you looked and were kid of acting drunk so i think the club had every right to refuse you entry. But i can understand your annoyance, pain in the hole !
    The club?? I asked to talk to a club official but this fella refused again. Totally unreasonable. He was completely on a power trip. Indeed i had a couple of beers, i was still completely literate and i was nowhere near as bad as some others on the bus down and i felt i was very very harshly treated.
    When you have Hooligans kicking the sh!t into each other, getting into grounds and not getting arrested, yet me, a true LOI fan who just wanted to see the game being refused entry and being put in a cell you have to question the whole thing. I'm still so annoyed by the whole thing its unreal, will be a while before i go to an away game again i think.
    Up the Rowvers!

186 Posts
    Really dissapointed we didnt get teh 3 points, they were there for the taking. A lot of Rovers players not on their game at all and we just cant seem to close games out at the minute.
    Peers done well when he came on, made a great block in the box. He said after that he was feeling grand but just couldnt remember anything about what happened.
    As for The Texaco Standoff, discraseful stuff by Ryan. Ian Foster has gone up a peg in my book tho - at least he was using his head (the right way that is).
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

, will be a while before i go to an away game again i think.
    Because you're a "true LoI fan"?

You do realise that you have to be inside the box to get a penalty?
    I would have said that he was eight yards out, ball came to him, Boco was wrong side and hauled him down.
    Sure we'll see it again on mns. Looked fair enough to me. Camano should have gotten his head to it in the first place.

Dissapointment on our side that we didn't get the three points aswell.Gifted you the 2nd goal and if Paul Byrne was fit I think we would have won it.
    Always liked Cretaro and thought he was a class act, but last night he constantly tried to get players booked, is this a part of his game or did he just do it last night? Trying to get players booked for nothing tackles isnt on and imo Sligo, and Cretaro in particular, seemed intent on that all night.
    Fair play to the lads who came down, made a lot of noise
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast