you're wrong there
from: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...evolution.htmlI've been assured I don't have to leave and the manager never said I had to go
By no means saying that, but people should call a bad game when they see one. Keane was poor last night. A lot of people saying otherwise, why, I don't know. To be fair he made himself a good chance in 1st half but should have put it away. Apart from that, more moaning, more wiggling of the finer when he thinks he's offside, more falling over too easily etc.
2nd half he made himself a good chance but should have just layed it off to Folan who probably would have scored. For those who are saying that he got long balls thrown at him, to an extent yes, but he still saw a lot of ball to feet and did very little with it.
I'm not singling out Keane, there was at least 5 or 6 others who were equally poor, but I just cannot understand people who almost say he had a good game for the sake of it.
You've got no fans.
There's also the fact that McCarthy hasn't even figured in pre-season for Wigan because his fitness and strength isn't up to it yet according to Martinez.
see article below by a david kelly in independant yesterday
seems to just want to rub it is how wonderful rugby and its players / supporters are![]()
is it just me or has anybody got the feeling media / press have done nothing but put down game because it was being played outside dublin
Pale imation of thomond we know
Thursday August 13 2009
NO bite, no b*****k. Bluff and bluster. Ireland may still fancy a jaunt to South Africa next year but their inaugural visit to Limerick was hardly inspiring stuff. Not to the locals more used to Hayes' heft, Rog's rockets and the raucous accompaniment from the Red Army.
It was the smell which told you something was different. A police horse unloading itself of its main meal was the first sign that Thomond Park was playing host to an altogether different occasion.
Aside from the fact they may have been better deployed directing traffic, it was unusual to hear the clodding clops of sturdy steeds steering their passage through the milling crowds outside the stadium as kick-off approached.
Soccer in Thomond Park? Well, if Rod Stewart, no mean devotee of the beautiful game himself, can strut his stuff here why not two international soccer teams? Eoin Hand finally got the chance to witness a soccer game here -- nearly 30 years after he was denied the chance to manage Limerick United at Thomond in a friendly against Spurs, a game that had to be moved to Lansdowne Road.
When you moved inside, the milling crowds were rather less milling. Society's decree, which soccer fans universally must obey, saw to it that there was no alcohol allowed for sale on the premises.
incessant
Normally at rugby occasions here, especially since the revamped stadium's re-opening 11 months ago, the match-day hype is fuelled by the incessant pre-game conjecture and controversy surrounding the many bars.
Sadly, soccer folk aren't trusted to concurrently drink and talk about football -- hence the presence of the horsey set outside the confines -- and there was a noticeably pallid nature to this friendly encounter.
Of course, that's the other thing about occasions such as these when contrasted with rugby affairs. You can't do 'friendlies' in rugby. You can't pull out of a tackle. You can't misplace a pass for fear of the unfortunate timing injuring your team-mate. And a rugby crowd can't do friendlies either.
Even the very contrived nature of how the respective games launch their proceedings illustrated the vast disparity in atmosphere created by a Thomond Park rugby crowd and last night's strangely awkward Thomond Park soccer crowd.
Rugby's kick-off immediately allows for a thunderously violent assault on the opposition's senses, and a consequently tumultuous upheaval amongst the crowd when they see their players either receiving and driving forward, or embracing the opposition's embryonic maul and forcing it to back-pedal at a furious rate of knots.
In soccer, a pair of players serenely tap the ball to each other and then, as we saw last night, proceed to concede possession to each other in double-quick time. Aside from early incisions from the wide duo of Aiden McGeady and Damien Duff -- whose maddening inconsistency would hardly be tolerated by the normally impatient Munster faithful in their rugby heroes -- there was little for the crowd to enthuse about on a balmy, dry evening.
When Robbie Keane waves his hand in phantom defiance of a decision that has gone against him, he looks faintly feminine when compared to rugby players used to obeying the referee's whistle even though they may have lost two front teeth and a tuft of hair.
Last November's earth-shuddering clash between a Munster and and All Blacks second string was one of the sporting occasions of the year, the bone-crushing intensity of it spiralling emotions to rapturous heights only seen during the famous storied sequence of Heineken Cup matches played here. Sale, Gloucester, Wasps, Clermont.
In the Irish soccer team's defence, Munster's early efforts in the revamped stadium -- and those of their supporters -- were suitably unnerved in the early throes of last season, particularly on lacklustre occasions against Montauban in their opening Heineken Cup fixture, when only a late Ronan O'Gara penalty saved the then defending champions' blushes.
When Munster were caned here by Ulster during the Christmas holidays, their coach Tony McGahan wondered whether the stadium was a bit too comforting now for opponents; thankfully their Heineken Cup obliteration, mentally and physically, of the Ospreys later firmly disabused us of this notion.
With South Africa due here in September -- the all-conquering Springboks will hold more interest when they visit Croke Park a month later -- soccer will be a regular occurrence in these parts which, apart from adding to the roster of Irish stadia the FAI have been forced to rent down the days, also serves to belatedly reacquaint the rest of the country with international football.
This was the only the third international to be held outside of the capital and, intriguingly, not the first to take place at the home of rugby either.
Being the FAI, they once laid claim to the turf at the Mardyke in court but, through the proverbial type of mis-management which was often their hallmark -- some charge it remains stubbornly so -- that venue was lost to the oval ball game just as Flower Lodge followed the same ignominious passage.
Seventy years ago, the magisterial Hungarian side, fresh from their 1938 World Cup final appearance against Italy, shacked up in the Mardyke and special match-day trains ferried supporters from Dublin, Waterford and Limerick.
Ireland snatched a creditable 2-2 draw thanks to a late Jackie Carey goal; the Hungarians, perhaps in tune with the rugby spirit of things, had only nine men on the field at the final whistle.
It took another 46 years for the FAI to decamp to the provinces. Forming part of the Cork 800 celebrations, Spain, who had denied Hand's side a berth at the 1984 European Championships, were invited to Flower Lodge -- now of course, the Lodge is Pairc Ui Rinn and firmly within the control of the GAA, who gleefully seized on yet another FAI mishap when it comes to their painful, historic association with stadium construction and retention.
The game, denied the services of Manchester United and Liverpool players, who formed the backbone of the Irish team, ended in a timid scoreless draw. Friendly matches were seemingly unenthusiastically staged even a generation ago.
The legendary Limerick stalwart Al Finucane was wheeled out to give the occasion a suitably local sense of colour. "Now that we have this magnificent stadium, we hope to have many more international matches here," said Finucane when presented to the crowd before the match by an over-enthusiastic local radio DJ.
Asked to enthuse about the state of Limerick soccer, Finucane politely demurred, much to the embarrassment of the blazers: "No, it's not in a good state unfortunately."
Next came Packie Bonner, the FAI's technical director, who revealed somewhat surprisingly that the players -- including McGeady, who had moaned about getting lost on his way to the south-east earlier in the week -- would retain the memories of their stay in this part of the country for their lifetime. One sensed he protested too much.
Bonner, clearly too late to affect the hitherto sluggish sales pitch, then suggested that the evening's crowd would produce an atmosphere to top anything witnessed in Croke Park -- not a bad shout, in truth -- or, much more incredibly, Lansdowne Road. After all that, a lie-down may have been in order.
realities
Earlier in the day, the FAI, like Liam Carroll unable to attach economic realities to their potential revenue streams (anyone for an Aviva Stadium Vantage seat, now?), had allowed 3,000 schoolboy tickets to be delivered into a marketplace scarcely hungry for an Australia team featuring not Matt Giteau, the world's best rugby out-half, but Matt, er, Spiranovic.
At least it had the effect of pushing the attendance into the early 20,000s, in essence a realistic attendance for a gig such as this, especially given the ridiculously over-priced tickets; much was made in the Shannon clubhouse of the vast discrepancy between the cost of watching Munster or Ireland, compared to an as yet unproven Irish team, whose stock has been of the laughing variety until the expensively acquired and composed Il Trap.
Il Trap's conservative approach did little to enthrall the locals though, save the odd intervention from the front four, and there was little of the magical awe inspired by a Keith Earls break or a Paul O'Connell surge.
Need to know any more? Ireland were booed off at half-time. That never happens Munster. This was Thomond Park. But not as we know it.
- david kelly
" football is a simple game "
That rugby article really grates me, but I'm sure thats what the editor told him to do.
He should only have been in the squad if he was in with a chance of playing against Cyprus, which the friendly was being used as a warm up for. He isn't, so he shouldn't have been. Wigan haven't played him in preseason. Martinez said recently that he's not ready for action at the moment, and he's only having a light pre-season - http://www.wigan.vitalfootball.co.uk...e.asp?a=163432
Then why not call up the entire U-21 squad? Or the U-19s?
So instead of marking the strikers, he should mark the midfield? If anyone should have marked Cahill, it should have been Whelan or Gibson, compare that to the marking job Essien did on Gerrard last season, effectively took him (and one of Liverpool's main attacking threats) out of the game
I agree he's far from perfect. His crossing is woeful, generally because it's a his weaker foot that is less than adequate. However, I think he retains the ball fairly well overall and always has defenders going backwards. The type of player he is he bound to lose the ball here and there. He's a far better player than Hunt I think and he should always start the games we're hoping to win, ie. matches where we are the stronger side. He contributed well against Georgia but has had disappointing games too, I'd be optimistic he'll get more consistent but can see your frustration too.
Gibson wasn't good enough for United, Whelan for the most part wasn't good enough for Stoke, what's your point? at least Reid was good for Ireland at some stage. It's not gonna happen anyway obviously and I've made peace with that at this stage, just think you're not making any sense.
Agree Paul. Tangential comparison as predictable as it was wearisome. He's also as confused as an Asian skinhead in stretches of it. Spurs played at TP. So far as I could see the bars were open and the beer was flowing on Wednesday. That or people were walking around in there with cream soda in plastic pint glasses. Frankly I'm not sure this guy got any closer to the match than feeding sugar lumps to the Garda Capall.
Last edited by Lionel Ritchie; 14/08/2009 at 9:48 AM.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
It was a number of Leeds fans that are working in Limerick at present that happened to go to the game because it was on. They were booing him due to his decision to move to Galatasaray despite the fact that he was playing for Leeds in the UEFA semi where 2 Leeds fans go murdered by Galatasaray fans in 2000. Him and his agent had previously shafted Leeds when he moved to Liverpool anyway but the move to Galatasaray caused a lot of anger among the Leeds support.
Apparently some Irish Liverpool fans were joing in but it was the Leeds lads who started it. One of them posted it on a Leeds message board yesterday.
I don't doubt you Drum but I'm a Leeds supporter who by pure chance happened to be sitting next to another Leeds supporter and, while I heard the booing, neither of us participated and it seemed to be coming from a definite direction on the lower west stand.
I just couldn't really be bothered bringing 'club issues' to international games (my slight indulgence of a half Leeds/half Ireland scarf aside).
I rolled my eyes a bit alright when a big cheer went up for Scott McDonald and I've little doubt we'd have heard it's ugly inverse if Tony Vidmar was still chugging away for the 'roos.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
The only rugby match at the new stadium saw the debut of local hero Keith Earls. It still drew a massive 16,000 people. Amazing there were no articles then criticising the IRFU.
No doubt they will be slated for ticket prices too when they charge €90 to sit behind the posts for the 6 nations next year. That is assuming they don't increase their prices.
I was in the East stand, and didn't notice Kewell being booed at all, might have been isolated to the West stand?
That's where the cameras were as well, so might have sounded louder on the box than it was in the stadium