Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland V Australia - Wednesday, 12th August 2009 - Friendly - Thomond Park

100 Posts
    I was at the game. Poor game, poor performance and poor result.

1st half was quite lethargic. Whelan played well as did Mcgeady and Duff. However, we were poor when it came to the final 3rd. Keane had a good chance. That was about it. 2-0 flattered Australia going into the break but they deserved their lead.

2nd half was no better, if even worse. Keane was rubbish all game. Really needs to stop falling over, whinging for decisions and wiggling his finger when he thinks an offside call is wrong (it usually isn't). Whelan played well and Andrews did ok. Dunne improved in the 2nd half. There was a Kerryman behind me who was splooging in his pants for Stephen Hunt. Can't really see why. Yes he tried hard, but end product is poor as always. Cracking 3rd goal for the Aussies.

I know it was only a friendly, but it was the same for Australia and they've already qualified, so that's even less reason for them to care. But still, we were shockingly bad at times. Trappa would want to sort it out quick. Here's hoping that he will get rid of his stubborn attitude.

And for those who booed at FT, go fcukoff home and never come back. Totally pointless and unnecessary for a friendly match at the end of pre-season.
    You've got no fans.

Shocking performance. Mcgeady and keane looked sharp at the start. blamed kilbane for the 1st goal. be honest he's been a good servant but he is a liability. cost us 4 points against bulgaria. Gibson had keane through on goal in the first half and gave a shocking ball to the right. turning point.

3 nil. Crikey
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

just as the 4 nil in denmark meant nothing and the 3 nil at home against sweden meant nothing, this will mean nothing in my view. poor game and poor performance.
    In Trap we trust

I've had this rant brewing since Trap took over and started watching Ireland literally scrape through games and I knew one day I'd get to vent my fury.

Since Trap took over as manager I've always said(including on foot.ie) that eventually we are going to be absolutely outplayed, out-classed and hammered in a game and well tonight it happened.
    I'd made peace with the fact that:
    - He doesn't pick the best available squad.
    - He doesn't pick the strongest team from the players he makes available to himself.
    - His tactics stink.
    - His lack of and choice of subs are p!ss poor!
    - He picks Liam Miller when no club will have him even though there are players involved with Premiership/Championship teams who play week in, week out that don't even get a look in like Keith Fahey, Rory Delap even Clinton Morrison would do!(he's better than Andy Keogh anyway)
    -Our defence is a mess. I know people like to point the finger at Zinedine Kilbane but in my opinion Trap has turned Richard Dunne into a pussycat who now turns his arse at everything like he did for the Cahill's two goals tonight.
    -The midfield is useless.
    Trap picks Darron Gibson contantly purely because he plays with Man United. He is 6th choice centre-mid at Utd, if he was 6th choice centre-mid at any other club he wouldn't be near the squad. Now saying that I do believe he will be a key player in the future.
    McGeady is the most over-rated Irish player EVER!....Run with your head up and cross the feckin ball once and a while!!!
    The quicker Stephen Reid is fit and Trap swallows his pride and brings Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid back the better.
    -We have 6 strikers in every squad and unfortunately only 2 are good enough to be there(Keane and Doyle)........nothing he can do about that really!

I think thats it but other than that things are peachy!
    Last edited by rambler14; 13/08/2009 at 12:25 AM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    I've had this rant brewing since Trap took over and I knew one day I'd get to vent my fury.

Since Trap took over as manager I've always said(including on foot.ie) that eventually we are going to be absolutely outplayed, out-classed and hammered in a game and well tonight it happened.
    I'd made peace with the fact that:
    - He doesn't pick the best available squad.
    - He doesn't pick the strongest team from the players he makes available to himself.
    - His tactics stink.
    - His lack of and choice of subs are p!ss poor!
    - He picks Liam Miller when no club will have him even though there are players involved with Premiership/Championship teams who play week in, week out that don't even get a look in like Keith Fahey, Rory Delap even Clinton Morrison would do!(he's better than Andy Keogh anyway)
    -Our defence is a mess. I know people like to point the finger at Zinedine Kilbane but in my opinion Trap has turned Richard Dunne into a pussycat who now turns his arse at everything like he did for the Cahill's two goals tonight.
    -The midfield is useless.
    Trap picks Darron Gibson contantly purely because he plays with Man United. He is 6th choice centre-mid at Utd, if he was 6th choice centre-mid at any other club he wouldn't be near the squad. Now saying that I do believe he will be a key player in the future.
    McGeady is the most over-rated Irish player EVER!....Run with your head up and cross the feckin ball once and a while!!!
    The quicker Stephen Reid is fit and Trap swallows his pride and brings Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid back the better.
    -We have 6 strikers in every squad and unfortunately only 2 are good enough to be there(Keane and Doyle)........nothing he can do about that really!

I think thats it but other than that things are peachy!
    Maybe a tad harsh but some good points made.
    You've got no fans.

Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    I was at the game. Poor game, poor performance and poor result.

1st half was quite lethargic. Whelan played well as did Mcgeady and Duff. However, we were poor when it came to the final 3rd. Keane had a good chance. That was about it. 2-0 flattered Australia going into the break but they deserved their lead.

2nd half was no better, if even worse. Keane was rubbish all game. Really needs to stop falling over, whinging for decisions and wiggling his finger when he thinks an offside call is wrong (it usually isn't). Whelan played well and Andrews did ok. Dunne improved in the 2nd half. There was a Kerryman behind me who was splooging in his pants for Stephen Hunt. Can't really see why. Yes he tried hard, but end product is poor as always. Cracking 3rd goal for the Aussies.

I know it was only a friendly, but it was the same for Australia and they've already qualified, so that's even less reason for them to care. But still, we were shockingly bad at times. Trappa would want to sort it out quick. Here's hoping that he will get rid of his stubborn attitude.

And for those who booed at FT, go fcukoff home and never come back. Totally pointless and unnecessary for a friendly match at the end of pre-season.
    thought hunt lifted team and supporters with his introduction and was more of a threat in 45 mins than duff had been in first 45 .. poor game to watch and ireland definatly gave the aussies to much time and space ... as for booing at ft agree with you .. but a lot of apes near me on west terrace had no more intrest in match were chatting away during game and had no idea on some of the players names , had the feeling alot of fans only went for the novelty of thomond park factor and were not genuine soccer fans

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    had the feeling alot of fans only went for the novelty of thomond park factor and were not genuine soccer fans
    Welcome to Ireland.

I said it at the start and i'll still say it now. Friendly or not Trap is being shown up for being the clueless mercenary buffon he is. Ireland are where they are in the group, despite him and not because of him.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Robbed.

I want my 55euros back.NEVER going to another friendly again,utter sh*te.Ive seen far better at Terryland Park this season.
    Trap OUT-HIS TACTICS ARE BRUTAL WITH 2 HOLDING MIDFIELDERS WHO DONT EVEN "HOLD".

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Welcome to Ireland.

I said it at the start and i'll still say it now. Friendly or not Trap is being shown up for being the clueless mercenary buffon he is. Ireland are where they are in the group, despite him and not because of him.
    That has to be the funniest post of the month!

lads i know im going to be killed for this but kilbane doesnt deserve to be in he squad, how many more goals does he have to be at fault for before the blinkered fans on this site realise hes past it??

Quote Originally Posted by Wexford Delboy View Post
    lads i know im going to be killed for this but kilbane doesnt deserve to be in he squad, how many more goals does he have to be at fault for before the blinkered fans on this site realise hes past it??
    People are blaming Kilbane just because he's an easy target.
    Nobody seems to be metioning Richard Dunne turning his arse to both of Tim Cahill's goals tonight!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by Wexford Delboy View Post
    I agree

fair enough dunne did turn his back but it was definately kilbanes fault for the second goal he left the centre backs totally exposed

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    He has been playing on the right for Celtic so far this year, and is obviously right footed player. So obvious in fact that every right-back he meets when he plays on the left works out after 15 minutes that there isn't a cat in hells chance of him going down the touchline, and sends him into the middle of the park and eliminates danger of a decent cross.
    I never noticed he was right footed, thanks for pointing that out. Ever heard of players playing on the opposite side to what their natural foot is?

He got away with that against half rate defences in Scotland, but international full backs have him worked out. he has played most of his career on the left, but thats owing to Gordon Strachan playing him out of position.
    McGeady, from what I gather, has been playing in a free role this season for Celtic so the side of the pitch he is on does not have as much relevance. Previously he played on left (as you pointed out) and beyond doubt showed that his best performances came from the left. Regarding his strongest side- it's simply a black and white issue that's been proven beyond doubt.

And as for Duff, the only thing he has proven is that his best position is on the left wing, and that he can do a job up front. His only good performances on the right wing were in a very good Chelsea team when he was a lot younger
    I never said Duff's strongest position wasn't the left. He's performance more that adequate recently for Ireland on the right so there is absolutely no problem with him on that side as far as I'm concerned.

Quote Originally Posted by stevieontour View Post
    You only should play 2 defensive midfielders when playing a team that are better than you.

If you do that to lesser teams you play into their hands.
    I don't think that's a problem at all. Liverpool did it last season and it worked really well for them. The two main problems with us using that system are:

1. The players aren't good enough. Whelan is decent enough but that doesn't cut it at this level and Gibson is not ready yet. Admittedly I have not seen as much as Andrews in the Premiership as those two but from what I saw of him for Blackburn he seemed like a weaker option than many players we have available in the position.

2. Two men upfront. Unless you have really, really good wingers you can not get away with using two holding midfielders. An extra centre midfielder with more freedom needs to be added or Keane has to drop back and play deeper (like the Italy game first half, which makes things more astonishing as it worked so well). The gap from the centre midfielders to the nearest players directly in front of them is far too large so going to the wings is the only option. This one dimensional play can be stopped easily enough if the opponents are aware of our game plan. We're losing too much possession/not making enough breaks because the simple ball is not an option often enough and attacking through the wings will obviously create more chances from crosses into the box rather than breakaways, which does not suit us. Maybe if the wingers were given more freedom it may work but I'm not convinced.

Full backs were a huge issue also ... no creativity there at all.
    I never agreed with this line of thought. Once their distribution is sufficient that's fine as far as I'm concerned. Let them concentrate solely on defending and leave the creativity to the positions that you would expect to find it. (Obviously it would be a bonus if we had full backs with creativity but is it certainly not essential).

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    O'Shea, I can't figure this guy out. Looks a good player for Utd but has been shaky for Ireland , with a couple of good performanced sprinkled in.
    It's been more than a few good performances in fairness to him. He has been excellent through most of this campaign and solid in most of the previous one.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    just as the 4 nil in denmark meant nothing and the 3 nil at home against sweden meant nothing, this will mean nothing in my view. poor game and poor performance.
    I think given how serious the management team were taking the game and the fact that many of the deficiencies have been prevalent throughout the qualifying campaign it is a major cause for concern. Now that we've faced a team that can dominate us in midfield and create chances we were blown away. The Italy game would have been similar I reckon if they hadn't been reduced to ten men.

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    I've had this rant brewing since Trap took over and started watching Ireland literally scrape through games and I knew one day I'd get to vent my fury.
    You've made some excellent points, especially tactically (if it's the same stuff I'm thinking of) as some of the errors were obvious even before a ball was kicked by this side. It's shocking to see a manager like Trap make such basic misjudgements.

However, there some of your points I disagree with.

This has been the only squad where Miller has been selected while unattached so saying picking him while no club will have him is not strictly true. As far as his selection for this squad is concerned the topic has been answered many times in the squad selection thread so you should check that out. But to give a brief answer here; if he is still in the squad for October's games while unattached I would have an issue with that but not with the first game back this season.

Quite simply not the case. Overall our defence (and defensive play) has been extremely good this campaign, although the obvious concerns about Kilbane in the team remain. The criticise Dunne for one game is ridiculous.

Trap picks Darron Gibson contantly purely because he plays with Man United.
    Rubbish that doesn't need an explanation to answer it.

89 Posts
    Wow, football fans are idiots. Trap a buffoon? We lost a pre-season friendly, whoop-de-fecking-do. The point of the few days will have been to start making preparations for Cyprus and getting reacquainted with the players after a few months off. Do you think Man Utd/Arsenal/Chelsea/Liverpool fans would be freaking out over ther result of a Charity Shield game?

Against Cyprus I fully expect us to get a comfortable enough 1-0 win, come on here and find people still saying how rubbish we and Trap are. And next summer I look forward to the posts on here saying how Trap's rubbish tactics mean we're going never going to win that Second Round knockout game, "sure Glenn Whelan only plays for stoke he must be rubbish, they should play clinton morisson, i read an article on teletext that he played really well....."

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Hunt had the desired impact when he came on in lifting the pace of the game.
    Sorry but Hunt was woeful, ok he controled the ball well most of the time, only to subsequently lose the ball with a poor pass or cross straight into Schwartzer's hands.

We need to nip this Stephen Hunt buzz in the bud now, everyone said look at the commitment from Kilbane and the the chap won't go away (sorry Kev love ye really) and Kilbane has much more talent than Hunt.

Keane played well tonight I thought, he held up the ball and held off the Aussie defenders a few times, I would never have put him down as a strong player. Defence was ok, Whelan made a good few defensive tackles and Andrews proved to be better than Gibson with his cameo. Duff had one or two good bits of play.

But the thing is Trap doesn't view International friendlies as any other Irish manager has in the past. He views them in the same way the likes of England, Italy, Brazil etc. they are just warm up exercises and the result doesn't matter. It's no longer about picking up world ranking points, just look at our result against Serbia and Poland. Austrailia are also a very good side so I wouldn't worry too much about the result, it's all about the game against Cyprus

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    But the thing is Trap doesn't view International friendlies as any other Irish manager has in the past. He views them in the same way the likes of England, Italy, Brazil etc. they are just warm up exercises and the result doesn't matter. It's no longer about picking up world ranking points, just look at our result against Serbia and Poland. Austrailia are also a very good side so I wouldn't worry too much about the result, it's all about the game against Cyprus
    The management team have been pretty open in the build up to the game with how important this game was in their eyes. If the result is not important then what about the performance? Because that was even worse than the result so that completely negates your point.

Also I'd say that Trap has treated friendlies the exact opposite to previous managers with the level of seriousness he attaches to them.

131 Posts
    Don't think it's fair to blame Trap. He's the main reason we still have a chance of qualifying. In the first 11 that he's had to manage with for most of his competitive fixtures we only have 3 what any sane person could consider to be good quality Premiership players - Keane, Dunne and Given. Finnan and S Reid are always injured so they can't be counted. Duff can be quality but the days when he reaches those heights get rarer by the year.

The likes of Whelan, Kilbane, Andrews, McGeady, Hunt, Folan and McShane are very poor quality Premiership players. Gibson has potential but not much else at the moment. I can see him eventually winding up at a mid table Premiership team in the future but he certainly doesn't look like he has the quality to make a career at united at present. O'Shea is an average player who does a job as a utility man for united and little else. Doyle still has to show he has enough ability to suceed at the top level.

We are 3 players short of similar quality to Keane, Dunne and Given from being a good international team. Luckily for us we are in a p*ss poor group which we've bundled our way through thus far. A fit S Reid and Finnan and the emergence of a St Ledger, Foley or McCann could make a world of difference.

Even so Trap is doing a very good job imo. If Stan was still in charge we'd be nearer the botom of the group than the top.
    Last edited by youngirish; 13/08/2009 at 1:50 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Wow, football fans are idiots. Trap a buffoon? We lost a pre-season friendly, whoop-de-fecking-do. The point of the few days will have been to start making preparations for Cyprus and getting reacquainted with the players after a few months off. Do you think Man Utd/Arsenal/Chelsea/Liverpool fans would be freaking out over ther result of a Charity Shield game?

Against Cyprus I fully expect us to get a comfortable enough 1-0 win, come on here and find people still saying how rubbish we and Trap are. And next summer I look forward to the posts on here saying how Trap's rubbish tactics mean we're going never going to win that Second Round knockout game, "sure Glenn Whelan only plays for stoke he must be rubbish, they should play clinton morisson, i read an article on teletext that he played really well....."
    what the hell has that to do with a Republic of Ireland v Australia game?
    should we base our reactions on what these fans do our what?

on topic,big deal it was a friendly!!! trap will get the results when they matter in qualifiers. I dont know what some of you guys expect with these donkeys we have playing for us anyway!
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast