Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Into the west

112 Posts

Possible chant?
    Last edited by Pauro 76; 16/08/2009 at 9:26 PM.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post

Possible chant?
    I look forward to you trying at least...

44 Posts
    [QUOTE=Martinho II;1212426] What a result what a night! I havent being this emotional in two long years..

Two years of hell finally came out and I was cleansed!!

The last time I felt good after a town victory was when we beat Shamrock Rovers one nil in Tolka with Moons late winner"

[QUOTE]

1,104 Posts
    Two years of hell finally came out and I was cleansed!!!!
    Praise the Lord, Brother!. Testify!. You have been saved!.

44 Posts
    Ah no, as Martinho said, it's been a while since we had any reason to go a bit spare at a game, but that was as good a reason as any that's likely to present itself any time this season (hopefully i'm wrong though).

The last 10 minutes were a throw-back to the cup runs of old. Adrian Murphy's shot that gave us some belief; the goal and the way it was scored; the Galway sending off, and the unbelievable close range tip over by Danny O'Leary.

It was the unlikely nature of it from the time we went down to 10 men that made it all the sweeter. Day's like that are what make's it all worthwhile.

Also a point of note, congratulations to the linesman and ref combo who on the night set a new Irish record for allowing an offside man to be ruled onside. 8 Meters or 26.24 feet. Well done lads.

Crikey but im only starting to feel like myself again after the weekend. What an absolute 100% top class all round few days in the West. I cant remember having that good a weekend in a long time.
    I just wanted to post regarding some of the Galway United fans we met after the game who were a class act in the face of what would be justified bitterness. They were as humble & supportive of us as i have ever seen opposing fans being. No bad words nothing & congratulated us whole heartedly. Fair play lads & it was good to meet & chat to some of ye, good luck for the rest of the season. Its rare in this country you will get that after a game. We did a job on Cork City in the 2001 FAI Cup in a replay in Cork beating them 2-1 & to their teams credit they bet us in the final in 2007. On both occasions there fans were nothing short of a disgrace in the toilet that is the Horshoe bar in 2001 & directly after the final victory outside the RDS. The worst winners & losers i ever seen, not all of course but enough to brand em with.
    Anyway back to Galway, we were in Naughtons for Saturday morning & what was a beautiful day, good beer & food was consumed. You must also ask us about the Incorrect Fact Fund folks, a sure way to stop sheit being spoken whilst under the influence.
    I believe we play Mervue on October 9th in Galway so hopefully we will all make it down for that too. We have a party to finish..........
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123