Thread: Into the west

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    I'm going to be in Galway tomorrow so I might head along to the game. Are you guys meeting in Fibbers beforehand?
    yep I wil be there schumi so give me a buzz!

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Sound, im in Galway around Lunchtime so will be there beforehand.
    thats grand ronnie talk to u then! look forward to lubricating our voices!!

47 Posts
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Ill see ye all around 7pm as im headin up from Cork at 4. Cant wait & heres to a delightful weekend in the West, the real spiritual capital of Ireland.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    Ill see ye all around 7pm as im headin up from Cork at 4. Cant wait & heres to a delightful weekend in the West, the real spiritual capital of Ireland.
    I will be up at six as I am coming from Carrick on Shannon. I was talkin to Eamon Donohoe last night and he confirmed to me that there will be cameras at the game tonight!!

I believe there should be a good crowd down from the Town for tonights game. Pascal is running a bus from town and they are staying overnight in Hanley Oaks Hotel out in Rahoon......
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

We won! I'm shocked. Absolutely sickened I've missed this.

122 Posts
    Congrats lads, ye took ye're chance, we didn't take the 15 efforts or so on goal that we had. We wouldn't score if we were still there now

Well done.

We need to send the entire squad to a brothel to see if they could even score there, but it's doubtful.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

64 Posts
    Well done, lads.

We were a disgrace.

112 Posts
    Well done Town, absolutely delighted!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I am just back from Galway.. What a result what a night! I havent being this emotional in two long years.. In the first half after Neal McKenna was unfortunate to be sent off it was all Galway including their crowd! but once the second half started we got into it more and more.. Adrian Murphy was very unlucky with a spectaculor effort that just went over the crossbar leavin barry ryan stranded!

Brian McCarthy and Danny O'Leary kept us in the game!! Gradually town were winning the vocal battle on the terraces!Then the unbelievable happened Tom King broke clear on the right Galway stopped expecting a freekick king crossed and there was ronniebs fav player Lynchy who hit a super effort past Barry Fan.

Cue mayhem on the terraces.. I never ran so fast towards the touchline to celebrate with salmon coloured !Two years of hell finally came out and I was cleansed!! it took five minutes to find out who scored!

But the game wasnt over. Galway hit the post from a corner. Danny made a miraculous save to tip a strong Galway header over the bar!!The ref added on three minutes and then the whistle finally blew!

The celebrations were something else ! all the players and mgt came over.. Macca was giving high fives to everyone! The last time I felt good after a town victory was when we beat Shamrock Rovers one nil in Tolka with Moons late winner"

Seven long years for a wait in Terryland was finally over! Many thanks to the galway utd crew who hosted us in fibber mcgees before the match and in the goalpost afterwards!

It was brill catchin up with Galway girl ,Guisa ,ronan coleman. Let the celebrations begin and roll on the next round!

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SSS!!!!!!!!!!!!

COME ON DA TOWN!!!

122 Posts
    I am just back from Galway.. What a result what a night! I havent being this emotional in two long years.. In the first half after Neal McKenna was unfortunate to be sent off it was all Galway including their crowd!
    Had to go, it was an awful tackle. High and reckless. He could have seriously injured Russell. It was straight out from where I was sittting, and your man had only eyes on Russell....

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Had to go, it was an awful tackle. High and reckless. He could have seriously injured Russell. It was straight out from where I was sittting, and your man had only eyes on Russell....
    fair enough point .we were on the opposite side .what about yer sending off? i thought that cooke did deserve to go for his tackle on tom king..

64 Posts
    fair enough point .we were on the opposite side .what about yer sending off? i thought that cooke did deserve to go for his tackle on tom king..
    Cooke definitely deserved the red. It was a stupid tackle to even go in to. It was obvious that it was always going to result in him getting sent off. He'll be banned for three games now - I think we'll be better off without him.

122 Posts
    Definitely deserved to go, pure stupidity from Cooke. It was reckless aswell. Both red cards that were dished out were deserved

**** women who make you go on holidays during the football season

47 Posts
    Just home What a result absolutely delighted. Liam Lynch, build him a statue now!
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Just home What a result absolutely delighted. Liam Lynch, build him a statue now!

He will be a legend in my eyes forever more.. good catchin up with ex longford town player and pal of ronnies adrian cregg on eyre square!! Also got talking to Seamie Crowes(ex Town player under Alan Matthews) dad in the goalpost and he was saying that Seamie is coaching kids in athenry gaa in the hurling.. One of the best weekends I had in a long time thanks to LIAM LYNCH! The best thing ever to come out of Ballinasloe!!

and for the lynchs that played for us over the last eight years Alan and Eoin they wouldnt hold a candle to Liam !