Thread: Jay O'Shea

473 Posts
    That makes it closer to €500 Bray will be getting. I was working off the €400k bid Derby reportedly put in for him, stupid assumption really.

a source close to jay says that he will be on the bench for the match in old trafford tomorrow.

Good luck.

I'll be watching Galway Minor Hurlers tomorrow but ill keep an eye on the Man Utd game to see does he play.Would be great to see him get a run..

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    a source close to jay says that he will be on the bench for the match in old trafford tomorrow.
    They seem to have a good few injuries alright. It doesn't bode well for them if Jay is on the bench so soon after signing. A stuffing could be on the cards....

21 Posts
    Jay O'Shea is on the bench for Birmingham's match against Man United.

Fair play to him , hope he gets a run out too . Fahey starts anyway

Where else in the world would you be able to source a premiership grade footballer for less than 100k euro?

Its a funny old league where many clubs pay way over the odds in wages/bonuses to mediocre players and yet we have situations like this where talent is flogged to the UK for peanuts.
    Together with all our hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    Where else in the world would you be able to source a premiership grade footballer for less than 100k euro?

Its a funny old league where many clubs pay way over the odds in wages/bonuses to mediocre players and yet we have situations like this where talent is flogged to the UK for peanuts.
    he wasnt "flogged to the uk" , galways hands were financially tied. That few quid helped to keep the club afloat for another couple of weeks. If we could have got a better deal Im sure we would had gone for it, but that was the best on offer at what was probably our last chance of making a few shillings on the player.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sheao View Post
    Jay O'Shea is on the bench for Birmingham's match against Man United.
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Fair play to him , hope he gets a run out too . Fahey starts anyway
    Brilliant, I'm thrilled for both of them.

69 Posts
    O'Shea has just come on!

433 Posts
    He's on.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    O'Shea has just come on!
    Jaysus that was quick. Thought he wouldn't see any first team action for a while. From Terryland to Old Trafford in a week.

I think McLiesh gambled putting him on, hoping he'd do something special.
    The lads first thing to do was to take on Evra who made him look like a fool, o'shea ended up on his arse, then up again to shoulder him only to fall back down. Then in the last 2mins he got the ball wide and put in a hopeless cross. Other than that nothing much else, he got it the odd time and passed succesfully. Oh he was skint by Giggs on one occasion.

Fahey looked quality on the other hand imo.
    Up the Rowvers!

Good to see the two lads playing at this level - can only reflect well on our league
    "Overwhelmed"

75 Posts
    Very positive post from a Sligo Fan.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    I think McLiesh gambled putting him on, hoping he'd do something special.
    The lads first thing to do was to take on Evra who made him look like a fool, o'shea ended up on his arse, then up again to shoulder him only to fall back down. Then in the last 2mins he got the ball wide and put in a hopeless cross. Other than that nothing much else, he got it the odd time and passed succesfully. Oh he was skint by Giggs on one occasion.

Fahey looked quality on the other hand imo.
    Pretty accurate summary there I would say. But nonetheless was happy for him to make his debut in Old Trafford. Best of luck over in England Jay.

Fahey looked really comfortable and composed everytime he got the ball too.
    Cmon County!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    he wasnt "flogged to the uk" , galways hands were financially tied. That few quid helped to keep the club afloat for another couple of weeks. If we could have got a better deal Im sure we would had gone for it, but that was the best on offer at what was probably our last chance of making a few shillings on the player.
    So, to ask again, where in the world can an EPL team pick up a premiership-ready player for less than 100k euro (or even 50k if some other posters are to be believed).

So you overspend and then fire-sale your assets when the inevitable cash crunch occurs. That is simply shockingly bad business.

Delighted for O'Shea by the way - best of luck to him.
    Last edited by fergalr; 16/08/2009 at 4:20 PM. Reason: Added congrats to O'Shea
    Together with all our hearts.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    So, to ask again, where in the world can an EPL team pick up a premiership-ready player for less than 100k euro (or even 50k if some other posters are to be believed).

So you overspend and then fire-sale your assets when the inevitable cash crunch occurs. That is simply shockingly bad business.

Delighted for O'Shea by the way - best of luck to him.
    he was out of contract in couple of months so it was either take what was offered or loose him for free... its not rocket science
    Its really not that complicated!!!

His season aint over till May not wise throwing him straight into the deep end.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    he was out of contract in couple of months so it was either take what was offered or loose him for free... its not rocket science
    We would have gotten compensation for him if he'd left at the end of the season.