Thread: Athlone cup game

Athlone cup game

Looking forward to a distraction from the league. Hopefully a good cup game.
    Athlone have done well against Shels and Ucd in recent games so might not be an easy tie to be fair. We have been playing quite well since the shels result so im still optimistic.

What do any athlone fans think. Will yous have a full squad to pick from.

98 Posts
    i reckon we will either scrap a win by a goal or get hammered by 3,4 or even 5.

if we play well and franco gorgescu and dave o connor gel with the team well we have a very realistic chance of getting something out of this game.

we should of bet ye the last time we played ye and that is something to be positive about and we have drawn with shels and ucd in the last 3 games and we should of beaten ucd so hopefully we can pull it off.

should be a good lot travelling from athlone so hope its a good game with a good result from our perspective

good luck anyways lads

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    i reckon we will either scrap a win by a goal or get hammered by 3,4 or even 5.

if we play well and franco gorgescu and dave o connor gel with the team well we have a very realistic chance of getting something out of this game.

we should of bet ye the last time we played ye and that is something to be positive about and we have drawn with shels and ucd in the last 3 games and we should of beaten ucd so hopefully we can pull it off.

should be a good lot travelling from athlone so hope its a good game with a good result from our perspective

good luck anyways lads
    Yous did give us a bit of a scare last time alright.

Hope a good few of yous do come up. Always makes for a better atmosphere. And when yous go home crying it will be even better

98 Posts
    Crying with joy son, Crying with joy

i reckon maybe 100-200 from town will be going up

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    Hope a good few of yous do come up.
    Our travelling support is up and down but the league match against you we brought about 70 and I will be dissapointed if we dont get near the 200 mark for this one

In our 9 games against you we have lost them all and failed to score in any of them. We are travelling under no pressure as everyone is expecting you to win.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Our travelling support is up and down but the league match against you we brought about 70 and I will be dissapointed if we dont get near the 200 mark for this one
    Including 2 shels fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post

In our 9 games against you we have lost them all and failed to score in any of them. We are travelling under no pressure as everyone is expecting you to win.
    It would be great if yous could bring up that many. Heres to a good game of football. 2 days to go

98 Posts
    we have 10 starting players out

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    we have 10 starting players out
    Are you serious? If so why?

98 Posts

Just a sprinkle of kidology thrown into that article methinks. While it does look like yous will miss a few, im sure come kick off it wont be 10.

98 Posts
    whoever is named there will be out! ya can check yourself when the teams are announced.

Cant wait for this. full 22 seater leavin at 4 and should be a good 150-200 driving up. gonna be a quality night no matter the result.

Well at least yous got that elusive goal against us you where looking for.

Hard look lads. I guess the lads you where missing really hurt yous tonight.
    Will yous have many of them back for the game next week?

83 Posts
    Will yous have many of them back for the game next week?
    All of them other than one long term

61 Posts
    Great, so you will have no excuses when we knock in another 4 then

Where was your predicted 100 to 200 athlone fans ?

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Where was your predicted 100 to 200 athlone fans ?
    We brought half of them.

As for our fans were were yours. Your at home and throwing money at players and wouldnt have taken enough on the gate to pay the officials. It is unsustainable and is Dublin City / Shels / Cork City waiting to happen.

I was totally shocked when I heard the playing budget there. It is 14 times ours per week.
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 16/08/2009 at 1:03 PM.

98 Posts
    there was at east 70-80 athlone fans there if not 100

**** poor home attendance from a club that WILL go bust in time.

As has been explained a thousand times over. Of course the money from the gates dont pay for the players. Thats the same for most of the clubs in the LOI. We have really good sponsorship that pays the wages. This sponsorship was guaranteed for 4 years. So there is nothing to worry about.
    Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 16/08/2009 at 2:48 PM.

535 Posts
    As has been explained a thousand times over. Of course the money from the gates dont pay for the players. Thats the same for most of the clubs in the LOI. We have really good sponsorship that pays the wages. This sponsorship was guaranteed for 4 years. So there is nothing to worry about.
    but were they not saying that Dublin City when they had the sponsorship deal with Carrolls? I am only making a point I dont like to see any fellow clubs out of business! Believe that Kirbs has bein great for ye the last few games saw that he got mom on fri!

Maybe they where but we are not Dublin City so i fail to see any connection (not trying to be smart by the way)

Kirbs, williams and Conan have been great by and large all season. The team is finally starting to gel thank god. Our injury nightmare is coming to an end and the team is reaping the rewards of this.