Thread: Athlone cup game

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    Maybe they where but we are not Dublin City so i fail to see any connection (not trying to be smart by the way)

Kirbs, williams and Conan have been great by and large all season. The team is finally starting to gel thank god. Our injury nightmare is coming to an end and the team is reaping the rewards of this.
    no worries at all lamper.thats good about kirbs what about paisley?

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    We brought half of them.

As for our fans were were yours. Your at home and throwing money at players and wouldnt have taken enough on the gate to pay the officials. It is unsustainable and is Dublin City / Shels / Cork City waiting to happen.

I was totally shocked when I heard the playing budget there. It is 14 times ours per week.
    You dont be worrying your socks about our budget

Sporting Fingal will be still in the league in 10 to 20 years time.

Are you shocked by your own home support? You should be more concerned about your own survival than worrying about Sporting Fingal.
    We still have a higher average attendance than Athlone and we are only in the league 2 years. Where are the Athlone faithful? The last time i was down there was a few years ago with Dublin City in st mels and the home support was far less than what Sporting Fingal average.
    I'll be down there on sat night so come over and make yourself known and have a chat.
    Just for the record, i like Athlone and wish them well.

How good was Rod de Khors? Did you read his book?

98 Posts
    were averaging 500-600 which is far more than you

61 Posts
    Of course you are

98 Posts
    sure look it up .
    ye have a possible one million+ people as potential fans. we have 20-25000 people and we still get more than you.

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    sure look it up .
    ye have a possible one million+ people as potential fans. we have 20-25000 people and we still get more than you.
    Our average attendance is higher (650 to 700). Our catchment area is 200000 to 250000 aprox. (obviously higher than yours) but we are only going a year and a half. Now lets stop the crap please.

no worries at all lamper.thats good about kirbs what about paisley?
    Hard to say as Iv probably only seen him in about 5 games in total. He was injured in pre season and missed the first month of the season, he then came back and got injured again after 2 or 3 matches. He has only been back since the last shels game. In that shels game he looked very rusty but has improved since then. Im sure we will see the real paisley in the final phase of games.

The fact O Neil, Maher, Byrne and Paisley have returned from long term injuries has installed confidence in our side as well as the obvious rise in quality.

30 Posts
    Do you reckon there will be many SF supporters travelling on Sat?

98 Posts
    id say 6 like last time.

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    id say 6 like last time.

Ok mate. Now your just trolling. Take it elsewhere.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Do you reckon there will be many SF supporters travelling on Sat?
    Doubt it. We dont have the biggest away support to be fair. A lot of our crowd is made up of families who are unlikely to go to away games.
    It will be a while before we build up a hardcore group of fans who travel.
    All in good time I hope.

30 Posts
    Now thet we've broken our goalscoring duck on ye I hope we can follow it up with a few more!

If i had the choice id trade our win in the cup for a win tomorrow.
    But hopefully we can have our cake and eat it.

98 Posts
    that group that travelled down on the us tonight are a bunch of di**heads...simple as that. the abuse the ref and lino got was a disgrace.

fair play on the win lads anyways.. good game of ball tonight. we ran ye close

before i start just to let you know i'm a rovers supporter, popped in to your game against athlone in the cup, the majority of your supporters were kids under 12 who are let in free and who have no interest in the matches, the remainder of the supporters are relatives and friends of the players and committee men/ women, dont think i saw anyone with a jersey or scarf, i think i may have been the only one who paid in, the facility is a shambles and i'll give fingal another 2 years max before they fold or become amateur you cant sustain that budget with no supporters and the council or wealthy builders wont continue to fund that operation

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    You dont be worrying your socks about our budget

Sporting Fingal will be still in the league in 10 to 20 years time.

Are you shocked by your own home support? You should be more concerned about your own survival than worrying about Sporting Fingal.
    We still have a higher average attendance than Athlone and we are only in the league 2 years. Where are the Athlone faithful? The last time i was down there was a few years ago with Dublin City in st mels and the home support was far less than what Sporting Fingal average.
    I'll be down there on sat night so come over and make yourself known and have a chat.
    Just for the record, i like Athlone and wish them well.

How good was Rod de Khors? Did you read his book?

who guaranteed the sponsorship?

Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    As has been explained a thousand times over. Of course the money from the gates dont pay for the players. Thats the same for most of the clubs in the LOI. We have really good sponsorship that pays the wages. This sponsorship was guaranteed for 4 years. So there is nothing to worry about.

Quote Originally Posted by jonboy View Post
    who guaranteed the sponsorship?
    Keelings.

before i start just to let you know i'm a rovers supporter, popped in to your game against athlone in the cup, the majority of your supporters were kids under 12 who are let in free and who have no interest in the matches, the remainder of the supporters are relatives and friends of the players and committee men/ women, dont think i saw anyone with a jersey or scarf, i think i may have been the only one who paid in, the facility is a shambles and i'll give fingal another 2 years max before they fold or become amateur you cant sustain that budget with no supporters and the council or wealthy builders wont continue to fund that operation
    Mate. You have no idea what your talking about. That night was one of our worst nights for attendance and you cant base an opinion on one night. We do have a lot of kids, I agree with you there. Its part of the clubs initiative. Its the hope of the club that these young fans will eventually become supporters. We have to start somewhere you know. The remainder where not just families of the kids you mentioned and there was plenty of people with jerseys (me included). Neither the council or a wealthy builder funds us, fact. I love your prediction by the way. We will be gone or go amateur in 2 years. At least it seems we must be doing better now considering when we started we where told we would be gone in a year. Now its 2yrs and we may only go back to amateur. Things are looking up

Take the trolling elsewhere buddy. Your post is nothing we hav nt heard before.
    Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 25/08/2009 at 5:31 PM.

61 Posts
    You really havent got a clue have you

Are you just making it up to get a reaction or what?

keelings wont keep up the money, nor will your builder, just plain economics no money - no club, if you get promoted (unlikely) you might get another year out of it, not slagging off or trying to stir it, its just the way it is mon ami!