Page 6 of 22 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Cyprus (Away) Sat 8th Oct 05

Quote Originally Posted by Shae_B2D
    Well, you can always buy through the Cypriots... will probably be cheaper, too. Can't imagine they'll have too much interest of going.

I am beginning to think I might come to. I can apply for press accreditation, I think - so at least that won't be a problem, and flights are cheap.
    Why dont you guys all meet us in Cyprus for a drinking contest after the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Why dont you guys all meet us in Cyprus for a drinking contest after the game.
    Being in Cyprus might be a bit weird for me, an Israeli Ireland fan in a country which speaks my favorite language! drinking contest to the sound of Greek music, you know what? I love the sound of that idea!
    Do you believe in Miracles?

Well, you can always buy through the Cypriots... will probably be cheaper, too. Can't imagine they'll have too much interest of going.

I am beginning to think I might come to. I can apply for press accreditation, I think - so at least that won't be a problem, and flights are cheap.
    Thank you,
    I will decide in July if I get there or not.

Being in Cyprus might be a bit weird for me, an Israeli Ireland fan in a country which speaks my favorite language! drinking contest to the sound of Greek music, you know what? I love the sound of that idea!
    Ok I'll get the first round in

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Ok I'll get the first round in
    I'm still on a drinking break though, from that last minute. My friends all think I'm out of my mind, I'm known as the eternal-beer-in-hand-girl out of us, but I'm sick as hell and needed two days to recover from the hang over.
    Do you believe in Miracles?

needed two days to recover from the hang over.
    as did I

have got a good deal through A friend who is an agent, €500 approx via Gatwick. 7 nights (tue-tue) in Ayia Napa. Seeing what the stand up boys are doing before confirming though.
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Ye got some very good deals there lads but you have to remember Cyprus is fairly expensive.Their pound is stronger than Stirling.Limassol is good,well it was in 2001 but if you want loads of music,women men(for the women and men if you like) beer sun,good beaches and too many Brits Ayia Nappa is what you are looking for.I was there in 2001 but i am in my mid thirties now so will have to go to Phapos along with all the other wrinklies.

Any word on how easy it is to get from Greece (Athens) to Cyprus? And how expensive? Just scanned the whole thread but cant see any info

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Everyone seems to be staying in Ayia Napa from what they have been saying on this thread. Know people who went out for the game a few years back. Will be speaking to them, but I dont think its gonna be that big a deal where you stay. I will sort it when im back from the Faroe islands. Cheap deals will hopefully be available by then.
    Did the Ireland game in Cyprus in 2001, and also did the Derry game in 2003. Both superb craic from start to finish.

Getting to the game from pretty much anywehere on the island won't be a huge problem. The bars in Ayia Napa will be running buses up (at least the 3 or 4 Irish ones will anyway). I'm sure it'll be the same from Limassol. Paphos is quite a bit further away and don't know if it has any Irish bars, so not sure about that. The Cypriots don't miss a trick when it comes to making a few quid, so I'd expect buses to be running from anywhere there's more than a handful of Paddies.

Taxis to the game from Ayia Napa wouldn't be that expensive either, though your problem would be getting one back afterwards (the stadium's in the middle of nowhere).

We hired a jeep last time, which between 5 of us cost very little. Didn't take it up to the senior game though. I drove us up to the U21 game and managed to combine getting stopped for speeding with being sick at the roadside after a heavy night before. Luckily not at precisely the same time....

The game coincides with the end of the holiday season at Ayia Napa, so it'll be quieter than it is in the thick of Summer. Should still be fairly lively though.....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    managed to combine getting stopped for speeding with being sick at the roadside after a heavy night before.
    You met Nice Guy in Tel Aviv, did he tell you their story about speeding in Cyprus?
    It basically concluded with, "He's got to catch us first!"

199 Posts
    Whats the story with the standup... tour? Is it a 3 day tour or 7 days?

€450 for nine nights inc accommodation just booked!! Monday 1st (14:20 Stansted) back weds 12th ( 4.00 larnaca-0725 heathrow / heathrow 09.50 Dublin 11.05 (plenty of time for swiss game!!) www.cyprusairways.com out through stansted (ryanair fr Dublin) in through heathrow (aerlingus to dub) staying in ayia Napa. sweet. Four in an apartment.

chuffed. hope this helps

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    €450 for nine nights inc accommodation just booked!! Monday 1st (14:20 Stansted) back weds 12th ( 4.00 larnaca-0725 heathrow / heathrow 09.50 Dublin 11.05 (plenty of time for swiss game!!) www.cyprusairways.com out through stansted (ryanair fr Dublin) in through heathrow (aerlingus to dub) staying in ayia Napa. sweet. Four in an apartment.

chuffed. hope this helps
    Good deal

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom

chuffed. hope this helps
    Jaysus Tom, if ye thought we went mental in Tel Aviv for 3 nights, how will we handle a week in Ayia Napa! Ha, just make sure Eddie brings the video cam.....
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

some shop in the square are putting the footage of TA on dvd. can burn them at home for added copies...

nice long break all the same

199 Posts
    I'm all booked, myself and 3 others goin over on friday back on tuesday.
    I'm going over via Amsterdam with Royal Dutch Airlines. €700 for everything (except beer money)

Source something yourself - a lot cheaper

4 of us heading over, leaving Friday back Wednesday morning, €471 flights and accomodation via Glasgow. €659 + €49 Tax = €708 for a 3 day deal with Abbey Travel. They'll be whistling Dixie for our money.

Tá mé Corn an Domhain MANIA (Grammar goes out the window when "MANIA" is in a sentence)

Lads seriously think Global Travel is the best deal.
    6 of us going, €600 each for the week.
    Cant wait!
    Home Mon morn and up to Dub then for the Swiss game on the Wed. Its gonna be some week and a half!!
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

Got flights through ebookers.com for £160, Heathrow to Larnaca out on the 5th back on the 14th. Don't have a ticket for the swiss game so return date doesn't matter, hopefully there will be a few stragglers left over to watch it with out there. Any one else stayin out there for the swiss game?
    Combining football trip with a sun holiday for the missus, keeps everyone happy. Roll on october!

Page 6 of 22 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast