Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Cyprus (Away) Sat 8th Oct 05

Just to let people know booked cyprus today with Twohig Travel. They seem have availbility on 02oct -9th which suits us for the game for ayia napa as well ! wasnt too bad 460 pp for flights transfers and accom and it gets us back in time for the swiss game on the wed.. I think there number is 6772666 if people wanna book while its still there ..

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    Just to let people know booked cyprus today with Twohig Travel. They seem have availbility on 02oct -9th which suits us for the game for ayia napa as well ! wasnt too bad 460 pp for flights transfers and accom and it gets us back in time for the swiss game on the wed.. I think there number is 6772666 if people wanna book while its still there ..
    Good lad...
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Cyprus

We stayed in Larnaca in 2001 and it was sound, so probably back there next year. It's only about half an hour to Nicosia by coach, which were being laid on by pubs in Larnaca.

The U21 game was in Larnaca the day before the big game (which we made)... wondering if it's same this time round.

BTW... loads of Brit squaddies on Cyprus. Apparently, and i dunno if this is true (we were told by couple of English ex-pats in Larnaca bar ) that they were apparently confined to barracks in 2001 for the week...

Quote Originally Posted by TIR EOGHAIN
    BTW... loads of Brit squaddies on Cyprus. Apparently, and i dunno if this is true (we were told by couple of English ex-pats in Larnaca bar ) that they were apparently confined to barracks in 2001 for the week...
    They have to be back in barracks by 1800hrs every day. they are not best loved over there - remind you of anywhere?

anyone thinking of doing a 3 day trip for this one.
    3 of us thinking of taking the wives with us but a long weekend only job, Go Friday , back Monday in plenty of time for Switzerland.

you'd wanna check your dates , if you go to Cyprus at Easter , you won't see any match as ireland are playing in Tel Aviv

the Cyprus game is on in Oct 2005

who's dates are wrong barna bee?
    I'm talking about a long weekend in October. 7th- 10th and then back for the Swiss game in landsdowne on the 12th

oooops , you are correct , for some strange reason i thought you post mentioned going out on Good Friday ...not just plain old Friday

package trips now available again for this trip. 579pp for week headin out teh 2nd oct to the 9th staying in the petrosana apts just outside ayia napa. Stayed in these back in 03 was great spot... found this on teletext with twohigs travel. there number is 6772666 .. sounds alright

Just confirmed that a crowd of us are going out.........a year on from Paris. Hopefully just as special. That package deal looks okay too Zidaneontour.

Cheers mate.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    Just confirmed that a crowd of us are going out.........
    Woohoo, bring on Cyprus, lookin' forward to this wan
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

yeah a few more of the lads tried to book yday for cyprus with twohigs. They are doing trip based on flights from luton to larnaca and accom in ayia napa. u have to get your own flight to luton when it comes out with ryanair which is grand cause if u book early should get it for nearly nowt.. works out at 490 for flights from luton and accom in ayia napa from 2-9oct not bad at all. Just have to get transger to ayia napa from airport but bloke in twohigs said it wont cost much hell try organise for the lads ...

tried alot of travel agents. But nowhere are available for time of the match.... Any ideas lads??
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Flying from Glasgow

Myself and my mates are flying from Glasgow to Paphos and staying in Tsokkos apts in Ayia Napa- lively and clean!! We booked it all ourselves and its costing €360. We will have to pay for transfers when we get there , but having been there before its cheap enough to get around. We booked Tues 4th- Tues 11th Oct. Connecting flights Dublin to Glasgow are only €40 with Aer Lingus and Ryan air flights are not available yet.

sites are:

Flights: www.flyglobespan.com
    apartments: www.tsokkos.com

85 Posts
    I was in Cyprus during the summer - was there the night Greece won Euro 2004, it was absolute mental! Crazy stuff altogether. The women going around wearing nothing but Greek flags. If they are as passionate about their own side as they are about the Greek side it should be a hell of a party.. plus there are Irish bars everywhere!

Well anyone i Know who has been there has raved about it and this ranges from my brother who went on a lads holiday to my parents who went on their sort of a holiday. Weather of 27degrees and a week in the sun and flights for 500 euro, you cant complain. Save your money for the World Cup and go to Cyprus is my view. Go to all the games if you can.

I was at the last game out there.
    None of the locals gave a toss about the football.
    It was great craic though.
    Like most other med resorts.
    Hotel was clean and the staff were on the ball.
    The bars were full of Ireland supporters and British troops from the peacekeeping force. You may wonder why I'm mentioning this!?
    The game was in March so it was off-peak season and we practically had the place to ourselves. If you stick to established resorts you should be grand.

The ground is in the middle of nowhere and we were frozen once the sun went down. Large sections of the ground were empty.

What's the weather like out there at the beginning of October?
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I was at the last game out there.
    None of the locals gave a toss about the football.
    We were all out for the Derry v Nicosia game in 03. The locals certainly do care about their football, as we found out! We also went to the equivalent to the Charity Shield were there nearly a full scale riot.

Stadium is indeed in the middle of nowhere and about an hour up from Ayia Napa.

Some craic though. The Derry City shirts will still be in the var of the Luke Kelly in Ayia Napa
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

67 Posts
    Will it be easy getting buses from Napa to the stadium and back on match night?

Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast