Page 7 of 35 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05

Cheers Lads, Which airlines are you's using? I have tried with atlantic airines from London and although there is availability I'd be spending about a week on the island and dont know if pocket money will last that long. Which days are you's heading out and flying home?

Thats the main problem to try and get in and out in a few days

I reckon that this is going to be a package job for me as I have to get back to Dublin by Thursday night and as far as I can see if I am travelling independently this is not possible. I checked Atlantic Airways a couple of weeks ago and while there was availability on the way out from London (on the Sunday or Monday, can't remember which) there was none on the way back on the Thursday. If flying via Copenhagen it appears that I'd have to spend the Thursday night there so it isn't an option and the Aberdeen flights are sold out. I rang Ray Treacy on Monday and they said that they should have information within a few weeks. 747 have been telling me since November that they will have the prices soon so I'm not holding my breath. So it looks like it's going to be between Stand up for the Boys in Green and Ray Treacy for me.

89 Posts
    Paulie

If you use lastminute.com or opodo.co.uk you can get availability

I am out on the Monday, back on the Thursday and there are still seats left on those days
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Paulie

I am out on the Monday, back on the Thursday and there are still seats left on those days
    opodo has flights tues/thurs for 258 stg , wonder why these were not available before ? Its funny also when you use Dublin as a starting point the fare goes up by a grand

82 Posts
    Also try:
    1) a single ticket from London to Faroes on Sunday or Monday on opodo (you can't book on lastminute from Ireland as it has intelligent software which prohibits you from booking London departing flights, not a problem for the UK based people) then
    2) another single ticket on the Friday from Faroes to Reykjavik booked directly with Atlantic Airways
    3) then a single flight back to London with Iceland Express booked direct from their website
    4) add a return ryanair/aerlingus flight to London

Total price when I booked a fortnight ago was about £360 or about EUR530, so not cheap whatever way you look at it. On the upside, you get a potential weekend in Reykjavik with 23 hours of brightness and its legendary nightlife reputation.

I've no idea how much a charter will be, if and when they get sorted, but I think the price may surprise people.

Another benefit of arriving in advance, is the airport in the Faroes is notoriously fogbound (an appetizing prospect when combined with the short runway ) and an unplanned overnight trip in Bergen is apparently a common occurance.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 13/01/2005 at 7:50 AM.

From experience I can tell you Reykjavik rocks

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Drink over there is about 7 or 8 sterling a pint so be prepared when you go over.
    Heard that before, but a guidebook I have says that beer normally sets you back 40 or 50 Kr (that's about E6.50). Presume that's for 500ml.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Looks like we'll have to see if we find a creative way round 'Duty-Free'......
    The Faroes aren't in the EU, so duty free is an option, but you're only allowed bring in four cans plus one litre of spirits and two litres of wine before you start paying duty again...

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Paulie

Cheers for that. I just had a look at opodo which seems to work out fine. The only thing is that you have to have a UK address you can have the tickets delivered to otherwise the booking cannot go ahead. The only other thing I noticed is that the airline is Maersk yet according to the Maersk website they don't fly to The Faroes anymore. Hopefully it's just a case that they haven't changed the Opodo website since Maersk stopped flying the route.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paulie
    The only other thing I noticed is that the airline is Maersk yet according to the Maersk website they don't fly to The Faroes anymore.
    Don't want to put a damper on things, but I thought Maersk pulled out the Faroes in November or so? Only Atlantic going to the Faroes now, as far as I know? Again, this is from the guidebook I mentioned earlier.

I just rang opodo about the airline question and it seems fine. What they said is that it's probably a "coacher" which means that the airline gets someone else in the fly the route for them. She also said that it must be right as it's up to the airlines to make sure the information on the opodo website is correct.

89 Posts
    Paulie

I already investigated this- Maersk are now codesharing their routes to the Faroes with Atlantic
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Talking

Finally got my flights booked last night, €410 out of Gatwick. Fair play to you Maribor, I don't think I would have thought of going through Opodo without ya!

3,491 Posts
    Finally got that booked anyway...was getting worried when I saw the Aberdeen flight booked out 5 months in advance! So myself, Schumi and Bald Student will see yez out there!

Now to get match tickets...!

Got my accommodation sorted at last. I got a single room in a B&B (when you get to my years you're a lot more reluctant to share a room with your mates!) for €50 a night. A twin room in this particular B&B is €72 a night. The B&B is in Torshavn. The website I got it through is http://www.greengate.fo/ and the contact name is Heidi Davidsen. Her email is heidid@smyril-line.fo

She's very helpful so hopefully she can sort out any of you that have yet to get accommodation. If you try to get her today though she out until Monday.

Just out of curiosity, is anyone else doing the ferry to the faroe's??

I think thr FAI are giving block bookers first shout on these tickets

see the obvious typo here http://www.fai.ie/ticketinfo.asp?hlid=248519

well from experience the majority who travel to the less popular games are either on club block booking lists or just applied to the FAI direct so you still have a good chance. If I'm lucky to get some i'll put your name on the first spare if you are not successful yourself

67 Posts
    Any ideas how much the overnight trip will cost with Stand Up?

67 Posts
    Do i need to apply for a ticket on FAI website or will Stand Up supply them

Page 7 of 35 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast