Thread: Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05

did u enjoy your milk?

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Most surreal moment was when I saw the black leprechaun coming up behind the stadium. Galway Brian was telling me he's a South African living in Ireland who went to the Israel game, got boyakashaad, and missed his flight to Aberdeen for the ferry route. Had to fly to Bergen then got on one hell of a boat journey. He was shafted about getting back but Brian said that Ray Treacy took pity on him after hearing the story and - with spare seats to Dublin - gave him a free trip back.

Bobby Sands and Feely were on their best behaviour (compared with other trips) but Bobcat (Dagenham fan) was trying to have an argument with the road one morning.

Spent Friday night in that awful drunkfest called Reykjavik. It's as bad as ever looking like a scene out of Sean of The Dead. Sylvo's got a great story about a woman there from his previous visit. Quote of the trip has to be from the passport babe at Keflavik to Sylvo when he asked for a stamp: 'You cannot have a stamp because you are Irish'. Once upon a time it was a flat or a job. Now it's a stamp.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote of the trip has to be from the passport babe at Keflavik to Sylvo when he asked for a stamp: 'You cannot have a stamp because you are Irish'. Once upon a time it was a flat or a job. Now it's a stamp.
    hehe heh Good one!

30 Posts
    Totally forgot about the local raving drunk who wanted myself
    and the lads to help him set up the Faroese Republican Army
    and bomb Denmark!

Gutted for all those fans left stranded. But without the fog, the team would have flown out straight after the game and there wouldn't have been gorgeous, half naked footballers and vanilla ice!
    What a spectacular sight! I’ll never forget it as long as I live!

I have a Leprechaun hat with badges on it from the Eclipse Wednesday night. Gives a shout if its yours.....

30 Posts
    Shay Given had my hat most of the night and returned it minus a couple
    of badges, but my mates hat never made it back to him. Had badges
    from thet 2002 World Cup camp, Jackie McNamara game, Ireland and Faroe flag

The hat I have is similar to the one Shay was sporting, but there's no Jackie Mac badge.

Quote Originally Posted by shiv_ire
    Gutted for all those fans left stranded. But without the fog, the team would have flown out straight after the game and there wouldn't have been gorgeous, half naked footballers and vanilla ice!
    What a spectacular sight! I’ll never forget it as long as I live!

I have a Leprechaun hat with badges on it from the Eclipse Wednesday night. Gives a shout if its yours.....

Was gutted i didnt make it there on Wednesday night, an evening with Shay given, would have been the highlight of the trip. However a night spent in Manhattens watching a very drunken ireland fan boss the dance floor came a very close 2nd Such a funny evening.

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Was gutted i didnt make it there on Wednesday night, an evening with Shay given, would have been the highlight of the trip. However a night spent in Manhattens watching a very drunken ireland fan boss the dance floor came a very close 2nd Such a funny evening.
    you came across well on the six one news, the guy who was on before you was pretty good too

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    you came across well on the six one news, the guy who was on before you was pretty good too
    I think its fair to say I came across alot better than I would have on Friday morning at the airport. Was dying. It hit me then how tired i was and how rough i felt. i hope you lot all sorted flights etc. i know the other two managed to get on ours - Although by that point i would have happily swapped with them, as I could have gone back to the hotel and slept. Very pleased to get home on Friday.
    Was a good trip - Meeting lots of locals, like the headcase in Cleopatras who decided to come and join us - i could only hide in the toilets for so long

Quote Originally Posted by mrmacoo
    The postscript to all of this is to the only decent person of the same name on the Faroes;'The P.Keane(The alco's Alchemist!) shebeen' and all the unwilling participants. Strangely, many were of the Gailege heritage!
    Aka 'Tear (as in rip) Bear'. BTW Davros ...I mean Macoo, did you enjoy your HT sarnie as seen live coast to coast. Your amigo in Helsinki nearly dropped his pint.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    did u enjoy your milk?
    Ahh poor me! I had an upset tummy and had to go on the milk (mixed with Kaluha, Vodka and - I think - another spirit) to set me right. Special mention also to Paul A. for not only his twenty minute non stop 'Brian Kerr's' (to which we responded Green and White Army) in the stadium but for buying our table a round before demolishing a similar quantity of booze four or five rounds later. While turning down his offer, it was good to see you were the only one to come away with your drink still in his glass than over your clothes, Cowboy.

it was good to see you were the only one to come away with your drink still in his glass than over your clothes, Cowboy.
    Years of practice, Mr. A seems to rent drink out for 10 mins rather than buy it

229 Posts
    Caught Davros having a munch at HT & Sylvo donning that lovely Green Aussie/cowboy hat type thing he is often found wearing!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Brilliant trip, really nice people. The crowd at the game were fantastic, I was in the middle of the foot.ie contingent and the signing was non-stop I think I can claim credit for the "hands up your puffins" chant too.

My photos of the week are up here. The furthest right photo on the second last row is the penalty going in!
    If you're interested in the rest of the photos of the weekend, click on 'Faroes' up near the top.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    My photos of the week are up here. The furthest right photo on the second last row is the penalty going in!
    Can see Finn's blinding Ski hat and Pat O'B's Che laden Padraig Pearse number in a few of them.

Just to re-iterate what everybody here has said, it was a great trip. From the "you've got your hand up your puffin" to a load of people shouting over at Roy in their best Cork accents during the game "Roy ya langer!". The highlight though has to be the Wednesday night in Eclipse with the players. At one stage I was up on the dance floor jumping around when someone jumped on my back, I just kept on going. A couple of lads came over saying "photo, photo". I says "why, who do I have here?" "Duffer!" That's the closest I'll ever get to having 20 million quid. Mad stuff. Clinton and Stephen Elliott doing Ice Ice Baby was one of the funniest things I have ever seen. The only annoying thing is that I had loads of photos taken of that night and then went and lost the camera. What a gobsh*te. Any photos that can be posted of that night would be greatly appreciated.

Aka 'Tear (as in rip) Bear'. BTW Davros ...I mean Macoo, did you enjoy your HT sarnie as seen live coast to coast. Your amigo in Helsinki nearly dropped his pint.
    Dav, Sandwhiches, Half time? Is there any other Meath charaterisitcs that the lad would like to share with us?
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Dav, Sandwhiches, Half time? Is there any other Meath charaterisitcs that the lad would like to share with us?
    yeah he fell asleep on the bus

Yeah, I have to say this was one mad trip from arriving drunk as a monkey to leaving the place with as close to alcohol poising as it comes it was craic the whole time. Hello to all the guys I met, Ash, Jason and Dennis who I travelled with. The Dublin City boys who I met at Stansted as well as all over the Faroes. Marcus and Galway Brian at the campsite, followed by Ciaran from UCD (who's mates abandoned him for a short time), then Finn arrived (hope you had a good time in Iceland, never made it to Circus but did get to NASA and Rex). Then Pineapple Stu and the boys arrived. I am sure that I was talking to lots more of you in Cafe Natur or Eclipse. The game was crap but the party made up for it afterwards, I swear I wont take off my clothes again but it had to be done, you dont often get to dance half-naked on top of a stage with the Irish team. Then there was Lopez, Sylvo (and other, whos name I forget, sorry) on the flight to Iceland and for a few pints there on the first night, and finally OneRedArmy and Matt for for two nights of debauchery in Iceland. If I have forgotten to mention anybody then my apologies.

Sorry for the bad grammar, but I am still too tired to care.

Slan...

3,491 Posts
    Good morning, Schloooomp!

How's the belt?!

Page 32 of 35 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast