Page 31 of 35 FirstFirst ... 212930313233 ... LastLast

Thread: Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shiv_ire
    The Faroes Islands are not actually part of the EU, so the E111 is useless there. http://www.oasis.gov.ie/moving_count...road/e111.html
    But on a positive note, it does mean we can get Duty Free on the way!
    Actually I think I read on faroeisland.com that all Scandanavian and British citizens had a right to free healthcare, therefore anyone on a British passport should bring the E111.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Actually I think I read on faroeisland.com that all Scandanavian and British citizens had a right to free healthcare, therefore anyone on a British passport should bring the E111.

From the Faroes tourist board:

Nationals from the Nordic region and the United Kingdom are covered by their countries’ national health service schemes while they are in the Faroe Islands.

Nationals from other countries must have travel insurance with sickness/injury coverage

ok

I am just about to leave the house for the airport. sadly no t-shirt it will probably arrive today knowing my luck *bu ggers*

will see some of you in iceland (sylvo and lopez I think) and the rest in the Faroes

l8r

Pete

yeah mine has not arrived either, i dont think we are the only ones not to have got it in time. Ah well, not to worry, this is gonna be brilliant.

What a trip

I dunno if no one has had a chance to write about it yet but man, that was a laff. The whole team were out Wednesday night getting p133ed in the night club & Kerr was chatting away to anyone who cared, we were all shaking his hand & all. The team all got hammerred & ended up on the stage infront of the fans all with their shirts off giving it socks. Dancing with Kilbansey, Kavo & Duffers, not that Duff remembers I'd say. The funniest thing was when "Ice Ice Baby" came on, Clint & Steve Elliot were doing this mad homeboy dance sh1t, man I've never seen the likes of this. Ha. The team are legends. The travel situation was bad allright but for me it worked out sweet. I was 3 hours late for my flight but it was delayed by 5 so I was saved.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

dublin brian returns

just got back last nite at midnight man what a trip it was one of the better games with real fans there marcus ,galway brian, bobby sands, tommy feeny but to mention just a few exelent craic hope to see ye all in cyprus and the gargle wont be as expensive

Certainly was a great trip, just a pity about the cancelled flights on Wednesday.

"Hand up your puffin, you got your hand up your puffin!!"

You only sing when your fishing, sing when your fishing!!!

That was one hell of a week. I had the best time. Myslef,Mr Banton and half the posters on here were meant to be on the 11am fight yesterday from the Faroes to Billund, but it was delayed till 6.30pm last night. They had to put us 2 and about 20 others up in hotel in Billund - Although I dont know why they bothered, as myslef and few other posters on here never made it too bed, preferring to stay in the bar Got back to London at 10am today

Fantastic time, brilliant people. The game was so much fun due to Maribor, Pineapple Stu, Schumi, oneredarmy, collie, Lopez, Sylvo, Pat O banton, Paulie, cowboy(sorry if i forgot anyone). you lot were brilliant - We sang and stood the whole time, its just a pity a few more didnt. But it was freezing. We were all soaked. straight back to Cleopatras, then Manhattens, where i stayed with the hardcore few till 4am. Feeling it now though

Great trip for me

who can forget "go on home Danish soldiers go on home"
    Last edited by Babysis; 11/06/2005 at 5:06 PM.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    deadly babysis! sounds great, glad you and others made it, as many did not weather looked ****ing awful! you must be shattered, glad you had a great time

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    deadly babysis! sounds great, glad you and others made it, as many did not weather looked ****ing awful! you must be shattered, glad you had a great time
    This was a brilliant trip. I was gutted for everyone who couldnt make it out there. I have never been so cold as I was at the game. We were drowned. But we sang the whole time. the nicest thing was the players all made a point of clapping over to us at the end to say thank you. I got chatting to the team doctor in the jimi hendrix cafe (long story) and asked him to pass on my thanks to the lads, was a nice gesture from them. I am exhausted. we were lucky as we got on the 7.45am flight this morning (6.45 London time).wasnt worth going to bed, and although Im home early today, I really wouldnt have minded some sleep. Ive the weekend to recover now

There were quite a few highlights, one of which was taking a boat tour out to one of the smaller islands, and then being taken by speedboat into these caves, where some fella thought it was a good idea to play some sax music badly - think channel 5 late night TV. Very funny though

what a trip. sorry i dont know any of u lads by name. i was there on my own in the faroe's. i'm sure i was talkin to some of ye. i was the fela with the dodgy fog horn (i nearly fainted every time i blew it), carlsberg hat and mini tricolour in my hand at the match. great craic. it was a pity the irish fans were split with half of us in section 20 and 21 and the others in section 14 and 15.

niteclub was amazing, have sum pictures. took 80 in all !!!

I can only reiterate what the rest have all said, what a trip. The craziest place I have ever seen. The best part was getting hammered with the team on wednesday. I couldnt believe when the barstaff got up on the bar counters and started pouring drink onto all below. Although the scariest part was definitely seeing Duffer swinging out of that firemans pole 10 foot above the bar - imagine what mourinho would say if he reported at pre season with a broken leg from a faroese lapdancing injury.
    The match was probably the worst part but we got the result which is the main thing.
    Funny moment in the pub after when I was chatting to Brian Kerr and Paddy Kenny arrived along in a Celtic jersey and Kerr cried "A bit ambitious Paddy".

Cant wait for cyprus.

30 Posts
    Quote of the week from the Campsite in Torshavn
    (sorry, probably only Finn, Marcus and Galway Brian will know what Im on
    about)

Good Morning ... then schlooooomp

===

Savager week so far and to continue my footy fix Im off to watch a
    Faroe Islands Division 2 game today ... local derby between B36 and HB

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bruski
    niteclub was amazing, have sum pictures. took 80 in all !!!
    ah-hah!

89 Posts
    After about 10 hours kip I am finally up to posting a quick review of the trip

Thoroughly enjoyed it all, despite the flight delay fiasco on the way back that Babysis, Pat O and others were involved in(got back for the Derry Shels game so I was a happy camper)

The match may have been poor but the craic in the foot.ie "section" was second to none and became the hub of the chanting throughout the game. Rich vein of new chants arising from the game including

"This pitch is worse than Saipan"
    "Song from the Leprehauns, we want a song from the Leprehauns"
    "Darby O'Gill, Its just like Darby O'Gill"
    "If you've got hypothermia clap your hands"

And many many others

A few great nights out as well in a truly bizarre country but I am sure the whole trip will be reviewed in depth in the coming days
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by globaltravel
    i think you will find that paddy kenny came in the team tracksuit but after a few gallon of ale swapped it with a guy who was after his shirt!
    I recon that was Frasier Robertson (?) off Sky Sports that he swapped with coz Frasier ended up with a team t-shirt on in the niteclub & also ended up losing his suit jacket...ha.

Might add that some of Davey Keoghs mates were there but the man himself got stranded as far as I know. One of the Faroe birds got his number off one of his mates & sent him a text comiserating him & saying she wished he was here & all. What does he write back? "Suck my C0ck"!. Classy eh.....
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Great trip!

Most surreal moment was when I saw the black leprechaun coming up behind the stadium. Galway Brian was telling me he's a South African living in Ireland who went to the Israel game, got boyakashaad, and missed his flight to Aberdeen for the ferry route. Had to fly to Bergen then got on one hell of a boat journey. He was shafted about getting back but Brian said that Ray Treacy took pity on him after hearing the story and - with spare seats to Dublin - gave him a free trip back.

Bobby Sands and Feely were on their best behaviour (compared with other trips) but Bobcat (Dagenham fan) was trying to have an argument with the road one morning.

Spent Friday night in that awful drunkfest called Reykjavik. It's as bad as ever looking like a scene out of Sean of The Dead. Sylvo's got a great story about a woman there from his previous visit. Quote of the trip has to be from the passport babe at Keflavik to Sylvo when he asked for a stamp: 'You cannot have a stamp because you are Irish'. Once upon a time it was a flat or a job. Now it's a stamp.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

yeah, who is davy keogh anyways ? i've seen that flag 'davy keogh says hello' at a load of games. this time another one read "where is davy keogh - on the 41 bus' ! class.

other good songs

"where the **** is davy keogh"
    "no flight home, no flight home, no flight home"
    "you'r american and you know you are"

57 Posts
    I KNEW I should have followed through my plans to make it up there
    Kom Igen, FCK...

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bruski
    other good songs
    Best songs ever!!!

Saipan...this pitch is worse than Saipan

Warmer than the Carlisle...this is warmer than the Carlisle

Sh!t Danish suburb...you're just a sh!t Danish suburb

Are you watching Ray Treacy?!

Warm in Dublin Airport, I'd say it's warm in Dublin Airport

Oh-aah, Graham Kavanagh (Ambrosia tune)

Great craic. Role on 2008 and getting them in the draw again!

Page 31 of 35 FirstFirst ... 212930313233 ... LastLast