Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Faroe Islands (Away) Wed 8th Jun 05

30 Posts
    We're gonna try to do the same bit of island hopping. Might have to stock
    up on the duty free in London if theres no pubs around!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Faroe Islands league football !
    I might have to bring my boots

Have ye booked any hostels or camp sites yet? If so can you send on the
    details please
    Last edited by Ash; 14/03/2005 at 1:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    We're gonna try to do the same bit of island hopping. Might have to stock
    up on the duty free in London if theres no pubs around!

I might have to bring my boots

Have ye booked any hostels or camp sites yet? If so can you send on the
    details please
    I am flying in from Reykjavik on the Monday along with two others apparently, (from foot.ie) and staying until the Friday Morning when I will return to Iceland

I havent got any accommodation booked, dont know whether to book something, or take a tent. (well I will be taking a tent anyway for iceland but that is btw)

If there are others who are like me and travelling solo and want to book some accom let me know

P

3,258 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    Have ye booked any hostels or camp sites yet? If so can you send on the details please
    Booked everything bar the last Saturday. Going to see how the fixtures pan out before booking something! Haven't had any problems getting anything so far though.

Try -

Giljanes@Post.Olivant.fo (Youth hostel and campsite in Midvágur, a mile from the airport)
    TorsInfo@Post.Olivant.fo (Camping site in Tórshavn)

Or the likes of www.FaroeIslands.com or www.Tourist.fo. Outside of Tuesday to Thursday, though, you could possibly get away with booking ahead on the morning though.

Standup tour

We now have accomodation available for the Faroes, phone Collette for more details 01 4081900, places still available on day trip as well from E560 inc taxes.
    Always looking for a cheaper way of getting there

Only because it means more beer money

Im not an alcoholic - i don't go to the meetings!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Try -

Giljanes@Post.Olivant.fo (Youth hostel and campsite in Midvágur, a mile from the airport)
    TorsInfo@Post.Olivant.fo (Camping site in Tórshavn)

Or the likes of www.FaroeIslands.com or www.Tourist.fo. Outside of Tuesday to Thursday, though, you could possibly get away with booking ahead on the morning though.
    Cheers for that, much appreciated

Hi

I dont know if this is much help to anyone, but we had originally booked a triple room in a B&B 10 mins outside of the city centre. We are now actually staying in a house that someone has rented on the island. I have just this minute cancelled the booking with Heidi at Smryll line ferries. if anyone is looking there for accomodation from the 6th-9th june it would be worth speaking to her now at 'heidid@smyril-line.fo'

She is really helpful

30 Posts
    Just had an email from her today and shes gonna help sort
    out an itenery around the islands and accomodation etc.

Fair play

I might see if she can help me out with getting some traditional Faroese Headress
    I got a load of us some green Berets for Paris that went down a treat in October, so I need to find something for this trip

89 Posts
    The DCFC contigent have already acquired inflatable viking helments and axes for the trip- picked them up v cheap round Chinese New Year in Hong Kong.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    The DCFC contigent have already acquired inflatable viking helments and axes for the trip- picked them up v cheap round Chinese New Year in Hong Kong.
    Any word on those sleeveless fur bodywarmer yokes that were popular back in Viking times Maribor?!?!

89 Posts
    Still working on one of those soothsayer style outfits with wolfskin headgear but we have the inflatable hemlmets if not

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Wasn't their former goalie famous for wearing a black bobble hat in matches? I think it would be a laugh if we all wore green bobble hats as a kind of Irish tribute to the man?
    That'll be Jens Martin Knudsen

Kom Igen, FCK...

3,258 Posts
    I think it would be a laugh if we all wore green bobble hats as a kind of Irish tribute to the man?
    That's brilliant! Will be keeping an eye out in the duty free on the way out and the shops around the islands now!

I did not apply for tickets for this game do people think that it will be be impossible to get tickets for .
    In Trap we trust

Not fussed about the fishing, but myself and Pat O agreed that tuesday would be spent out site seeing, doing tours etc.

Then Tuesday evening there is meant to be a faroese night in a pub in Torshavn. Its probably the only opportunity I will have to go to the Faroe Islands, so I plan to make the most of and see as much as possible. Might even do the Helicopter trip

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Not fussed about the fishing, but myself and Pat O agreed that tuesday would be spent out site seeing, doing tours etc.

Then Tuesday evening there is meant to be a faroese night in a pub in Torshavn. Its probably the only opportunity I will have to go to the Faroe Islands, so I plan to make the most of and see as much as possible. Might even do the Helicopter trip
    Yeah am plannin (along with everyone else) to go to the faroese night, but the fishin sounds like good craic. As for the other days, I was planning on travelling round for monday and tuesday, go to torshavn on tues evenin for the pub, match wed, then thursday more sightseein, before back to iceland (for a lot more tramping round)

Pete

I can't sit in a pub all day while there is a new place to discover.
    same here although as it is mid week it seems that most places close early. heidi sent me out loads of info and map of torshavn.there seems to be a few good excursions. does anyone know what time the game is on at.what time is the faroese night on at. any info. was thinkin of going on fishing trip on the tuesday on a schooner at 7. but am arriving that day with standupforboysingreen, so i see what happens. seems to be a good few restaurants.one place even does a mexican buffet all you can eat . also there is a burger king. as saint tom said to me the other week " it's gonna be whale whoppers all the way"

Look it, Im sure most of us can get in contact with each other. So we could just make an informal arrangement to all see each other on the tues at the Faroese night (im sure we will have a time and location nearer the time).

Anyone who fancies site seeing on the Tuesday, well im sure we can all arrange something. Its only a small Island, so i doubt we will find it too hard to find each other.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Look it, Im sure most of us can get in contact with each other. So we could just make an informal arrangement to all see each other on the tues at the Faroese night (im sure we will have a time and location nearer the time).

See you all by the big blue boat in the harbour then so...........

I'm booked on the StandUp trip, arriving on the Tuesday and I'm up for a bit of sightseeing and fishing.
    I just hope to God that it's not like that episode of Father Ted where the only attraction is the stone out in the field!!
    Maybe they've a Holy Stone of Clonrickert somewhere?
    We will be in big trouble if there is a "Tom" character sitting on the wall to greet us, wearing an "I shot JR" T-Shirt and carrying a shot gun

Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast