Page 2 of 48 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Israel (Away) Sat 26th Mar 05

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    I can't believe anyone would call the place 'Israel'. Geddit right: It's called Zionist Occupied Palestine, or ZOP for short. Now where's me spoons, Sylvo?
    HAsn't Israel been around since Biblical times?
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    No. Only since 1948. During the time of Christ, wasn't Palestine split into two: Judea, Samaria? The thing is that few Jews can claim to be descendants of the original Jewish inhabitants of the area. Ashkenazim Jews who make up over 90% of the world's Jewry are originally from the Caucus kingdom of Khazaria after the 8th/9th century conversion of the King of the Khazars.

For some unbiased commentary on Israel/ZOP, see.
    http://www.jerusalem.indymedia.org/n...76_comment.php
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

51 Posts
    FWIW, Palestine also has a team who is currently trying to qualify out of Asia:
    http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/040414/1/zpx.html
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

200 Posts
    I dont reckon it'll be played out there... its a war zone, Tel Aviv is only c. 15 miles from the West Bank. There is no way I'd set foot anywhere in the Middle East or Israel for the forseeable future... I hope they move it somewhere safer, Florence, Palermo and Cyprus have been used to hold "home" Israeli events in the past - of the 3 I'd prefer Florence.

57 Posts
    My main concern is that the game will be moved shortly beforehand. Treacy will probably charge a grand min although if the game is moved the travel agents will have to reimburse you. you are screwed if you book an independent trip. Still at less than half the price prob worth the risk.

I hope the Israel home game does not become a target for protestors.

BTW Iranian tv refer to Israel as "Zionist Regime" when giving european footbal lscores.

200 Posts
    I'd say its got an 80-20 chance of being moved. If you look at a map you can see how close Tel-Aviv is to Ram-allah and other dodgy places. I dont think UEFA will hold the game in Israel, no disrespect to any Israelis if they want to live their fine, but I for one wont be going there as I dont really want to run the gauntlet of travelling on an Israeli bus which are prime targets for the Palestinians.

I dunno if they'll move it Cyprus as they're in our group, my guess is they'll move it to Palermo which would be excellent from my point of view.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    ... If you look at a map you can see how close Tel-Aviv is to Ram-allah and other dodgy places.
    yeah, Israel is actually a pretty small country.

Any westerner going to that part of the world right now should have their head examined. Whatever you do, don't take the bus.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

200 Posts
    Yeah there are nightly rocket attacks by Hamas, Hezbollar or whatever theyre called, and then counteractions by Israeli tanks and helicopters, I wouldnt go there for love or money or both.

PS - that bottom line, I sure you didnt mean to give it connertations but in the light of whats happend to the heads of a few westerners - well it could have been phrased a bit better.

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Yes indeed there are numerous references to Israel in the Old Testament
    We are the Wanderers from Bray

I doubt anybody cares or anybody knows any of the players but this is the Israel squad for there friendly against Croatia on the 18th. From what i read its quite a young squad the oldest player being 30.

Goalkeepers: Nir Davidovich (Maccabi Haifa), Liran Strauber (Maccabi Tel Aviv)

Defenders: Arik Benado, Ori Uzan and Ravid Gazal (all Maccabi Haifa), Shimon Gershon and Yigal Antebi (both Hapoel Tel Aviv), Tal Ben-Haim (Bolton Wanderers), Tomer Ben-Yosef (Maccabi Petah Tikva), Adoram Keisi (Hapoel Petah Tivka)

Midfielders: Idan Tal and Walid Badir (Maccabi Haifa), Avi Nimni and Ophir Azu (Betar Jerusalem), Yossi Rosen (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Abbas Suan (Bnei Sakhnin), Yossi Benayoun (Racing Santander), Manor Hassan (Hapoel Petah Tikva)

Strikers: Yaniv Katan and Michael Zandberg (both Maccabi Haifa), Pini Balili (Kayserispor, Turkey), Omri Afek (Racing Santander), Omer Golan (Maccabi Petah Tikva)

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan_bray
    Yes indeed there are numerous references to Israel in the Old Testament
    Can anyone clear this up? Was it just the Promised Land back then?
    I brought a copy of New Statesman and watched a documentary both on the subject and it does indeed seem to have been set up in 1948 in Palestine and then they invaded the rest of Palestine-so I'm still trying to work out why there are referances to Israel about 3000 years before
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

200 Posts
    We had to do this time and time again during History in school. Not a great fan of the topic and I usually switched off when the lesson started. What I do remember is that the Jewish take on it says its been their land for virtually the whole of recorded history... Moslems says it one of their "holiest" sites and where Mohamed went took a flight upon "a beast with wings" and so had their "dome of the rock" over an old Jewish temple. This is probably fanicful tho as Islam has a great tradition of taking over the places of worship from indigenous religions, eg the main Mosque in Istanbul.

I think the common interpretation of neturals is:-

- Jewish run before, and during early Roman times.
    - Fall of Rome, became part of Eastern ex-Roman Byzantine Empire
    - Moslems take over between C12th -C14th, Crusaders try to take it back but no lasting sucess.
    - Turks dominate Middle East c. C16th effectivly becomes part of the "Ottoman Empire"
    - Ottoman Empire ends post WWII, Brits and French run Middle East via "Mandates" untill post WWII.

Given today's sad events in Ryhiad, its clear the savages in that part of the world now targets us as well as the Brits and Yanks... Don't go to the game unless its switched to somewhere that better resembles civilisation!!

Per adult
    Total: GBP 258.90
    Fare: GBP 191.00
    Tax: GBP 67.90

Outbound: Fri. 25 March 05, 1 stop(s) Trip duration: 6h15

Dep 06:20 Fri
    Heathrow (LHR), London, United Kingdom
    Arr 09:00 Fri
    Zurich (ZRH), Zurich, Switzerland

Non-stop
    Swiss (LX 345)
    Airplane type - 321
    Economy

09:00 Fri - 09:50 Fri
    Change plane
    Stop-over duration: 0h50
    Dep 09:50 Fri
    Arr 14:35 Fri
    Ben Gurion Int'l (TLV), Tel Aviv, Israel

Non-stop
    Swiss (LX 254)
    Airplane type - 343
    Economy

Inbound: Sun. 27 March 05, 1 stop(s) Trip duration: 7h05

Dep 15:00 Sun
    Ben Gurion Int'l (TLV), Tel Aviv, Israel
    Arr 19:15 Sun

Non-stop
    Swiss (LX 255)
    Airplane type - 343
    Economy

19:15 Sun - 20:15 Sun
    Change plane
    Stop-over duration: 1h00

Dep 20:15 Sun
    Arr 21:05 Sun
    Heathrow (LHR), London, United Kingdom

Non-stop
    Swiss (LX 340)
    Airplane type - 321
    Economy

57 Posts
    Looks a good deal.

Best I can get

Don't have flight numbers etc yet.

Dublin - Prague Dep 24/3 12.30

Long wait in Prague (not too much of a hardship with the price of beer there. )

Overnight flight to Tel Aviv - arr 6am Fri 25/3.

27/3 early am departure. Back in Dublin at 11.40am via Prague.

€375 + Tax - tax is another €75.

Easter is proving a huge issue with flights and no deals available yet.

Hats off to the Cork Travel Agent who managed to beat anything I could find on the web or though local agents hands down.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    Looks a good deal.
    Best I can get
    Still think mine's better.
    Works out around GBP 259 where yours is about GBP 300 but you've no confirmed flights.
    Are people really considering going?
    We should be safe enough*

*Hope they don't become my famous last words

We have 3 definites going,with a possible few more.

Gary thanks for posting those flights,I was expecting to pay E650 for flights
    (I presumed the cheapest flight would be direct from London [totaling E650 including Dublin-Gatwick] )

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar

Madonna said this week that the ZOP is less dangerous than New York. If you avoid public transport, I'd say it would be a lot less dangerous.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Still think mine's better.
    Works out around GBP 259 where yours is about GBP 300 but you've no confirmed flights.

Peadar agree yours are better. Mine are ex Dublin though so suits me.

Mine are confirmed flights just didn't take all the details down at lunchtime on the phone. My mates are going for a bit longer but we all fly back together on the sunday morning. They fly ex Cork for a little more. Also able to hold these for a few months just in case the game gets moved. I don't think it will now that Cyprus have played there.

Never been before but sure we'll be safe. Definitely safer than O'Connell street on a friday/saturday night.

No doubt the press reports will start soon explaining how dangerous it is and you are only safe on an escorted trip right alongside the advert for bargain trips for 1k+

Given the Irish government is the most pro Palestinian in the EU it is unlikely
    that any attacks would be planned around the game. Still it is Easter and Passover time.

It is the one country in the world where a British passport is much more welcome than an Irish one but we should be fine - although if they notice the Iranian stamp and visa on mine it might arise suspicion. We might be a bit more fanatical than Osama and his lads but the Irish fans pose no threat to the state of Israel.

Smile

Gary I think you should carry the palestinian flag as you never have much luggage :-)

229 Posts
    whats the craic with getting yer passport stamped. Have heard it can cause you problems when trying to get in to other countries, anyone got any more info on this??
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Page 2 of 48 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast