Page 14 of 21 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: France (Away) Sat 9th Oct 04

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    That bad Peadar??

If Eurostar is that much of a pain in the arse then I'll give it a miss and get another cheapo flight. Hundred quid sterling return for the Eurostar, isn't bad and wasn't planning on doing much eating
    I can't sit still for 5 minutes so I struggle in situations like that anyway.
    You get a load of English suits and French suits trying to out do each other for ignorance. If you're in good company the trip may not be so bad but the last time I got it my carriage was full of French school kids who majored in annoyance!

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    7.09 friday morning
    That means being in Waterloo for 06:00
    No thanks!

After a night on the tiles in London I was thinking more like the lunch-time one

Many of yis getting that one and did you need to book it in advance mate?

Theres 12 of us on that one. 11 of the boys have booked in advance. Got it for 60 british queens. I checked it yesterday and the cheapest standard seats are 89 sterlingos.

My choices at the moments are a 72 pound flight out of HR to CDG (friday-sunday) or join the boys. The clock is ticking and Eurostar are pumping up their prices.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I can't sit still for 5 minutes so I struggle in situations like that anyway.
    Can ye not get up and walk about? Thought there was a bar

Could be a quick change of plan if there is no bar!

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    Theres 12 of us on that one. 11 of the boys have booked in advance. Got it for 60 british queens. I checked it yesterday and the cheapest standard seats are 89 sterlingos.

My choices at the moments are a 72 pound flight out of HR to CDG (friday-sunday) or join the boys. The clock is ticking and Eurostar are pumping up their prices.
    Was looking at that flight too but leaves really early in the morning.

Hmmmmm??

Was looking at that flight too but leaves really early in the morning.

Hmmmmm??

Thursday and Saturday are looking like all nighters
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

200 Posts
    C'est cette dernière que les Tricolores rencontreront à Saint-Denis le samedi 9 octobre prochain (21h00)

So kick off is at 9pm local (Paris time). Is this likely to change at all (I remember the Dutch match being brought forward 30 mins or so) ?

The train is looking like £100, thinking of getting the coach from London now.

Can ye not get up and walk about? Thought there was a bar

Could be a quick change of plan if there is no bar!
    Yes you can walk around but it's a train like.
    Where can you walk to?
    There's a bar but it's the cafe yoke which sells the toxic food and the queues are mental because everyone wants coffee which seems to take forever to fill so bring your own beer.

Made the trip on the yoyo star once before and the bar was open for full trip over. Costly enough for a bottle of belgian plonk though so a trip to your friendly off licence on the way to waterloo might be a good plan.

There's in or around 10 of us travelling on the yoyostar on the friday lunchtime. we booked ours ages ago and got them for about €40 or €50 a head. if my memory serves me correctly. i've been warned also to stock up on the brewski's before jumping onboard.

The craic in Paris

Does anybody know where they are going before and after the game in Paris?

Quote Originally Posted by OMP Player
    Does anybody know where they are going before and after the game in Paris?
    Pigalle Place
    If we've any energy left, that is

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Yes you can walk around but it's a train like.
    Where can you walk to?
    There's a bar but it's the cafe yoke which sells the toxic food and the queues are mental because everyone wants coffee which seems to take forever to fill so bring your own beer.

FBTN?? Bringing a carry out???? Whatever next?!?!?!

You sure you'll be able to manage that Rod, what if they have John Patton searching the bags at Victoria Station!!

TG

57 Posts
    The F.A.I. got 19,000-22,000 tickets depending on who you believe.

It will be like a home game as thousands more tickets ahve gone to Irish fans.

I'm still waiting on FAI to let me know if I've got mine.
    Do you reckon I'm wasting my time waiting, are the FAI ticks gone??
    might just go get them on the French sites before their all gone.

Quote Originally Posted by worldeasy.com
    The FAI have now allocated their 8,000 tickets
    That makes sense alright. Normally you get 10% of the ground capacity.
    Where the local association fail to sell their own tickets they offer them to the visiting fans as was the case in Amsterdam 2000.
    FAIreland should have asked for more tickets though considering they had such high demand.

38 Posts

FAI Tickets

The FAI did ask for more tickets, and received an extra 9,000 bringing their allocation to 17,000. The stand behind one of the goals - the south stand I think, is now completely allocated to Ireland fans.

537 Posts
    some of the letters that the FAI sent out ask for you to respond and tell them if you want the tickets they allocated you or not whereas block bookers seem to have received letters that dont require a response.

does anyone know if you have to confirm with the FAI that you want your tickets or not no matter what the letter says??

what area is everyone staying ??
    I've seen the latin quarter mentioned a few times just wondering whereabouts to book accomadation.

There are 10 of us staying in the Royal Bergere Hotel with an address at 8 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris. Does anyone know where the location of this hotel is and if we're far from the action?????????????

Quote Originally Posted by Duffer
    what area is everyone staying ??
    A group of us are staying in the
    Ibis Paris République
    9, rue Leon Jouhaux
    75010 PARIS

€69 per room per night.