Thread: France (Away) Sat 9th Oct 04

knacker drinking en seine

im definately up for the cheap options

craic might be good dow by the river - eiffel tower could always be an option - nice park!!

Quote Originally Posted by oconghc2
    craic might be good dow by the river - eiffel tower could always be an option - nice park!!
    Hopefully it will not be pi**ing down with rain!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    That's the most sensible post on the whole thread,though the cynical part of me says that the 'local' bars will have increased their prices when they see a large thirsty Green army approaching ...........luckily the supermarche chains won't be able to.....
    I totally agree with you Little Buddha. I hate Irish bars. They are up there with drug dealers as far as I'm concerned. They are only of use when all other options are closed. Otherwise I steer clear of them.

Shouldn't think Chez Michel's will hike up the prices. I hear Paris has cleaned up its act since I was last there in the late eighties, and it's more 'tourist-friendly'. That means no hiking. Anyway I'm up for a few Kronenbergs avec le Champagne Top by the Seine or the ET. I'll be bringing along my Ice bucket (aka the Sam Maguire) to keep the bubbly cool.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    I'll be bringing along my Ice bucket (aka the Sam Maguire) to keep the bubbly cool.
    How weird is that!
    I was in the Warrington in Maida Vale yesterday and the ice bucket on the counter reminded me of auld sam.
    Even pointed it out to my mate. Are they common in London or something?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    How weird is that!
    I was in the Warrington in Maida Vale yesterday and the ice bucket on the counter reminded me of auld sam.
    Even pointed it out to my mate. Are they common in London or something?
    The one I have I 'picked up' in a bar in Basel two weeks ago. I thought it came with my £10 single cognac, because I didn't see any pole-dancers trying to engage in deep conversation with me, which is what I normally expect to come with a £10 brandy. Solid silver with Moet et Chandon on the front. I gave it to Conchita to use with her Cava telling her: 'Presents like that you just can't buy in the shops.'
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    I gave it to Conchita to use with her Cava
    A true Cork woman. None of that French stuff for us.
    Never forgave them for Kinsale.
    Cava goes down a treat at 1/4 the price.

Got an e-mail from my mate in Paris.

Quote Originally Posted by French Bloke
    I'm afraid about Ireland, France is not good and
    Vieira will not play...
    They're rattled lads, I'm telling ya!

Whats the story with the Moulin Rouge , is it still on the go are they all redheads?

If anybody needs a spin down from Charleroi on Saturday 9th about 2.00pm or back up on Sunday 10th morning for the 10.20am home, pm me or post up here. (we're doing the flying visit version obviously )

There's a gang of us with a people carrier hired and we have a spare seat, it'll save you forking out for a car yourself or on train fare.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by londonred
    Whats the story with the Moulin Rouge , is it still on the go are they all redheads?
    Are who all redheads?

Quote Originally Posted by ptegan
    Are who all redheads?
    The dancers , if its still on the go reckon there will be big queues of paddies.

Moulin Rouge

Moulin Rouge is still going. A mate of mine is working in a bar in paris and is trying to score me some tickets. Think they're about €100 or something so only going if i get them free!!! Corcorans in Clichy is a good pub nearby ( even if it is an Oirish pub)!!

has anybody heard how many irish fans the FAI or french FA think are going to be at the match. everybody that you talk to seems to be heading over

Pretty sure that they're not all red heads. I never knew that they were.

Moulin Rouge is the French for "Red Windmill"

Quote Originally Posted by worldeasy.com
    We got the application form about 6+ weeks ago, sent back with our Block Booking reference plus cheque for total cost. Got full allocation confirmed in post on Monday, tickets to be posted out towards end of this month. Call the FAI as you should get confirmation this week.

Still on the Block Booking Scheme so no mention of one of those 10 year rip-off-Ireland tickets.

www.worldeasy.com/hotels
    www.worldeasy.com/flights
    www.irishgunners.com
    Irish gunners my arse. Support an Irish club.

Anyway check out www.multimap.com for anyone who doesnt know exactly where their accommodation is.

Also there's still room at www.timhotel.com

Talking Drinkin at the Eiffel Tower

so are we all meetin at the Eiffel Tower on the Saturday afternoon for a few pre match beers??

Quote Originally Posted by Breener
    so are we all meetin at the Eiffel Tower on the Saturday afternoon for a few pre match beers??
    Wouldn't there be some craic if we all met somewhere near Saint Denis and marched* to the stadium together in a huge Green & White Army!?

*Cue Frog March jokes

Sounds like a plan Breener........I'll be there with my carry out anyway...
    That green area in front of the tower could take a few thousand Irish...
    Imagine a big sing song there before the match...the tourists won't know what's goin on!

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Gary Waddock

Sounds like a plan Breener........I'll be there with my carry out anyway...
    That green area in front of the tower could take a few thousand Irish...
    Imagine a big sing song there before the match...the tourists won't know what's goin on!
    The feckin locals wont know what hit them!!!!! So Who else will be partying with me & Gary Waddock on green area in front of the tower ?????

Lads you can count me and my 11 mates in!! An early start is a must!

Page 17 of 21 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast