Page 13 of 21 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: France (Away) Sat 9th Oct 04

199 Posts
    Anyone got names of hotels I can stay in?
    I dont what to be to far from the action

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Anyone know if the French FA sells tickets to the general public for competitive games?
    The French FA sells it's tickets via the Ticketnet.fr site.

Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne
    Anyone got names of hotels I can stay in?
    I dont what to be to far from the action
    There's a high speed metro (RER) that goes from the centre of town to the stadium which takes about 7 minutes so it's difficult to really be anymore than 30 minutes from the place no matter where you are in Paris. the metro ticket costs 1euro one-way.

Don't get a hotel near the staduim as it's not the most tourist-friendly area.

Quote Originally Posted by roboyle
    Got a mail from the FAI this evening:

'Thank you for your application for tickets for the above fixture.

Due to the exceptionally high demand and the number of tickets made available
    by the French FF, we were not in a position to meet all requests for tickets.

In light of the above, we have allocated tickets on a draw basis whereby
    applicants chosen on a random electronic basis each receive a maximum of two tickets.

We are pleased to inform you that you have been successful in this draw and
    have been allocated 2 tickets for the above fixture.

To confirm acceptance of this allocation please indicate by return email
    placing order number and 'yes' or 'no' only, in the subject title by close of
    business on Wednesday 25th September. Please note individual correspondence will not
    be entered into on this email address.

Credit cards will be debited following confirmation of acceptance.

Tickets will be posted during the week commencing 27th September 2004.

Thanking you for your continued support.

TICKET OFFICE'

I guess I'm sorted then - twice over (ticketnet as well)!!!

I got this mail this morning too :-)
    I'm really surprised .. because I am not a block booker.

Quote Originally Posted by ptegan
    There's a high speed metro (RER) that goes from the centre of town to the stadium which takes about 7 minutes so it's difficult to really be anymore than 30 minutes from the place no matter where you are in Paris. the metro ticket costs 1euro one-way.

Don't get a hotel near the staduim as it's not the most tourist-friendly area.
    Seems to be alot of hostels/hotels in the Republique area/square, pretty reasonable too - I booked a twin ensuite room there for E29 p.p.p.n. - also near the Rex Club for a bit'o'late night boogieing!!!

Does anyone have any idea where in the stadium the Irish are going to be seated? I received that e-mail from the FAI too and I applied for 8 and got 2 but i got tickets through ticketnet too which arrived this morning and I was just wondering if the tickets where goin to be near each other in the ground. the tickets i got from ticketnet are for the north stand.

Any info guys??????

For those (like myself) who have tickets for the french sections - are you planning to wear your jersey & colours etc..? Or is there a risk that the officials at the stade de france would try & stop Irish fans sitting in those sections citing safety reasons..?

Altho - from the sounds of it - if they implemented a policy like the above, they'd be trying to stop several thousand Irish fans!

Just wondering if people are planning to go to the match 'inconspicuously'..

Quote Originally Posted by telemecus
    For those (like myself) who have tickets for the french sections - are you planning to wear your jersey & colours etc..? Or is there a risk that the officials at the stade de france would try & stop Irish fans sitting in those sections citing safety reasons..?

Altho - from the sounds of it - if they implemented a policy like the above, they'd be trying to stop several thousand Irish fans!

Just wondering if people are planning to go to the match 'inconspicuously'..
    Always a difficult one. On the one hand, football is still tarnished by this reputation of not allowing fans to mix - certainly at club level. On the other, major international tournaments have been mixed for some time - certainly since the 1994 World Cup - and has inside the stadiums been without trouble. Also rugby fans from both countries are mixed at the Stade. The Swiss didn't seem to have a problem with Irish fans in the home section. I can't see why France is different, although I'll take a light coat just in case.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    although I'll take a light coat just in case.
    Softie!
    Get your mammy to tie your mittens together with string and run it up the sleeves of your "light coat."
    My mate over there said it's not a problem because our countries are such good friends. Their support has dropped and as you saw in Basel, we were allowed to mix in the bars, trams and stadium without issue.
    Anyone notice the police outside Paddy Reilly's?
    You'll be forgiven for not doing so.
    They were there but kept their presence low key by standing a good bit away.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Softie!
    Get your mammy to tie your mittens together with string and run it up the sleeves of your "light coat."
    Any chance of holding my hand, Peadar? Mammy can't make it to Paris!
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Any chance of holding my hand, Peadar? Mammy can't make it to Paris!
    I think you're misinterpreting the term ''Gay Paree."
    Get your mammy to write your name and address on the tag of your light coat and you'll be grand.

Just heard from a pal who knows someone who works in the FAI .. so second hand info .. that Ireland have been allocated 25,000 tickets for the game in Paris. Anyone else hear this .. or could it be a tale of chinese whispers. To me it sounds plausible ... there were 27,000 applications, and the French don't seem interested .. and obviously the law of economics means that French FA want to fill seats with paying customers.

25,000 Irish fans .. that would be some party ....

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser
    Ireland have been allocated 25,000 tickets for the game in Paris...
    If that is the case then there will be a lot of spare tickets floating around as there were in Basel. People couldn't give tickets away over there.
    That said, this should be our biggest away crowd since the playoff v Holland in Anfield.

25,000 tickets does seem 'normal' for the reasons you gave. It's really difficult to find much interest over here in the match. I guess after having won the WC and Euro2000 it's difficult for the French supporters to almost start over again with a new team?

AFAIK the owners of the stadium also have a big say in where the tickets go. If the FFF wanted Ireland to just get 8,000 seats yet there was no huge demand from the French supporters for tickets, the owners have the power to offer more seats to Ireland.

I saw England play rugby there and there was the minimum number of forigen fans there, about 8,000. but when I saw Wales there was much less demand for tickets and almost 15,000 Welsh supporters.

Either way I think that Ireland is going to take over Paris that weekend

Ive heard that the FAI got 17,000 tickets. And for anyone who is interested, the irish allocation is for the south section of the ground, just received confirmation from the FAI by e-mail there.

To be honest Id say wherever u r in the ground ull find a friendly face in a green jersey!!!!!!!!!

Eurostar

Anyone getting the Eurostar?

I'm staying with a mate in Luton on the Thur night, having night in London then getting Eurostar on Friday. Getting it back on Sunday...another night in London then back into Belfast on Monday.

Staying in Nord du Gard, got CAT 4 tickets for French end off their website.

Was bringing them Missus but just heard due to work commitments she may not be able to make it.............which means I'll be going on the beer hammer and tongs!! Will know this evening.

Was thinking the eurostar could be good craic yet.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    Was thinking the eurostar could be good craic yet.
    Even if you filled the eurostar with comedians it wouldn't be good craic.
    You're getting it on Friday which is one of the worse times.
    Don't forget to bring a packed lunch.
    The food is toxic!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Even if you filled the eurostar with comedians it wouldn't be good craic.
    You're getting it on Friday which is one of the worse times.
    Don't forget to bring a packed lunch.
    The food is toxic!
    That bad Peadar??

If the better half can't make it now then I'm free to make my own way there from London. Have cheapo tickets from Easy Jet - Belfast to Luton for about sixty quid return for two, hotel booked, tickets got but haven't sorted out London to Paris yet.

If Eurostar is that much of a pain in the arse then I'll give it a miss and get another cheapo flight. Hundred quid sterling return for the Eurostar, isn't bad and wasn't planning on doing much eating

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    If Eurostar is that much of a pain in the arse then I'll give it a miss and get another cheapo flight. Hundred quid sterling return for the Eurostar, isn't bad and wasn't planning on doing much eating

Commmmme! commmmme! Join us, on the looooooooooooooooove train

7.09 friday morning
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

After a night on the tiles in London I was thinking more like the lunch-time one

Many of yis getting that one and did you need to book it in advance mate?

Page 13 of 21 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast