Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonights Latest

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Why lie to him? If he likes it he'll be back and realise you were lying. Just lay the cards out as they play, he's either going to love it and want more or he's going to enjoy himself but will still prefer football on TV, but don't dress it up. Let him make a proper call.
    True, (although the part about the club shop was partly tongue-in-cheek). You're right though, but I care so much about Derry City and the LOI that when I take 'outsiders' to games I end up worrying about whether they're enjoying the match when I don't really need to. Anyone I've brought who has come back has come back because they enjoyed the fans- the singing, the craic, the passion and the thrill of live football, regardless of how much time the ball was in the air or how spectacular the goals were.

I suppose it's the same when you recommend anything that you really enjoy and want someone else to enjoy, whether it's a book, a band, or a film etc, you're slightly excited about them feeling similarly.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 02/08/2009 at 10:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    True, (although the part about the club shop was partly tongue-in-cheek). You're right though, but I care so much about Derry City and the LOI that when I take 'outsiders' to games I end up worrying about whether they're enjoying the match when I don't really need to. Anyone I've brought who has come back has come back because they enjoyed the fans- the singing, the craic, the passion and the thrill of live football, regardless of how much time the ball was in the air or how spectacular the goals were.

I suppose it's the same when you recommend anything that you really enjoy and want someone else to enjoy, whether it's a book, a band, or a film etc, you're slightly excited about them feeling similarly.
    You're spot on and particularly the part i've bolded, i used to do it a lot myself. For as many people as i've brought to LoI games, never once has one of them not liked it. Some came back a few times and still go on and off and some still go regular. I used try dress it up too but i found that it was the ordinariness of it, that was most appealling to them.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Y For as many people as i've brought to LoI games, never once has one of them not liked it.
    I have had the same experience.

Although, when I took non-fans, I always saw the game from a different point of view - rather than just wanting a result, I noticed the crapness of the facilities, the crapness of the football, and the pitiful number of fans at the game. I suppose I thought that was what they would notice, but actually they enjoyed it and were keen to come back.

Careful thischarmingman, I think I notice a hair out of place towards the back. You might want to gel it down again. :P

Shamrock Rovers v Derry City is to be streamed online on IraqGoals, for those interested.

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44509∂=sports

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Just what I needed for my bet. Graham Cummins, I could..........shake your hand!
    +1 on that. Graham Cummins, I owe you one!

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Shamrock Rovers v Derry City is to be streamed online on IraqGoals, for those interested.

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44509∂=sports
    Cheers for this Brian

St. Pats v Dundalk now live on

www.dundalkfm.com
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

Sean O'Connor, you beauty!!!!

Rovers 1 up

65 Posts
    super strike, Sean O Connor
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Smashing finish!!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/ - Our new updates system. Bare with it, it's very new.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

65 Posts
    Derry all over the place at the moment

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/ - Our new updates system. Bare with it, it's very new.
    That looks very tidy, Gareth. Fair play to ya!

Dundalk: Cherrie, McGowan, Heary, Burns, Simon Kelly, McKinlay, Turner, Collins, Mulvenna, Rowe, Williams.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Brilliant, great stuff.

Does it auto refresh? It would be mint if you could do that.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Brilliant, great stuff.

Does it auto refresh? It would be mint if you could do that.
    Auto refresh by Friday next.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Extra Time live updates revamp looks brilliant, well done Gareth and anyone else involved.

65 Posts
    Auto refresh by Friday next.
    Probably quicker just to press F5

Blog

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast