FT in Tallaght, 2-1.

433 Posts
    FT in Inchicore, Pat's 1-0 Dundalk
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Result from Tallaght 2-1

36 Posts
    FT: Longford Town 0-2 Atletico Madrid XI

Really good game in Tallaght - Derry deserved the draw, though (and not just because that would have been the best result for us....)

Who was the co- commentator with Will 'stato' Dowling? whoever it was, he said it was 'end to end stuff from both teams'
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Really good game in Tallaght - Derry deserved the draw, though (and not just because that would have been the best result for us....)

Who was the co- commentator with Will 'stato' Dowling? whoever it was, he said it was 'end to end stuff from both teams'
    Thought it was a brilliant game end to end stuff thought we deserved a draw but thats football, players must me knackered for us though after sofia on thurs and then tonite. Must battle on without the help of the idiots at the FAI. Co commentator was ex dundalk keeper Alan O'neill

Quote Originally Posted by hollocaine View Post
    Town played very well tonight, very unlucky not to score on a number of occasions. Atletico had a few very nice footballers, hardly surprising they were all very technically gifted. Not a bad evenings entertainment I must say.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Town played very well tonight, very unlucky not to score on a number of occasions. Atletico had a few very nice footballers, hardly surprising they were all very technically gifted. Not a bad evenings entertainment I must say.
    Fair play, did ye get much of a crowd?

1,104 Posts
    About 600 maybe, hard to tell. Not fantastic but it was arranged on short notice so there wasn't an awful lot of publicity about it. Still made a few quid out of it though i reckon so it was worth having and it was an entertaining game.

Wish had known about the Athletico game and would have taken the kids over instead of having one of the most boring days of my life!

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    Who scored?
    Dowson I think it was.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Wish had known about the Athletico game and would have taken the kids over instead of having one of the most boring days of my life!
    Bring them to Dundalk tomorrow

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hollocaine View Post
    Tee hee. We're better than Atletico Madrid.

291 Posts
    It's been said before by myself and others, but the setup at Tallagh is top notch. There's a real buzz about the place and it's great to see so many families making it an evening out. (Special mention to the barbeque's- the smell of cooked food had many of us over there well before half time). I went with a friend (as mentioned earlier in the thread) who was making his LOI debut and so I saw a lot of it through his eyes (he really enjoyed it).

It was a proper event, but it was an event that felt unique which is what I think is really remarkable- a League of Ireland football match, with it's own distinct atmosphere as an event in it's own right, different to Premier League football, or Scottish League football for instance created in things like the lack of segregation, the banter between ourselves at the Rovers fans sitting yards away, the smell of barbequed food, the guy in the tuxedo doing karaoke at half time, and the kids playing on the pitch at half time. I know individually, none of these events is unique, but it's the overall atmosphere there and the effort made that I think deserves special mention (I hope I've explained what I mean properly). Basically, it all combined to create the image of a vibrant, inclusive, professional league.

On the game itself, watching it with a friend I was proud of the fact both teams produced such an excellent spectacle, but putting my Derry hat on again, I thought we were tremendously unlucky to come away with nothing- we would have deserved all 3 points. I thought the way we passed and moved was better than we've done in ages and the fact that we didn't panic and start lumping the ball forward until the very, very, latter stages of the game. We stayed calm and attacked confidently and impressively but just couldn't produce the killer cross, or finish when we needed them most. I should be even more disappointed but to be honest after the last 4 league games the fact we played well was a bonus given I expected nothing from the game.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I had the girlfriends brother at his first match there last night along with his 10 year old and five year old and they all went away very impressed, and he's a hardcore barstool United fan. I wasn't sure for a lot of the game if the young lads were really enjoying it, neither of them is really into football as a rule, but afterwards they were raving about it, the little fella got the Rovers colours painted on his face before he game, I bought them a scarf each, then there was the regular supply of goodies from the (overpriced) vendors inside, the ice creams at half time and just the general buzz around the place. TCM definitely has it right there's a really unique event atmosphere about the games in Tallaght at the moment and it's infectious, the amount of children there and the merchandise flying out of the shop is testament to that.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

65 Posts
    Sligo 1 up against Bohs in tonights league cup semi - Blinkhorn
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

1-0 to Rovers in league Cup. Blinkhorn scores
    Coleman for Ireland

Horny Horny Horny

291 Posts
    Oh dear. That's not going to do much for the Bohs coffers if Sligo hold on.

Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast