Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Does anybody have the latest news on the injuries of Ryan and Peers?

Quote Originally Posted by whiteagle View Post
    Ritchie Ryan is one of the best talents for sure do u not agree his passing & touch is a joy to watch, not many former or current sligo players can say they have played in the premiership & everyone is entitled to there opinion ..i havent suggested he is the best or in the top 50 which some have suggested , he has been altered with injury which hasnt helped him and playing injured the past 3 months isnt too good... hopefully hell be back playing asap ..
    Ritchie, keep you're mind on the game. The only game he has played very well (as in he was MOTM) in this season was galway away. Too many games have passed him by but I still feel he has a lot to offer

whiteagle, it seems Ryan is a Marmite type player, you either appreciate him or you don't. I am in your camp, I think he is a great talented footballer. Unfortunately there is a train of thought in the Showgrounds that getting rid of the ball (lumping) in the direction of the strikers is a good pass and progressive......it has been there for years.
    "Overwhelmed"

Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    whiteagle, it seems Ryan is a Marmite type player, you either appreciate him or you don't. I am in your camp, I think he is a great talented footballer. Unfortunately there is a train of thought in the Showgrounds that getting rid of the ball (lumping) in the direction of the strikers is a good pass and progressive......it has been there for years.
    i'm in this camp as well. i'm baffled when i hear people criticising richie sometimes. i can only remember 2 times when i've left a game and thought he was 1 of our worse players
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

I think Richie has all the talent to be one of the league's top central midfielders. He just needs to add more forward drive, and a little more fearlessness to his game. If he does that, I honestly think he could be as good as Keith Fahey was.

I wouldnt even put him in the starting 11, injuries or no injuries.
    Hes a decent passer of the ball when its going to his side or backwards.
    But has little to no physical presence and zero incision.
    Doesnt add much tbh.

thats great lads lets all give the lad a kick while he's down. It's no wonder players dont want to come here when fans cheer you off the pitch one week and give you stick when you have a bad game. Would you rather have harpal singh back?

richie ryan is quality, look back at last season when he came in august, top class he was, one of the main reasons we got to europe.

i hate the way people here say that coments we pst stop players from coming to our club, grow up thats bull. our position in the rainy north west does that. plus they say bout players reading the forum !!! in england or if they were premiership players which i presume they would all strive to be when started out in the game, all their performance would be disected and printed on every paper in the land so a few feircly passionate supporters coming on here giving their opinions (whether right or wrong) should not affect them. a few on here want to close their eyes and never say a bad word bout any player. come on live in the real world lads

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    i hate the way people here say that coments we pst stop players from coming to our club, grow up thats bull. our position in the rainy north west does that. plus they say bout players reading the forum !!! in england or if they were premiership players which i presume they would all strive to be when started out in the game, all their performance would be disected and printed on every paper in the land so a few feircly passionate supporters coming on here giving their opinions (whether right or wrong) should not affect them. a few on here want to close their eyes and never say a bad word bout any player. come on live in the real world lads
    Well said. It's a forum for opinions. No doubt you'll be branded a hypocrite if you criticise fans who verbally abuse players constantly as opposed to giving an opinion on here.
    It's always been the case that players don't want to move to Sligo. Eoin Doyle is a rare exception.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Well said. It's a forum for opinions. No doubt you'll be branded a hypocrite if you criticise fans who verbally abuse players constantly as opposed to giving an opinion on here.
    It's always been the case that players don't want to move to Sligo. Eoin Doyle is a rare exception.
    Maybe Dubs but that can be said of them moving to any club outside Dublin, Peers is an exception for us in his 4th year at the club, Cash wanted to move too, Brush has came and stayed. You would be surprised at some of the players who contacted the club recently with a view to possible move from what i heard. Plenty of players have come to Sligo from the UK and have put down roots and stayed, never sell yourself short.

faz
    brush
    ventre
    butler
    almeida
    blinkhorn
    cash
    ryan
    peers
    mckenzie
    kendrick
    doyle
    boco
    morrison
    turner

and many more, but no, no-one wants to come to sligo!?

Smile

i hate to say this but something is not right with gavin peers situation. i spoke to paul cook on friday morning (31st july) and he told me that gavin had come through the last training session unscathed (i.e. he was fit and ready to play but was not starting against galway) and now i see he is out for the bohs game. i think he is a huge loss and have said it all along, not alone is he a great defender but can read a game very well.to me something is not right. i am very dissapointed to hear that he will not be available again. why was i told that he had regained full fitness. i wish the team all the best but its going to be a real up hill battle and i know i said 1 nil to rovers (that was with peers in mind) i wont be negative and still go for a rovers win. all the best to those who are heading for the game.

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    i hate to say this but something is not right with gavin peers situation. i spoke to paul cook on friday morning (31st july) and he told me that gavin had come through the last training session unscathed (i.e. he was fit and ready to play but was not starting against galway) and now i see he is out for the bohs game. i think he is a huge loss and have said it all along, not alone is he a great defender but can read a game very well.to me something is not right. i am very dissapointed to hear that he will not be available again. why was i told that he had regained full fitness. i wish the team all the best but its going to be a real up hill battle and i know i said 1 nil to rovers (that was with peers in mind) i wont be negative and still go for a rovers win. all the best to those who are heading for the game.
    7 players missing again is insane luck, but correct me if i am wrong but Peers is not ruled out for certain? He is a doubt?. I have lost count on how many games we have had 6 7 and even up on 10 or a 11 players out this year.

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    faz
    brush
    ventre
    butler
    almeida
    blinkhorn
    cash
    ryan
    peers
    mckenzie
    kendrick
    doyle
    boco
    morrison
    turner

and many more, but no, no-one wants to come to sligo!?

only 5 of the above are actually irish !!!!!! its easy to get foreign lads to come as they look to kick start their career. your talking sh1t as we have always struggled to get the best players IN the league to come down to us. mckenzie isnt even in the country anymore so why he is in your list is beyond me, clutching at straws maybe. face it we are mid table team at best geographically positioned in the rainy north west of ireland. we will always struggle to bring in top names

i hate to say this but something is not right with gavin peers situation. i spoke to paul cook on friday morning (31st july) and he told me that gavin had come through the last training session unscathed (i.e. he was fit and ready to play but was not starting against galway) and now i see he is out for the bohs game. i think he is a huge loss
    Very disapointing to see that Peers is still out, a huge loss.
    strange situation at this stage.
    Anyways, hopefully its sooner rather than later when Gavin is back

team something like this maybe?

brush

keane camano ventre kendrick

cash ogrady boco morrison

raff, blinks

Ryan was training yesterday

i hate to say this but something is not right with gavin peers situation. i spoke to paul cook on friday morning (31st july) and he told me that gavin had come through the last training session unscathed (i.e. he was fit and ready to play but was not starting against galway) and now i see he is out for the bohs game.
    Did he actually say that he'd be in against Galway? Just because he came through a training session wouldn't make him ready for a match.
    Have to say I agree with you that there's something fishy though.

Whats this about Ryan being 'quality'

Are ye serious? Do ye watch football?

He takes absolutely no responsibility on himself to get a control of the game, grab it by the scruff of the neck and control it. Has no presence, doesnt command games and is one paced in most areas.

I know exactly what has those people that stand up for him doing so, its because he is tidy and in general doesnt lose the ball.
    BUT, no break things down...does Ryan pick up a ball in the middle, feed it through nicely and then follow the play to start up an attack??? NO...thats what good centre midfield playmakers do. We already have O'Grady for the donkey work, so Ryan is supposidly the man who will 'pull the strings' and build attacks.

Has he ever done that? Has anyone ever honestly seen him beat even 1 player and run forward with the ball, or are ye all still amazed at how good a player he is due to his constant 10 yard 'pass the responsibility' passes to either full back, before getting the ball again, with room infront of him and passing the ball to the other full back...

Basically, heres an exapmle at the top level. Xavi, Barcelona, best midfielder in the world because he has a role to build attacks. You watch a game with him in it, everything goes through him at some point of the attack.
    Now, take Michael Carrick, still at the very top level, but the difference is, Carrick is the exact version of Ryan, except at a higher level. Gets the ball, lays it of nice, doesnt do anything great with it, takes now responsibility and in general doesnt make himself look bad, but contributes not near enough in terms of decent quality.

Obviously at our level, players arent expected to do everything. But already i have seen enough of McGrath to know he is as good now and will be a better player than Ryan.
    Why??? Simple, he isnt afraid of responsibility and trying to influence the game. Against Galway he was cute on the ball, made space, passed forward, followed his pass and tried to build things from there.
    I have yet to see Ryan do these things, games pass him by, he gets on it, lays it off 10 yards, rarely does anything out of the ordinary bar this. Its all good and well when you are 2-0 up and cruising, but when you need a goal and are all over the team (see Vllaznia) what good is it?

Good examples of central midfielders for us in recent times that are a level above Ryan are Turner and Anto Murphy (when player in that CM role)

To make matters worse, Ryan has got slower and on top of his ability being average has suffered a dip in form. He doesnt look after himself either*
    *(read into that whatever you want to)

I would be more than happy to see McGrath play against Dundalk, regardless of Ryans injury status. That way we have a chance of creating something going forward..

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    richie ryan is quality, look back at last season when he came in august, top class he was, one of the main reasons we got to europe.
    Ya? Nothing to do with points deductions no?

He was 'that good' in the middle that he ended up playing left back?

Ah right....i see

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast