Losing 1-0, John Russell.
    Coleman for Ireland

By the sounds of things we were controlling the game, how did we manage to throw away at least a point there.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    By the sounds of things we were controlling the game, how did we manage to throw away at least a point there.
    Ye only got on top when Russell was harshly sent off. We defended very well. Can't understand why ye played Boco at right-back

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Ye only got on top when Russell was harshly sent off. We defended very well. Can't understand why ye played Boco at right-back
    Boco plays there for his country, he played a blinder at right back against Pats too.
    Coleman for Ireland

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Boco plays there for his country, he played a blinder at right back against Pats too.
    Oh right, he did look good going forward. Peers was a big loss for ye

What team had we out?
    How did we play? I'd say most people would have thought we could get at least a draw but lets look forward to Bohs now.

Smile

peers has being our biggest loss all season. he has being out for 8 games now and the quicker he gets back the better the chance we have of avoiding relegation. i really thought we could get something from this game. we are in a struggle now , no doubt about it. cook will have to lift the players for monday. we can win it but we will have to be at our best and get a bit of luck

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    peers has being our biggest loss all season. he has being out for 8 games now and the quicker he gets back the better the chance we have of avoiding relegation. i really thought we could get something from this game. we are in a struggle now , no doubt about it. cook will have to lift the players for monday. we can win it but we will have to be at our best and get a bit of luck
    Could Peers be back for Monday ? I'd say the players will be really up for this, the players have to know this is the best shot they have of winning silverware and its the closest we've come since 2006 in the F.A.I Cup.
    Coleman for Ireland

Sligo had a large portion of the ball all evening but had nothing up front with Breen and Guthrie clearing everything with ease.

In a right old battle now, what are your next 3 league games ?

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Sligo had a large portion of the ball all evening but had nothing up front with Breen and Guthrie clearing everything with ease.

In a right old battle now, what are your next 3 league games ?
    Dundalk,Derry and Bray I think.
    Coleman for Ireland

21 Posts
    1029 was the official attendance. Around 300 from Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    What team had we out?
    How did we play? I'd say most people would have thought we could get at least a draw but lets look forward to Bohs now.

Brush
    Boco Keane ventre Kendrick

Morrison McGrath O'Grady Doyle

Blinkhorn Raf

Marshall for morrison after about 65 and Turner for Doyle about 80. Really disappointed after that to be honest. We were poor while still dominating large parts of the game. Thought Kendrick whipped in some decent balls in 2nd half but none of our outfield 10 covered themselves in glory...Brushie was solid as usual and wa mostly a spectator for 2nd half.Stating the obvious but would have been a totally different game if Raf had scored his one on one in the 1st minute but fair play to galway they hung in there and keep picking up these priceless victories.....In a big big battle now thank god for Neale Fenns late goal in drogheda.

Just thought that your fans were great must of been 300 of ye. After russler was sent off in the second half ye controlled the game but or back 4 cleared everything . Sligo were very poor upfront aswell i thought but they were a big 3 points for us

Shocking stuff, pathetic, don't want to talk about them for the coming days. We lost to a team without their best player and who played nearly half the match with 10 men. Cretaro was awful tonight, looked like a player who could not be arsed !! Morisson was very poor nothing came off for him tonight same with O'Grady. Ah you could go through them but the buck has to stop with the manager, why did he leave Boco right back when they were down to 10? We needed something up front, some bit of spark anything, even if he pushed Boco up to the right hand side of midfield. Boco gives us something different. When Galway had 11 men they were running straight through us, it's a brutal result and as somebody else says thank god for the late Bohs goal.

One good thing i will say is we brought an excellent supoort with us, which was good to see. Also young Marshall lad done well i thought when he came on, thought Brush made one great save and felt sorry for the lad as at the end of the match as you could see he was hurting.

Not a lot you can say after watching that tonight. As RM said, nobody really played particulary well. Shocking performance.

Only positive really tonight was the large traveling support. Easily 300. More of the same on Monday night please

What a difference a week makes. I travelled to Galway with a lot of confidence, came home asking "will the real Sligo Rovers please stand up?".

Tonight we got what we deserved, we had no imagination or guile to break down a stubborn Galway defence. No good naming players who didn't perform, they should know themselves. With the chance to go one point behind them, we end up seven behind.
    "Overwhelmed"

Not good enough.

Gutted by that result, expected so much more after Pats.
    Fair play to everyone who went down, couldnt make this one .

thought we were awful, no ideas,no midfield, galway walked straight through the centre of the park a number of times. No passion in it. the league cup is all fine and grand but staying up should be our only concern right now.I can't handle another spell in the first division.

we were never good enough to win the game but didnt deserve to lose it either. lads the standard of officiating is gone unbearable, i for ne wanted to walk out at half time !!! the ref clearly gave a goal after we were fouled in the box, i seen more handballs than at the galway v kerry match. john russells fist yellow was laughable and i dont believe ever deserved red he never put in a dirty challenge all nite. something has to be done because for me every week im coming away dumbfounded by the referee and linesmen not to mention 4th official. all credit to ian fostr and galway theyhad a game plan and worked brill, they were an extremely hard team o break down, how we could do with that !!!! first 20 mins we were good after that we looked like headless chickens. i though doyle was poor gave o brien when he was on far to much room and never closes down. marshall looks a better talent he was lively. we still need to improve. a bad result with monday looming

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast