Thread: Superbowl.

Superbowl.

Did anyone watch it?? I started to, nearly got through the first two quarters. There was still no score, and Carolina hadn't made a single yard in offense.The commentator said that it was now officially the longest period ever in a superbowl to be scoreless. It was pure muck...absolute drivel. Then I get up this morning, and find out that the Patriots shaded it 32-29 in a thriller...just my luck!!

It was a strange game alright. No score for first 27 minutes, then 24 points in three minutes. No score for third quarter, then explodes for the last. Great game if you're into the sport, but I can see how it would look boring.

Patriots won with a 41 yard field goal with 4 seconds remaining after Carolina leveled it with a touchdown with a minute remaining. They would have been way out of range for the field goal but for the kick off from the last touchdown went out of bounds and was brought back.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

and once again Adam Venetari does it with a last second winning kick, to win it for the Patriots for the 2nd time in 3 years.
    fair play Adam
    life is random

246 Posts
    Can't stand American football meself, far far too 'stop-start'. Borin as hell. Like other American sports, such as baseball, which is just as boring as cricket.
    Decent computer games though, Joe Montana and John Madden on the Mega Drive. Aye, those were the days.

At least one Pats won something this year...

ah pats have a lovely league cup, but is it as nice as the fai cup ?????
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Aestethically yes

Aestethically

have you ever heard what george orwell said, why use a big word when a small word will do, in other words, what the hell are you on about ?????
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

it means it looks good

now wouldn't it just have been easier to write looks good ??

b_mcsweeney
    watched the first half and the start of the second before sense dragged me to bed (stupid work). was a good game anyway, all american sports are angled towards having an exciting last few minutes.

as an aside, janet jackson was headlining the half time show with justin timberlake and as part of the climax he ripped off a bit of her dress whereupon she 'popped out'. its caused consternation in the states, official apologies and denials all round.

the best superbowl ever

1 million+ fans turned out in Beantown in 2002 for the last victory, amazing scenes and parties, for such a sports mad city, its alot like cork in many ways
    probably wont be the same this time round though
    life is random

i'm just wondering, i know a lot a people on this board don't like rugby, but is american football not just rugby with padding ???

Originally posted by max power
    but is american football not just rugby with padding ???
    No, it's much worse than that.

Originally posted by max power
    i'm just wondering, i know a lot a people on this board don't like rugby, but is american football not just rugby with padding ???
    No it's rugby with brains. The great thing about American Football is that very rarely do teams win twice in a few years. None of this Man United/Arsenal dominance thing. New England won 2 in 3 years and they're already been talked about as the team of the decade.

I think it's great that two years ago, Patriots won, while Caroliana lost 15 of 16 games and now they are every bit as good.

Also I love the climates too. So many different types of venues. They go from playing in the desert in Arizona, to the freezing snow in Green Bay, to an indoor dome in Indianapolis.

And what sets it apart from other American sports is that it's a one off game. Not a best of seven playoff series. It means that anyone can beat anyone on their day.

I like it anyway...
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

agree with ya there shedite
    wasnt convinced about it b4, but watched all of the pats games bar 1(when they lost ),the last time they won the superbowl, and theres actually alot more to it then the stop start hit bang wallop i thought it was..

plus the emergance of tom brady taking over from the injured drew bledsoe, then bledshoe coming back and supporting brady..
    life is random

Originally posted by shedite

I like it anyway...
    We all know why you like it;

See here why Shedite loves his Americian Football

250 Posts
    Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    We all know why you like it;

See here why Shedite loves his Americian Football
    kawabunga thats superb/those girlsl could be the cheerleaders
    that the lads are looking for in cork at the x.!!!!!!

The padding is often more of a weapon than a defense, makes the collisions that much more ferocious. Running backs get the worst of it, they often have serious shoulder, leg or back problems later in life due to having to propel themselves as hard as they can into a group of 300+ pound Offensive linemen. A 20 stone lineman would be seriously undersized in the modern game.

I find it refreshing to watch a game like American Football since I tend to get seriously angry with the Association version when some fairy of a player throws himself to the ground as if acid had just been poured in his face upon the slightest contact. It really is embarassing to see something like that.

On last nights game, Carolina really blew it when their kicker managed to kick the ball out of bounds on the restart with one minute to go. all he had to do was kick the damn thing as far as he could while keeping it on the field of play yet he couldn't do it. It gave the Pats some crucial extra yards which eventually resulted in the winning field goal.

American Football is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than any form of Rugby it's not even funny.

Seriously.

Saw the game this morning/last night and thought it was bloody brilliant. As entertaining as any event/match I've seen in any sport over the past twelve months bar half a dozen football matches.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.