Page 148 of 188 FirstFirst ... 4898138146147148149150158 ... LastLast
Results 2,941 to 2,960 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

1,552 Posts
    Shock as Dundalk demand to be given Cork's European spot. Still, fair dues to them.
    That's the way it's always been in this league- you have to fight your own corner because nobody else will.

I agree with what they've said, but should the view be taken that they are attempting to influence the licensing process involving another club they could be in a certain amount of trouble.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    My heart bleeds for ye...
    Other clubs have stuck to the rules and barely survived relegation. It's called living within your means.
    What a crowd of idiots FORAS really are. If you lot had spent less time constructing web sites on which to spout your condescending rubbish and more time trying to figure out what Coughlan was doing, maybe he wouldn't have ran rings around you for so long.
    Best of luck with the new consortium. I'm sure FORAS have it well researched.
    Perhaps you should get to know FORAS before you start off with the "idiots" bit. Maybe if you lived down here you would have a better understanding of what happened. While I agree with everything you said about living within means etc,there is no call for abuse.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Hanging up my scarf and not renewing my season ticket.As someone said its bad enough when officals on the pitch make poor decisions that go for the bigger club,you can put those down to "mistakes".However when the administrators of the league favour the bigger clubs too then how is that fair?????????????I wouldnt mind but Galway Utd starting to put together a handy squad,knowing my luck they will do really well this season.I just cant justify though forking out money to support a league where fairness and equality are clearly and blatantly not being shown by those controlling it.
    Keep us informed of how your boycott goes.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    That's the way it's always been in this league- you have to fight your own corner because nobody else will.
    Agree with that obviously. I think that's kind of how things worked pre-FAI takeover too (someone else correct me if I'm wrong). Basically, if one club effed around like that, the other clubs would very quickly bring them back into line, because it was they who were being screwed over. A form of MAD (very appropriate for this league!). Now, no-one with any power really cares, so the league can go off into this kind of mess and there's no-one really keeping clubs in check.

36 Posts
    Hanging up my scarf and not renewing my season ticket.As someone said its bad enough when officals on the pitch make poor decisions that go for the bigger club,you can put those down to "mistakes".However when the administrators of the league favour the bigger clubs too then how is that fair?????????????I wouldnt mind but Galway Utd starting to put together a handy squad,knowing my luck they will do really well this season.I just cant justify though forking out money to support a league where fairness and equality are clearly and blatantly not being shown by those controlling it.
    why would you take it out on your own club......... why dont you just take it out on FAI or Club, by not attending matches (internationally or against the corkies??

86 Posts

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    There was sufficient money in a bank account yesterday morning [controlled by the Solicitor's representing FORAS, Gray and O'Connell] to pay the revenue bill at 11.00am and satisfy all outstanding footballing debts ahead of lunchtime if Coughlan had engaged with the negotiations and played ball. He chose to ignore all that and stick his brass neck out, no one chose to chop.
    Agree with everything you say. I'm sure there are many who feel the same. Is it any wonder why people won't follow League of Ireland soccer.This league just goes lower & lower.

I think that's kind of how things worked pre-FAI takeover too (someone else correct me if I'm wrong). Basically, if one club effed around like that, the other clubs would very quickly bring them back into line, because it was they who were being screwed over.
    it was more a case of don't ask, don't tell

147 Posts
    In fairness, I think Galway of all clubs can't complain about the FAI showing favouritism.
    Just curious as to your reasoned explanation for this thought of yours? The 'promotion' to the Premier Divison back in 2007? United topped the table ahead of Waterford (with Dundalk coming next) in the criteria, I really doubt the FAI heads sat down and worked out a template that would suit United ahead of everyone else. If you know different, kindly enlighten us (and no, I don't want to get back into this again).
    As for eamo1, don't be daft, if I recall correctly you threatened a similar boycott last year. If you don't want to support your local team, you go ahead and join the vast majority moaning from afar, but the League of Ireland family is small enough without this kind of reaction from one of its own
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    I may be missing something, but admidst all the wailing and gnashing of teeth, didn't Celdrog provide the closest to an "answer" as to why the Licensing Committee deferred their decision (a quote from the Licensing Manual that allowed for deferral where a particular issue was sub judice).
    I think a lot of the replies have to do with the level of frustration that fans in general are feeling & I can understand it. I do not condone any of the abuse used on here. The Licensing manual is a very long document & well worth the read if one has the time & yes it does cover the eventualities that have occurred here.But try & tell that to fans of some clubs who feel hard done by at a time like this.

Fair statement from Dundalk and a ballsy move.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Just curious as to your reasoned explanation for this thought of yours? The 'promotion' to the Premier Divison back in 2007? United topped the table ahead of Waterford (with Dundalk coming next) in the criteria, I really doubt the FAI heads sat down and worked out a template that would suit United ahead of everyone else
    You didn't top the table. You finished 12th in the table, and as individual marks for each section were not released to clubs (nor a detailed bbreakdown of how points could be awarded) , the accusations of favouritism can absolutely be levelled at the FAI and Galway

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HammerNThongs View Post
    I would have said about the same. Perhaps a little more.
    I would go along those lines. Perhaps even 3 to 1.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Fair play to Dundalk FC. At least one club has the balls to come out and speak the truth.

I wonder will others follow suit?
    Maybe if all the clubs in the League of Ireland stuck together we mightn't find ourselves in this position.Clubs not willing to support other clubs is one of the reasons we have a micky mouse league run by Muppets.

Never thought I'd say this but . . . well done Dundalk FC.
    As for the concerns of Bray and Cork fans regarding signing players and the transfer deadline, correct me if I'm wrong (and I'm not), but the deadline is in relation to signing players on the books of another club. Out of work players can still be signed after this date, which seems to be a hell of a lot of players. Granted, I would imagine the better players will have been signed by Feb 22, but it doesn't mean club's can't strenghten their squads with non contracted players
    You are right.Out of contract players may be signed provided they were out of contract before the end of the last transfer window & yes there are many good unsigned players out there.Signing players is only one part of the process. You then have to make them into a team.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 16/02/2010 at 3:53 PM. Reason: Dude, learn to use Multi-Quote.

125 Posts
    Just curious as to your reasoned explanation for this thought of yours? The 'promotion' to the Premier Divison back in 2007? United topped the table ahead of Waterford (with Dundalk coming next) in the criteria, I really doubt the FAI heads sat down and worked out a template that would suit United ahead of everyone else. If you know different, kindly enlighten us (and no, I don't want to get back into this again).
    As for eamo1, don't be daft, if I recall correctly you threatened a similar boycott last year. If you don't want to support your local team, you go ahead and join the vast majority moaning from afar, but the League of Ireland family is small enough without this kind of reaction from one of its own
    okay so Galway are placed above a team that finishes the season a good bit above them. have beaten them head to head by wining 3 and drawing 1 and dundalk then forced to play a meaningless play off against waterford in which they won over two legs. Waterford on the other hand where in the Premier for a couple of season and Galway still got the nod. You don't see any favourtism for geographical reasons.
    I actually like Galway and think your supporters are a good bunch of lads and if the shoe was on the other foot we'd accept it too, but it was purely bias from the FAI/IAG process.

I think dundalk's press release is a little premature. I think our PR guy should of waited until an actual decision was made. This could be a the some others have pointed out that we are trying to infleunce the outcome of the licensing.

European football though would be great but we actually will have to play the games in Dublin with reduced attendence (because we will not appeal to a Dublin footballing public) and an away trip to the back arse of nowhere I don't see any benefit to it.

I have heard that we will be skipped for a european place because AFAIK Fozzy hasn't got a pro licence and therefore is inelligable to manager a side in europe. can anyone shed some light?
    Long Live King Kenny

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    fair play to Dundalk for the release. They have a legitimate expectation to a euro place and they are just doing what they need to do to protect that. Its to be admired. I hope it puts pressure on Delaney to put pressure on the Independent Licensing Committee to DO THE RIGHT THING!
    You will only put pressure on the FAI if all the clubs stick together but you & I know that will never happen in the league of Ireland ever.

84 Posts
    To qualify for a European UEFA license both manager and assistant manager must hold current pro licenses. I will verify that later when I have access to my manual.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    okay so Galway are placed above a team that finishes the season a good bit above them. have beaten them head to head by wining 3 and drawing 1 and dundalk then forced to play a meaningless play off against waterford in which they won over two legs. Waterford on the other hand where in the Premier for a couple of season and Galway still got the nod. You don't see any favourtism for geographical reasons.
    I actually like Galway and think your supporters are a good bunch of lads and if the shoe was on the other foot we'd accept it too, but it was purely bias from the FAI/IAG process.

I think dundalk's press release is a little premature. I think our PR guy should of waited until an actual decision was made. This could be a the some others have pointed out that we are trying to infleunce the outcome of the licensing.

European football though would be great but we actually will have to play the games in Dublin with reduced attendence (because we will not appeal to a Dublin footballing public) and an away trip to the back arse of nowhere I don't see any benefit to it.

I have heard that we will be skipped for a european place because AFAIK Fozzy hasn't got a pro licence and therefore is inelligable to manager a side in europe. can anyone shed some light?
    Basically he'll have to get one. Shoddy's in same boat (tho' it's the least of his problems) and seemed confident of getting it. I can only imagine that honesty and loyalty aren't tested ...

86 Posts

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Thats interesting about the pro license because if Collins is in charge in Cork we can't play in Europe because Collins doesn't have a pro license either.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Dundalk FC appear to be the first club to break silence on the Cork City licence scandal.

"It is entirely laudable that the FAI are considerate of creditors, but this is a step too far. It is pretty obvious that Cork City do not hold the required tax clearance certificate at the close-off date, and that the rules and regulations are being applied unevenly. We have no wish for any club to be denied a rightful place in the league, and have empathy for Bray Wanderers and their supporters in the current uncertainty. In relation to the Europa League, we expect to be nominated as the League of Ireland's third representative and we will be making our feelings known in no uncertain terms to the FAI.
    The additional ambiguity about our initial series of fixtures is an inconvenience for the club and it's supporters, although Europa League nomination and the application of fair play are the fundamental issues. We expect the FAI and the Independent Club Licensing Committee to do the right thing when eventually the decisions are finally announced."

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2883/
    How dare Dundalk come out with this crap, If you are reading this Mr FAI man dont give that bunch of rebels Corks European spot, Give it to Pats we have been such good boys
    Here on a technicality.

Will you be keeping blog documenting your boycott?

He doesnt mention a boycott . His frustration at the league is apparent.