Page 106 of 188 FirstFirst ... 65696104105106107108116156 ... LastLast
Results 2,101 to 2,120 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

144 Posts
    Talk on the Intermediate Forum that City are playing Avondale Utd at Ballea Park in Carrigaline tomorrow night.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

That Echo article is good news right?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doomofman View Post
    That Echo article is good news right?
    Its the same article as the Examiner this morning.
    I'm hopeful but not getting my hopes up too high.

The latest (alleged) rumours are that Tom will step aside for a mere €400K.
    Last edited by razor; 25/01/2010 at 3:24 PM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Got €250k for Mooney as well didn't ye?. What happened to that?.
    That all went into the pocket of the Examiner who handed over the Club to Tom as his preferred bidder.

However, we did get transfer fees for Denis Behan and Colin Healy around the time of the High, somewhere around €100,000 for the pair if I remember correctly, so add that to the ****ing rant above. AAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHH!

Has he actually put any money into the club?
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

144 Posts
    He has a chance to walk away now and pocket some few bob for his troubles or see the club fold.
    Tom should dispense with his favourite game, hardball and take the money and run. (Preferrably out of Cork)
    We'll be worth nothing if we fold but i've a feeling he doesn't care all that much.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Onefootednopace View Post
    From the "Evening Echo" website.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/news/index...p=eyeymheycwmh

McCarthy and Quintas were heavily involved with behind-the-scenes restructuring at Cork City after it survived last summer’s winding-up order, issued on behalf of Revenue.
    Is this not a bit worrying? The restructuring after the winding up order seemed reckless at best.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Is this not a bit worrying? The restructuring after the winding up order seemed reckless at best.
    Quintas tried to do an audit of the club, were there to help out but were met with a brick wall. They couldnt finish the audit and gave up after that.

The statement came from Tommy No Bobs, so Lot's wife is recommended.

Quintas were definitely involved after the High Court date, but the rumours around Cork are they met with a serious brick wall as they were trying to pull all the neccessary information together. They apparently broke off relations with the club quite a while ago.

Do you remember that 6 steps to Europe campaign from last year when the club consulted their financial advisors and came up with the masterstroke of coming up with 5,000 people per home game on average [it should be noted that they seemed to think they were starring in Field of Dreams II: Tommy's Nightmare and that by stating they wanted 5,000 to show up,. that they would just magically show up].

Anyway, Quintas were at pains to let people know that they were not the 'financial advisors' referred to in the piece, so even as far back as late Sept/early Oct. when the six steps was revealed they were already stepping away from the farce it seems.

Billy Dennehy signs for Shamrock Rovers, following Pat Sullivan.
    Dan Murray, Danny Murphy and Dan Connor all linked to Rovers too.
    Tallaght-ngers!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    Billy Dennehy signs for Shamrock Rovers, following Pat Sullivan.
    Dan Murray, Danny Murphy and Dan Connor all linked to Rovers too.
    Tallaght-ngers!
    Rovers have moved their official match night from Saturday to Friday and there's talk that one of the main considerations was letting all the Cork lads go home for the weekend!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

144 Posts
    Rovers have moved their official match night from Saturday to Friday and there's talk that one of the main considerations was letting all the Cork lads go home for the weekend!
    None of the aforementioned players are actually from Cork.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    None of the aforementioned players are actually from Cork.
    They do allow people who weren't born on the banks of the Lee to live there though....

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    They do allow people who weren't born on the banks of the Lee to live there though....
    Not if they could help it :-)

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Only for the duration of their stay with the club.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick89 View Post
    Not if they could help it :-)
    Others are harder to get rid of

Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    Ive heard the owner of Adidas Ireland thrown about quite a bit lately.
    Was he a dwarf at the Chelsea FC Christmas party by any chance...?

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Others are harder to get rid of
    Oi! Grrrr!

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    Hopefully it is endgame for TNB.

I can even live with Roddy and his jackeen journeymen for a year, even if it has to be in the 1st division, once we never have to look at the No Bobs clan again.
    Roddy's claw prints look all over this "investment" deal. He'll do the same as he did at Carlisle, Dublin City and Floriana. Run up big debts and then run himself. I've got to get a link to the Floriana forum where Roddy's "apology" and punishment are posted. It popped on the maltafootball forum then disappeared.

The whole saga just makes the league sadder.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Heard were to expect an offer to use our pitch for the year this week, and we have an information meeting called for sunday.
    Looking to relocate home games to St. Colman's Park rather than settle with the MFA for Turner's Cross would mark a lower point for the club than Busgate. If that happens, TNB should be run out of Cork, Meaney with him!

If I were cobh I would be insisting on payment a month in advance

Quote Originally Posted by tippex View Post
    If I were cobh I would be insisting on payment a month in advance
    If I were Cobh I wouldn't let them anywhere near my ground