Page 100 of 188 FirstFirst ... 50909899100101102110150 ... LastLast
Results 1,981 to 2,000 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    I've seen Roddy's son (I think he's called Rod too ) play for Shels, he's ****e. Like really ****e.
    So the apple really doesn't fall far from the tree.

If he's as ****e as you say he is, I hope it's just a 'Bring your child to work' initiative by the FAI.
    Last edited by juan; 19/01/2010 at 1:17 AM.
    Good evening!

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    I've seen Roddy's son (I think he's called Rod too ) play for Shels, he's ****e. Like really ****e.
    Young Rod is right! But is he really so bad? According to Old Rod Glasgow Rangers wanted to sign him but were turned down "because we're a nationalist family". This was on Newstalk with David Norris.

The Maltese journo's (because of the size of the country) know everyone so someimes it gets personal, but the truth always comes out. With Roddy a ew (apparently) feel betrayed as he told complete codswallop a number of times, made lots of promises and when his "retraction" came he did it through a journalist to "leak" it - even though he was told not to by the club.

I think the Irish media have been pretty okay with it, print anyway, but it's a non-story for them. The writing could be on the wall (in their view) so that Roddy won't be there long enough for Floriana to get compo. Apparently on Facebook there's a fan dedication site for the Rodmeister!

Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Great article in todays Independent of Malta (maltaindepenent.com.mt)
    That makes for astonishing reading, not only the content, but the tone.
    It seems so that Cork City haven't come up with the €28,000 required to pay off Floriana so the Maltese side have contacted FIFA, and after "Mister Liam Meaney was very good in his manners".

I'm not sure about the threats and bans mentioned, but it's all ammunition for the FAI. Everyone in Cork knows that genuine offers have been made for the club at this stage, Coughlan's options seem to be sell up or don't get a licence, I hope he finally shows some sense.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    It seems so that Cork City haven't come up with the €28,000 required to pay off Floriana so the Maltese side have contacted FIFA, and after "Mister Liam Meaney was very good in his manners".

I'm not sure about the threats and bans mentioned, but it's all ammunition for the FAI. Everyone in Cork knows that genuine offers have been made for the club at this stage, Coughlan's options seem to be sell up or don't get a licence, I hope he finally shows some sense.
    I think there is general frustration not only with the behaviour of the Cork admin, but also with how they're behaving. The treatment of the webmaster was pretty poor, how they hold he fans in contempt even worse, and what I don't understand is if they are genuinely looking to make an effort they'd have more than a half eejit frontman like Roddy spinning yarns and spoofing. Even Tom must be shuddering at some of his statements, especially since it was from his order that Roddy retract and apologise to Floriana (no doubt hoping they'd knock a couple of zeroes from their bill). It's just beyond comical, and I now believe firmly that they'll get their licence!

42 Posts
    that tv3 interview is hilarious. so many great lines.

Meaney good with manners but not with money?

If he does it'll be a first but fingers and everything else crossed that he does!
    "Its the bad players who are the luxury not the skillfull ones"
    Danny Blanchflower

Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Great article in todays Independent of Malta (maltaindepenent.com.mt)
    weecountyman - I presume that article is a wind up ...
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    100 pages on the thread now, who'd have though it when Duggie posted this on Page 1, way back last July.

Think of the entertainment that would have been lost if they had Duggie!
    July was when the thread started, many Soap Operas that are commissioned for TV don't last that long.
    Yeah, surely RTEFF or TV3 can have a drama on this, it would be quality stuff - Colin Meaney to play Roddy?

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    weecountyman - I presume that article is a wind up ...
    Celdrog, pardon my mispelling, but it's for real. The islands of Malta seem to be covered in media sources, almost every person has their own paper, radio station or tv channel (I'm not far from the truth!) and the Independent were the ones who coined the phrase "Shoddy" Collins when, in the summer, he forgot about a Liberian International who was in on trial, changed the venue and then claimed the player misunderstood. It was all a simple mix up and nothing bad, but handled terribly by the Rod. And anyway, the player wasn't supposed to be good!

ps The Maltese language press are far more vicious about him but it's a pain translating what they right (google fails us yet again!).

I thought they all spoke English in Malta (did the last time I was there).
    Have you a link to the paper, I work with a Maltese lad, he might be better at translation.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Heard roddy was on the radio telling the people of cork its up to them to save their own club or something along the lines of that, b0ll0x if he cared he would have listened to the people of cork and stayed away. Also he signed mick devine and graham cummins so there moving along as normal. You'd really have to question the players mind set signing for them. Well theres only 1 thing on that P***k devines mind anyway €€€€€€€
    You would have to seriously ask questions about what type of character would sign for Cork City as the situation now stands. LoI footballers wouldn't be known for their intelligence but this is as low as it gets.

They have their own language too, so unsurpringly people want to use it.

Its only in this part of the world where the concept of bi-lingualism or multi-lingualism seems strange.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    How did Trevor not laugh out loud?
    That would suggest Trevor actually did some prep for the interview and I doubt it very much.

This thread reminds me of an abbatoir inspection. Every so often one animal just hangs on there a little longer than they really should.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    They have their own language too, so unsurpringly people want to use it.
    Its only in this part of the world where the concept of bi-lingualism or multi-lingualism seems strange.
    English is an official language in Malta, along with Maltese and a lot of newspapers are published in English.
    Last edited by Celdrog; 19/01/2010 at 7:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Just saw this what a langer, georgies back huh, oh christ. Also Very strong rumours about us been approached for use of the grounds that mfa have told coughlan he wont getting turners x this year?? Any vity fans hear anything lads??
    those rumours been around Cork and posted on the ccfc forum before Christmas. TNB is supposed to have put St Colemans Park down as City's home ground for 2010.
    "Its the bad players who are the luxury not the skillfull ones"
    Danny Blanchflower

Have you a link to the paper, I work with a Maltese lad, he might be better at translation.
    Most newspapers and magazines are in Maltese, almost all tv is in Maltese, ditto radio. Maltese is spoken 99% of the time between Maltese, english is official, but joint with english is Italian.

l-orrizont, in nazzjon etc are the main local papers (labour and conservative) and my buddy normally gets them translated for me, unless the link arrives and google then comes into play.

Think your buddy may be on the wind up. The lad I work with sent me the link to the Malta Independent's match report and there is no mention of Roddy, never mind shoddy or pigs and grunts
    Malta Independent

Mind you, he's a Valetta fan

Think your buddy may be on the wind up. The lad I work with sent me the link to the Malta Independent's match report and there is no mention of Roddy, never mind shoddy or pigs and grunts
    Malta Independent

Mind you, he's a Valetta fan
    You're looking over sports, try the comment section, they go to town on everyone there!

21 Posts
    Shane Robinson appearently was seen in the south mall in Cork today. Read into it what you will .

English is an official language in Malta, along with Maltese and a lot of newspapers are published in English.
    Celdrog - Malta is officially bilingual. 350,000 people speak Maltese, despite it not being officially recognised under British rule etc before independence.

It should come as no surprise that 350,000 people who speak an independent language might be interested in receiving their media in that format. Just because they can also speak English doesn't mean they'll all give two fingers to their own language. They're not like the Irish...