Page 44 of 188 FirstFirst ... 3442434445465494144 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    don't get drawn into revealing by the process of elimination ;-)
    damn ye! I was trying to suss who the ex players were!!

3,491 Posts
    Pfft. Former players.

What would have been impressive is if any of the current players had joined in.

812 Posts
    Pfft. Former players.

Piffle. What would have been really impressive would have been getting opposition players involved.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

123 Posts
    reading toms comments after the busgate incident that they were concentrating on getting to europe next season, does anybody thing there is the remotest chance of cork being in europe next season ..unless there going to lourdes or that tax free haven
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

445 Posts
    Pfft. Former players.

Piffle. What would have been really impressive would have been getting opposition players involved.
    Pfft, What would have been really really impressive would have been if Tom Coughlan have of protested against himself
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Question: Was Dan Murray actually on the local radio appealing to the people of cork for donations, as in the man himself, i know the good people of FORAS were.
    Yes.

And no one from FORAS was, it was just the players and the radio staff

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Pfft, What would have been really really impressive would have been if Tom Coughlan have of protested against himself
    Horse testicles. What would really, really, really have been impressive would be if TC not only joined in the protest, but doused himself in petrol and torched himself while tap dancing and singing the Korean National anthem.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Horse testicles. What would really, really, really have been impressive would be if TC not only joined in the protest, but doused himself in petrol and torched himself while tap dancing and singing the Korean National anthem.
    Backwards.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    If he was Joe Higgins, maybe....

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Backwards.
    Goes without saying.

3,491 Posts
    Right.

I had to get up in t'morning at ten o'clock at night, half an hour before I went t'bed, drink a cup of sulphuric acid, work twenty-nine hours a day down mill, and pay mill owner for permission to come to work, and when we got home, our Dad and our mother would kill us and dance about on our graves singing Hallelujah.

Sorry, wrong thread...

144 Posts
    I had to get up in t'morning at ten o'clock at night, half an hour before I went t'bed, drink a cup of sulphuric acid, work twenty-nine hours a day down mill, and pay mill owner for permission to come to work, and when we got home, our Dad and our mother would kill us and dance about on our graves singing Hallelujah.
    Thats nothing try being a Cork City fan
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

123 Posts
    Right.

Sorry, wrong thread...
    you lucky lucky bastrrd what i would not give..........
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

38 Posts
    You must be kidding, bellavistaman. You object to his soliciting funds so he can travel and place his fitness and livelihood on the line by playing a game he probably won't be paid for (on behalf of an employer who's dicked him around wholesale), basically for the benefit of the fans and the community?
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Right.

Sorry, wrong thread...

And you try tell that to the kids of today and they won't believe you!!
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Ok my bad. Heres my theory on this fiasco, right you've a man who "earns"(wheter he gets it or not is a different ball game) over a grand a week, and hes on the radio asing people, in a resession, and people on the dole to give them a 5er 10er or 20 spot, anybody find something suss about that like, i think its sums up modern day footballers myself.
    Dan Murray probably won't end up getting all the wages he's due this year from his employer if the recent history, dwindling attendances and lack of fundraising is anything to go by.

I reckon that the players are hoping that they can get into Europe and it will attract a new investor, they couldn't run the risk of failing to fulfil the fixture and getting a points deduction. You seem to imply he should have paid for the bus himself?

Realistically, with the current owner, there isn't a hope in hell this team will be anything more than a memory next season, can't blame the man for fighting for what little chance he has of holding onto his livelihood.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

76 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    Dan Murray probably won't end up getting all the wages he's due this year from his employer if the recent history, dwindling attendances and lack of fundraising is anything to go by.

I reckon that the players are hoping that they can get into Europe and it will attract a new investor, they couldn't run the risk of failing to fulfil the fixture and getting a points deduction. You seem to imply he should have paid for the bus himself?

Realistically, with the current owner, there isn't a hope in hell this team will be anything more than a memory next season, can't blame the man for fighting for what little chance he has of holding onto his livelihood.
    The problem is that its more than a livelihood, its a passion and its a dream. If it was just a regular job like yours or mine it would be different. If my employer stopped paying me or was screwing me around like that then I'd be out the door and get a new job. If I had to go to England for it, I'd be gone, or if I had to look at a different industry here in Ireland then I would too.

I have to say that I find myself half agreeing with bellavista on this. These guys are living out every boy's childhood dream and getting paid very well for it.

I have huge respect for the players for what they have put up with, but I think at this stage its gone too far. Nobody should have to put up with the humiliation of having to go on radio and plead for the bus fare to work. I think that they have a choice. Leave for England where they can get the wages that they are used to, or get a regular job and keep up their passion and their childhood dream for football by playing for a team like Cobh or Limerick for a couple of bob at the weekend.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davidatrb View Post
    I have huge respect for the players for what they have put up with, but I think at this stage its gone too far. Nobody should have to put up with the humiliation of having to go on radio and plead for the bus fare to work. I think that they have a choice. Leave for England where they can get the wages that they are used to, or get a regular job and keep up their passion and their childhood dream for football by playing for a team like Cobh or Limerick for a couple of bob at the weekend.
    The choice is not just A or B. What they obviously want is C - Play professionally for their preferred club and get paid.

It's just that the TNB led Cork City can't provide that.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    They stayed on the other side of the road rather than standing with the protest itself
    So 3 ex players watched the protest from across the road! thanks for clearing that up!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    So 3 ex players watched the protest from across the road! thanks for clearing that up!
    Yeah, it's a good thing that we were talking to them or we mightn't have been sure they were supporting us. I'm telling you, the Internet and facebook are great but I think this 'talking to people face to face' idea might just catch on.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.