Page 28 of 188 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878128 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by higgins View Post
    If Cork are up to date with all creditors apart from Revenue then fair play to them. They don't deserve any punishment but I'd be worried that they actually did owe the FAI money and what the FAI have done here is wrong.

Of course we'll never know if Cork were up to date with the FAI or not.
    I'd be amazed if they do not owe money to other creditors. Surely the revenue would be the last bill you would leave unpaid, especially given their poor recent history.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Surely the revenue would be the last bill you would leave unpaid, especially given their poor recent history.
    and equally I would imagine the FAI would be one of the first bills unpaid!
    So to owe Revenue 436k and to owe the FAI nothing seems unlikely.

Although maybe because of examinership they were not allowed credit with anyone and in a round about way that could save them this time.

It seems a small amount of money to cause a club to go down. It just doesn't add up for me. There must be money coming in to the club. They have the biggest crowds for a start and have been one of the only clubs to get decent fees for players leaving.

Tom seems to be playing some sortof game. If he really thought the Celtic game would pay the remainder he'd have loaned the money himself and recovered it after the game (assuming he has it).

I also believe that others must have known about the problems and must still know about the problems now. They need to speak up and get this guy out.

I know only too well what one man and 100% ownership can do to a club
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by topia View Post
    why would cork finish last? sure with the squad they have i reckon just a couple of new signings will see them reach europe
    That's just what Cork need to solve their problems- putting more players on the wage bill........!

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Well then what the hell are the FAI playing at. Apparently they are looking over our books every 3 weeks or so (maybe some one could clarify that).
    What next are the FAI gona become Corks official sponsors, maybe get the FAI crest on the jersey.
    They check the books once a month to see how the clubs are shaping up for meeting the 65% rule at the end of the season. If they're way off, they can choose to impose a transfer embargo.

Cork seem to have been paid up on wages until the players took a voluntary deferral of wages on Thursday to help the club's attempts to survive their court appearance.

I'm all for criticising the FAI, and I don't think their financial monitoring has been adequate, but get your facts straight.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I'd be amazed if they do not owe money to other creditors. Surely the revenue would be the last bill you would leave unpaid, especially given their poor recent history.
    There are other creditors besides the revenue, but it's not that bad.
    The advantage of going into examinership last season has been that no-one has been willing to offer us credit, so we're finding it hard to rack up debt, bar with the revenue and the people who work for the club.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

74 Posts
    Still completely missing the point. The clowns don't know what they're celebrating. 'I don't know, who cares'....

Ah leave the wee lads alone. I've been to matches where, having felt the sudden urge to miss a goal completely for reasons not well understood ( should pay more attention, I know), found myself jumping up and down with all the other lunatics. You can always get filled in on the details later.

Quote Originally Posted by sfc red View Post
    Still completely missing the point. The clowns don't know what they're celebrating. 'I don't know, who cares'....
    No, you're completely missing the point.

They knew we hadnt been wound up, they didnt know exactly how.

That's what their celebrating.If you think for a second you wouldn't celebrate hearing you havent been wound up, hours after hearing you would be, even if you didnt know the exact details then you're delusional.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    No, you're completely missing the point.

They knew we hadnt been wound up, they didnt know exactly how.

That's what their celebrating.If you think for a second you wouldn't celebrate hearing you havent been wound up, hours after hearing you would be, even if you didnt know the exact details then you're delusional.
    I don't believe that for a second. I can guarantee you that in a similar situation, I'd ask what I was celebrating before I'd jump around like a goon for 3 or 4 minutes before finally asking "what actually happened?". Although your man isn't as bad as the "I don't know, who cares" mong.

I don't care what you believe. I was there. I know exactly what happened and what the lads were told.

For the last time, THEY WERE CELEBRATING US NOT BEING WOUND UP, as was announced by us, the FORAS reps, who were there. They trust us not to wind them up.

What they didnt know, and didnt care at that moment, was how exactly we werent wound up, something many fans even at the ground that night werent sure of.

1,025 Posts
    I don't believe that for a second. I can guarantee you that in a similar situation, I'd ask what I was celebrating before I'd jump around like a goon for 3 or 4 minutes before finally asking "what actually happened?"
    So, you are in a group of fans waiting for good (or bad) news regarding the winding-up (or not) of your club.......you're outside the club shop, everybody is listening intently to somebody who is giving info on the situation, but you can't quite hear...........then those fans who can hear start celebrating and jumping around, waving club scarves, chanting "We are staying alive"............but you wouldn't have even the slightest clue as to what was going on? You'd be asking people, "What are we celebrating here?"
    Last edited by osarusan; 03/08/2009 at 8:16 PM.

291 Posts
    I don't believe that for a second. I can guarantee you that in a similar situation, I'd ask what I was celebrating before I'd jump around like a goon for 3 or 4 minutes before finally asking "what actually happened?".
    If you happen to glance down at your match programme at Tolka Park just as Anto Flood rifles one in from the edge of the area, do you start looking around the cheering home fans surrounding you asking "What? What happened?"

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    If you happen to glance down at your match programme at Tolka Park just as Anto Flood rifles one in from the edge of the area, do you start looking around the cheering home fans surrounding you asking "What? What happened?"
    A strong manly hand shake, followed by cogging someones maths homework, Tis the Shelbourne way

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    In fairness, he was quite clear. He would wait three or four minutes while others calmed down before receiving confirmation, I'm not sure if it's verbal or written confirmation of the goal he'd look for. Then and only then would he jump around like a goon.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    In fairness, he was quite clear. He would wait three or four minutes while others calmed down before receiving confirmation, I'm not sure if it's verbal or written confirmation of the goal he'd look for. Then and only then would he jump around like a goon.
    Personally, I always wait for the referee's report.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Lads you are all being ridiculous. You can't compare the 2 scenarios and well you know it.

What about those lads in the video, who believe that Cork had been saved outright?
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Lads you are all being ridiculous. You can't compare the 2 scenarios and well you know it.

What about those lads in the video, who believe that Cork had been saved outright?
    SFC Red is the one being ridiculous by suggesting that people were celebrating without any understanding of why.

Micls has made it clear (as the video does) that people knew that Cork would not be wound up that day at least, but people didn't really know any more than that.

433 Posts
    There is a Cork fan living around the corner from us. I was only home from Atletico Madrid game and heard singing outside. Went and had a look and seen a completely p!ssed Corkman in his gear, kicking a football and singing chants(Don't ask what chants because that accent and booze don't go together), followed by "I love City, I love City!" Wasn't bad on the ball even though he was plastered, Cork should sign him up! Funny stuff.
    Last edited by Dunny; 03/08/2009 at 9:45 PM.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    There is a Cork fan living around the corner from us. I was only home from Atletico Madrid game and heard singing outside. Went and had a look and seen a completely p!ssed Corkman in his gear, kicking a football and singing chants(Don't ask what chants because that accent and booze don't go together), followed by "I love City, I love City!" Wasn't bad on the ball even though he was plastered, Cork should sign him up! Funny stuff.
    To think people once said George O'Callaghan could play for Ireland...
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 03/08/2009 at 9:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    You're right, it is ridiculous; there would be less people there to celebrate when Anto Flood scores at Tolka.