Page 86 of 188 FirstFirst ... 3676848586878896136186 ... LastLast
Results 1,701 to 1,720 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doomofman View Post
    Sarcasm right?
    No isn't that why they were promoted in the first place?

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    No isn't that why they were promoted in the first place?
    They were broke like 2 seasons ago...

69 Posts
    They were promoted 3 seasons ago for being the "best run club in Ireland".

21 Posts
    Roddy was on 96 fm earlier today and he was saying that he will get City playing attacking flowing football and 100% guarntees that City fans will get their value for money . Also says he wants to sign 8 players.

445 Posts
    I can already see the final episode of next season in the Cork City Show, It will be George O'Callaghan talking a Peno in the last minute of the last game of the season to win Cork the league, But unfortunatly during their celebrations one of their players will be shot while holding the trophy up infront of the shed because he was having an affair with Tom Caughlans missus
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    I can already see the final episode of next season in the Cork City Show, It will be George O'Callaghan talking a Peno in the last minute of the last game of the season to win Cork the league, But unfortunatly during their celebrations one of their players will be shot while holding the trophy up infront of the shed because he was having an affair with Tom Caughlans missus
    That's completely unrealistic.

George never finishes a season at the same club he started it with.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post

I think it'll be in the Leinster Senior Cup final after Tom and Roddy do an MK Dons and relocate the club to Cabra (having taken Bohs place in the 1st Division)

Still, Roddy hasn't won the Ist Division before, and factually he'll never be able to say he's never been relegated. Now if cats start sleeping with dogs I'm blaming the Mayans!

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    That's completely unrealistic.

George never finishes a season at the same club he started it with.
    Seeing as he's training with Brighton (again) atm, he may only end up at Cork again mid-season to begin with

Floriana's Acting President is on Maltese TV at lunchtime (there) with the temporary coach, some sort of statement expected. Captain, assistant manager, club secretary and club lawyer due also.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Floriana's Acting President is on Maltese TV at lunchtime (there) with the temporary coach, some sort of statement expected. Captain, assistant manager, club secretary and club lawyer due also.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ek8Gex_NYwQ

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I was thinking more like "Only Fools and Football Fans"

My buddy is back over and is going to give me a bell with what goes down, I have a feeling it'll be something like: "We are offering a novena for the supporters of Cork City F.C. and are sacrificing a goat, camel and rabbit to bring the axis of evil that currently governs TCFC to an end."

Yeah, that's a thought, couldn't WMD's be found in the back of TNB's Bentley and Roddy's merc? Maybe it'd be appropriate to make a statement to the UN "They can launch spoof-filled rockets within 15minutes, if they've paid their internet and phone bills, and are a danger to peaceful neighbouring friendly clubs, Cobh, Waterford, Limerick." I'm sure Colin Powell can be convinced to drop by and give a good spiel.

Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Galway down? Pretty disappointing as they seem to be getting things right off the park.
    WTF

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    WTF
    I've been to a couple of games the last 2 seasons in Galway and spoken with club officials. They're trying to at least rectify the mess they landed in by over-reaching. They aren't helped with a god awful local council who think that sport should be wiped from the face of "Ireland's city of culture and art" - as they called it in 2003.

Floriana set out plan for campaign
    Henry Brincat was at a hastily arranged media meeting today acting President Joe Cauchi took on the burden of answering the onslaught of questions related to Roddy Collins and the future of Floriana F.C.. After the briefest of statements, with no mention of the runaway coach, the Greens leader openly faced the media for the first time proper since the Collins debacle began.

"Did you have any idea Collins would jump to Cork?" - "No," Cauchi answered in his typically honest way "he swore he hadn't spoken to them or even had an interest in joining them. He said it was jumping from the frying pan to the fire."

"When did he tell you he was not coming back?" - "On Tuesday he called a number of club people and that evening sent an email saying he was leaving because he could not travel from Dublin and he was seeking alternative employment. But when he first spoke with our members that day he again denied speaking with or wanting to go to Cork. It was only that evening he began saying he now was going for the job."

Regarding Collins' claims of being owed money Treasurer Alex Cassar, a BOV manager, took up the story. "I have given you all the accounts related to Roddy Collins, he was paid all the way from July until December 11th, his last week working. For almost 2 months he chose to travel between here and Ireland, despite our registered committment to our obligations. For all his travel only 2 flights were paid by Roddy Collins, on December 13th Malta-London-Dublin. He owes members of the club in excess of €3,000 that he promised to repay by Chirstmas."

The notarised documents distributed to those present confirmed that Collins had indeed been paid fully and that this salary, 30% higher than any other coach in the league, was further supplemented by his lifestyle choices. Added to this the notarised and dated meeting minutes from Collins' first attempt to flee after the shock against Dingli, and the Irishman's comments on Newstalk 106 in Ireland seem more than just slanderous lies. In an attempt to add balance this paper called Mr. Collins in Ireland but received no comment. Cork City were unavailable for comment. While it is not for the good of anyone this case could well end up with a long term ban for the sport for Roddy Collins and with Cork's impending demotion and financial meltdown, no reward for the Maltese Irish.
    Last edited by A face; 04/01/2010 at 8:56 AM.

From l-Orizzont today (translated by google)

At the Independence Arena Floriana have set their case for the first time with Mr. Roddy Collins. The coach has until this weeks end to apologise for his false allegations in the media or face serious charges by the courts and Football Unions. With evidence in support Joe Cauchi, Alex Cassar and Dione Borg sat with team captain Julien Briffa to face a questions. All centred on the Irish coach with his behaviour. "Why was he irrational?" "Why Cork?" "What about money owed to him?" All answered with legal documents in support and a letter from the MFA to complete the claim of abandoning his post. Collins told the reporter of this paper on only December 12th that he was going to bring over his family for Christmas and New Year to move to a new house as his wife loves Malta. "What for the Cork job?" He laughed into the face and stated on tape, "Cork is a shambles, nobody is paid, the owner is a headcase, up in cloud cuckoo land and they won't even have a club. The only way is for fans to get rid of the (unprinted) in charge and be like Rovers." The reporter asked about the Evening Echo report. "Lies, I don't want to manage Cork, why would I go there when we're doing well." Asked about club problems he had mentioned on the tv show "Replay", "All sorted, sure it was only trying to fix things." Asked if he was happy and his contract support "I'm after being offered 2 more years, and I'll ask my family if they want to be here for 2 more years, the wife loves it here, the kids too, and young Rod will be in England soon and anyway." Finally the question on the supporters mouths, this season, how will it be. "I plan to make us into the best team in Malta in 3 years, no question. We have the money, the support, the plans are right, and if we're not league champions in 2 years then I'll walk away as I've failed. This year we get to Europe, next year challenge for the league and then win it, and I don't ever plan on leaving."

Recently Collins praised the "headcase" and attacked the supporters of Cork City FC, declaring how honoured he is to be in the club. Since July he has spoke of building a kingdom in Floriana, a top club with top facilities. Now he is in the fire away from the frying pan.

3,491 Posts
    Recently Collins praised the "headcase"
    Still talking about himself, I see.

This league is dead in the water with guys like him involved. And i dont care if he is a character, players wont hang about for another season of controversy and Collins is only going to contribute to that, that is a given

Why oh why oh why would ANY club be stupid enough to have dealings with Shoddy Collins...?!

The guy has ledt a steaming pile of sh!te behind him everywhere he's been, and bar what now appears to be more luck than judgement during his time at Bohs, he has delivered nothing in return for anyone.

Seriously - why are the langers letting this eejit anywhere near an Irish club again ? We all know how this is going to end.......

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post

Seriously - why are the langers letting this eejit anywhere near an Irish club again ?
    I think it is just one langer involved, to be fair.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Why oh why oh why would ANY club be stupid enough to have dealings with Shoddy Collins...?!

The guy has ledt a steaming pile of sh!te behind him everywhere he's been, and bar what now appears to be more luck than judgement during his time at Bohs, he has delivered nothing in return for anyone.

Seriously - why are the langers letting this eejit anywhere near an Irish club again ? We all know how this is going to end.......
    The answer is in the question..... langers or more correct langer
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now