Page 63 of 188 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573113163 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Riddickcule View Post
    Cork arn't getting relegated, theres been no news of it.
    They've payed all their due's, payed the players back etc.

Clean slate for them, why would they be relegated?
    Quite an apt user name you got there.
    Read tiktoks post, we have a host of unpaid creditors and club employees.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

I've been jumping in and out of this thread, every now and then so i'm not completely up to speed on everything within, so my apologies if i'm asking questions that may have been asked a few times before.

Is a boycott of game, in order to get rid of TNB, an option? If so, how far away from it are we?
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    What are you on about ? your part of the commuter belt and are very close to Dublin as are we . It takes me between 15 and 20 mins to get to dundalk from Drogheda . I live on the north side of Drogheda and get to monasterboice in about 2 mins As far as the point the original post was making about the spread of clubs in the Leauge being all very close , we will be .Suits me tbh less traveling
    30 minutes to go from Drogheda to Dundalk town centres.

Also, Dundalk is in no-ones "commuter belt". Neither Dublin's or Belfast's.

Having said that, you point about the potential narrow geographical nature of the league is well made.

762 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Is a boycott of game, in order to get rid of TNB, an option? If so, how far away from it are we?
    There was at least one demonstration towards the end of the season where a large number of fans picketed the turnstiles for 15 minutes or so before going in. Cork's attendances fell dramatically towards the end of the season too, I think.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    A lot of people had already been doing it, we were struggling to get 1500 per game towards the end of the season. Even that low number was pushed up greatly by people who would have stayed away if it wasn't for holding season tickets [so they felt that they weren;'t contributing to Coughlan by attending while still supporting the team] and also by those An Post vouchers which many used to get in for 'free'.

An all out boycott is certainly a possibility if the FAI don't take action against Coughlan, if he's still there next season, a lot of people won't come back.

The Club hasn't sent out season ticket renewal forms yet for the run up to Christmas, that can only be because 1. they dont have the money to process them or 2. they think it's a waste of money based on their projected uptake. As it was last year, season ticket sales didn't take off until the licence was granted, for 2010, Coughlan at the helm, I can see the Season ticket numbers be way back.

That of course has a knock on effect for those who'll be negotiating for sponsorship deals etc., in the coming months. If you have a year of bad press behind you and little prospect of suppport for the coming year as evidenced by comparitive;y poor season ticket sales, why would Beamish/Echo/Johnstone'S Paints or anyone else pay the same levels of sponsorship as previously [if they even chose to pay at all].

It's an ongoing mess, whether players have a few quid in their pockets or not.
    Last edited by tiktok; 25/11/2009 at 10:21 AM.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Why exactly are ye boycotting the games again? Has every other avenue not been tried? Surely boycotting the games will only result in the club going into financial meltdown.
    If you've nothing good to say, say it.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    30 minutes to go from Drogheda to Dundalk town centres.

Also, Dundalk is in no-ones "commuter belt". Neither Dublin's or Belfast's.

Having said that, you point about the potential narrow geographical nature of the league is well made.
    Im not gonna drag this any futher off topic after this but you are indeed part of the commuter belt .Thats why buses that come through Drogheda from Dundalk i.e matthews coach are full of people from Dundalk working in Dublin ?

Quote Originally Posted by galwayjames View Post
    Why exactly are ye boycotting the games again? Has every other avenue not been tried? Surely boycotting the games will only result in the club going into financial meltdown.
    Did you bother to read the post at all?

Don't know where you're getting 'again' from, there hasn't been a boycott of Cork City game as such, a lot of people are definitely staying away but you'd have to ask those individuals for their own reasons, I was just answering Hairy Bowsie's question about the sense of people down here towards a boycott. In general I think people want Coughlan out and many won't return while he's in charge. As I said, an all out boycott is a possibility.

As for any boycott driving the club into financial meltdown, in my opinion it's in financial meltdown anyway, 1000 people on the gate either way next March is a drop in the ocean at this stage. There are far bigger obstacles for Tom Coughlan between now and the start of next season.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    There are far bigger obstacles for Tom Coughlan between now and the start of next season.
    Heres hoping he falls at the first.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Heres hoping he falls at the first.
    I have horrible visions along the lines of that new Weetabix ad.
    Last edited by tiktok; 25/11/2009 at 11:55 AM.

762 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    I have horrible visions along the lines of that new Weetabix ad.
    TNB: I'm alright. You go on without me.
    Foras: That was the plan alright, boi.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Sort out the mess then, demand he be left!!

Get foras on board, any supporter involvement is brilliant.

Smile

Now micls and tiktok, after nearly 1300 posts, pages of media coverage, hours of adverse national publicity on radio and TV, court appearances, meetings with the FAI and run ins with bus drivers you finally have your solution.
    It was so simple all along........

123 Posts

well now lads and there was you all thinking it was going to be hard
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

82 Posts

Now that you've sorted that particular issue in one line, have you any similar advice on solving the Middle East situation, world peace generally and the growing gap between rich and poor?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Now that you've sorted that particular issue in one line, have you any similar advice on solving the Middle East situation, world peace generally and the growing gap between rich and poor?
    Irrelevant to the thread, thank you very much.

123 Posts
    Irrelevant to the thread, thank you very much.
    his point in case you missed was sarcasm because your post was so so silly as to warrant it
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    his point in case you missed was sarcasm because your post was so so silly as to warrant it
    And if he wasn't being sarcastic, you'd still have to say fair play for looking for a solution to world peace

Its really up to the FAI. They can give us a few headlines, a sign of decent change and a huge breath of positivity and let City fans get cracking on with building a club ..... OR ....... They can just have headlines, and more headlines, some more, exclusives on the next catastrophe, more headlines and all of it bad news (thats if the club lasts that longer)
    Last edited by A face; 25/11/2009 at 4:57 PM.

I cant wait to find out the prospective uptake on season tickets. I wont be renewing mine and my mates who used pay in for all of last season, even after the ****e, have already vowed not to go either...that is very much the typical outlook of fans. I reckon the bulk of the fans next season will be made up of parents bringing their 10-13 year old sprogs along who have been going for the last few years and dont really understand whats going on behind the scenes and only care about Danny Murphy or Billy Dennehy...and you cant really knock 13 year olds for not getting the situation to be fair.

Quote Originally Posted by HammerNThongs View Post
    I cant wait to find out the prospective uptake on season tickets. I wont be renewing mine and my mates who used pay in for all of last season, even after the ****e, have already vowed not to go either...that is very much the typical outlook of fans. I reckon the bulk of the fans next season will be made up of parents bringing their 10-13 year old sprogs along who have been going for the last few years and dont really understand whats going on behind the scenes and only care about Danny Murphy or Billy Dennehy...and you cant really knock 13 year olds for not getting the situation to be fair.
    I'd give it three home games and they'll all be gone as well