Page 185 of 188 FirstFirst ... 85135175183184185186187 ... LastLast
Results 3,681 to 3,700 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post

I'm not expecting anything.....and I'm not going to be criticising.....but you can't deny that the player pool is there. A budget is one thing, but a conversation I had with Graeme Cummins on Saturday suggests that there are very good players that would be willing.
    Talk is cheap. Actually turning around and playing for very little is another thing. Fair play if that quality of player will though when he could easily get more elsewhere.

We'l see I guess, but any talk of being up there challenging is fairytales imo.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Talk is cheap. Actually turning around and playing for very little is another thing. Fair play if that quality of player will though when he could easily get more elsewhere.

Thats a very defeatist attitude...nothing short of Automatic promotion and European qualification via the FAI cup is acceptable
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

no ambition clearly :P

BOM OUTTTTTT!!!

sack the board
    life is random

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post

I'm not disagreeing with you on the talk is cheap bit, but a lot of players have no alternatives. I'm under no illusions, but I'm actually pretty optimistic. The fact that Davin O'Neill wants to stay is the best news I've had.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shedendinvisibl View Post
    FORAS had weeks, even months to square a deal but they clearly didn't bother their arses half as much as they claim to have. Even dealing with the inaccurate figures given by TNB they knew the club was in dire straits from last season and could have and should have made greater effort to take on the club back then when it was in some shape and sitting pretty with sponsors and some dignity. Instead they were more concerned with pretending to be moral crusaders at the hour in need; it was akin to calling the undertaker ahead of the ambulance at a crash scene. All they were doing was papering over the cracks of their own folly of not sorting it out earlier to appear to be the great white hope, Tom Coughlan patterned wallpaper that they will reuse anytime FORAS Alberts foul up in 2010.
    With respect, I don't think you have a clue what you're talking about.
    FORAS were never in a position to instigate this takeover without Grey & O'Connells help, they wanted us involved.
    Tom stalled and delayed until it was too late, trying every trick in the book to get his pound of flesh
    FORAS BOM did everything they possibly could to make this happen but you can only buy something if the current owner wants to sell it.

The quote below is from a post by a FORAS BOM memebr on the goings on on Monday

At 3.30pm this afternoon the solicitor representing Tom Coughlan informed us via a conference call and I paraphrase

"Tom will drop the claim for the three additions if ye give him €140k for the shares"...He wanted €140k for a company that was insolvent and 5 minutes from liquidation!!!!

When he was told no chance this was the reply and I paraphrase

"If Tom does not get a payoff he will let this go under today, it is no loss to him if that happens"
    Last edited by razor; 24/02/2010 at 10:45 AM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    With respect, I don't think you have a clue what you're talking about.
    FORAS were never in a position to instigate this takeover without Grey & O'Connells help, they wanted us involved.
    Tom stalled and delayed until it was too late, trying every trick in the book to get his pound of flesh
    FORAS BOM did everything they possibly could to make this happen but you can only buy something if the current owner wants to sell it.
    The quote below is from a post by a FORAS BOM memebr on the goings on on Monday

Razor - don't feed the animals ...have you NEVER seen the signs in Fota

777 Posts
    I'm not disagreeing with you on the talk is cheap bit, but a lot of players have no alternatives. I'm under no illusions, but I'm actually pretty optimistic. The fact that Davin O'Neill wants to stay is the best news I've had.
    Its not the initial team that will define how this and the next few seasons will go - that will clearly be defined on the level of support it gets - If the so called great Cork sporting public get out and support Cork City Foras Co-op then this will be a sucessful venture with great possibilities into the future.

Or after a few months apathy will reign again and this team will never be better than an average semi-pro / amateur set-up. I think its counter productive discussing who will sign / who wont sign etc - we should be focusing on giving whatever support we can muster over the next year, 5 years and into the future.

The BoM is not going to let us down - lets give them every support we can.
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 24/02/2010 at 10:50 AM.

Much as it pains me to say it after his previous at the club but Georgies empasioned speach on redfm last night filled me with optimism...to have a player of his calibre and playing experience would be a huge bonus.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redgav View Post
    Razor - don't feed the animals ...have you NEVER seen the signs in Fota
    I know Gav but things are quiet in work and i'm sick of reporting posts
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Its not the initial team that will define how this and the next few seasons will go - that will clearly be defined on the level of support it gets - If the so called great Cork sporting public get out and support Cork City Foras Co-op then this will be a sucessful venture with great possibilities into the future.

Or after a few months apathy will reign again and this team will never be better than an average semi-pro / amateur set-up. I think its counter productive dicussing who will sign / who wont sign etc - we should be focusing on giving whatever support we can muster over the next year, 5 years and into the future.

The BoM is not going to let us down - lets give them every support we can.

Forget about the GCSP,its a myth .When are city fans gonna realise this.IF MOC had gotten the Barca thing ,then you'd see the GCSP ,but they will have NOTHING to do with how much a success we make the club.This is all down to our hardcore support,our volunteers and our Cork City FC Community .Initially gates will be **** ,but I'd wager that crowds will be decent enough if we are anywhere near the top half of the table

3,491 Posts
    Forget about the GCSP,its a myth
    Thought you were talking about the Great Cost Salary Protocol for a sec.

Only you pineapple, only you....

777 Posts
    Forget about the GCSP,its a myth .When are city fans gonna realise this.IF MOC had gotten the Barca thing ,then you'd see the GCSP ,but they will have NOTHING to do with how much a success we make the club.This is all down to our hardcore support,our volunteers and our Cork City FC Community .Initially gates will be **** ,but I'd wager that crowds will be decent enough if we are anywhere near the top half of the table
    Well ok GCSP was probably pushing it a bit far alright - but we should be trying to harness as much support as possible for this team regardless, and forget about who's playing for us in the interim.

Much as it pains me to say it after his previous at the club but Georgies empasioned speach on redfm last night filled me with optimism...to have a player of his calibre and playing experience would be a huge bonus.
    Even if we do get a team that is capable of promotion they'll (most likely) be playing for a manager they never played under before and with team mates they've never played with before. Big learning curve, and add in the possibility of some bigger names moving on in the summer transfer window. Plus the level of competition in the first.

Promotion is doable, but probably very unlikely.

522 Posts
    Lads, the golden rule is "attack the post, not the poster". Any more of this crap and I'm binning in the thread.

Thought you were talking about the Great Cost Salary Protocol for a sec.
    Nope, it actually stands for Grating Society of Procrastinating Students

Ccfc forum hacked today.

3,491 Posts
    Nope, it actually stands for Grating Society of Procrastinating Students
    Must be the dyslexics of DCU so.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Lads, the golden rule is "attack the post, not the poster". Any more of this crap and I'm binning in the thread.

Was that aimed at my don't feed the animals comment ?? C'mon Adam,the guy is clearly trolling/Wumming

Quote Originally Posted by joema View Post
    Ccfc forum hacked today.
    Back up now ..it was the server hosts in Dublin that got hit ...quite a few sites would have been affected I'd say .That Ghost guy has a lot of previous